We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Wunderbar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hostel Wunderbar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Wunderbar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2014

At first, the hostel owners were quite welcoming and helpful with directions. They even offered to take us to the supermarket on their next visit. However, service is very poor...to put it bluntly. I tried asking for a breakfast (which actually isn't included in the bed price, as per the ad on HostelWorld). But the lady practically told me to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank AndyMarty84
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Ive stayed in hostel cheaper than that with way more service. The owners are rude and totally careless, details : 1- when we arrive we were the only one and there was only 2beds that were clean(top bunk), when I ask to have a bottom bunk because I wsa staying few nights, she reply that she didnt have time to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank t3quil4
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review

Hello, I'm very sorry you feel your experience with us was so bad. It is important to us all our guests feel cared for, but my daughter was very sick when you were here and I was thinking about taking her to the doctor. These are the reasons for your details: 1. The Kuna house - we had just had...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Hostel Wunderbar for 2 weeks to undertake some diving and relaxation at the start of our Central American adventure. The Hostel is situated in the sleepy fishing village of Puerto Lindo. Not touristy at all and a back to basics kind of place. The hostel itself is very nice with good facilities. We had a private room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samdek
Paris, France
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Located in a small fishing village, this hostel is a little oasis. The rooms are fab and very well decorated. A small wooden terrace with hammocks. A very very nice and friendly reception. The team and the style of this hostel really worth stopping there for the night (or several, it's better !). Frédérique

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frédérique T
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This Hostel was a lovely place to stay. The rooms are large and air conditioned, and it is surrounded by jungle and quietness. Theres a beautiful mangrove swamp behind the hostel and the owners have a good balance of leaving you in peace and taking care of your needs. I see some reviews here about there being a large pile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin N
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014

"I absolutely loved our stay here! The owners are great and really friendly with lots of advice on things to do in the area and helped us arrange diving and kayaking. We had a private room with air con and TV which was very useful as it rained for a couple of days! A really relaxing few days."

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jbenn1157
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hostel is really the worse place I have ever stayed, there is broken down junk everywhere! the rooms in the main building are very tacky and cheaply furnished. The owner Sylvia was very rude, and always seemed to be angry. There is no internet, and although there is a kitchen, there is no where locally to buy any food...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kirby H
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you did not enjoy our hostel. We offer lots of advice about the area on our web page and do advise the tiendas in Puerto Lindo are very small and that we do not offer internet (but that it is available in a cafe less than 500 metres awa). The Harley Davidson motor bikes are going...

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here 2 days too many. Watch out there is absolutely NO internet and no hot water. The beds are very uncomfortable for a price of 45$ per day for 2 people. Stay away from the pillows. The owners do not even take care of the place; they offer the services of a backpacker in exchange for his board, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karterkreations
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we did not have any idea it was so bad for you. I (the owner and manager) was the one who brought your coffee up to your room for you and was onsite for all of your stay. Our volunteer was visiting and we did not realise you...

Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This property has a good kitchen area and a really fantastic dorm with decent beds and quality mosquito netting. The hang-out area outside of the dorm probably would have been really great but it, and the whole property, really, was pretty much monopolized by the family volunteering as managers for the hostel. Nice enough people but the guests should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SocklessJ
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your comments. I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay here! We have taken your comments about the communal area away and ensure this area can be enjoyed for everyone.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A lovely spot in an area of Panama that people should spend much much more time in! Guido and Slyvia where brilliant hosts We stayed here for 10 days while trying to sort out a motor/pedal bike lovely laid back area of the world and if your thinking of going to Colombia GET the boat! The San Blas Islands are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DKilner

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Grande
5.7 mi away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macondo Hostel Isla Grande
Macondo Hostel Isla Grande
#1 of 3 in Isla Grande
36 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sister Moon Hotel
Sister Moon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Grande
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Casa Congo
La Casa Congo
#2 of 10 in Portobelo
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panama Reef Hotel
Panama Reef Hotel
#2 of 2 in Puerto Lindo
16 reviews
8.9 mi away
Octopus Garden Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our family run hotel is a nature lover's paradise. Situated within the Portobelo national park and less than 500 metres from the sea, it is the perfect location to explore the coral reefs, mangroves and jungles that are part of this amazing protected reserve. Our cabanas are clean and comfortable and are the perfect base for you to explore the surrounding areas. Catch a water taxi to Isla Grande directly from Puerto Lindo which is less than 5 minutes walk away. The historical towns of Nombre del Dios and Portobelo are both about 20 minutes away. You can also explore our local beautiful nature walks, horse ride, dive, kayak, surf or snorkel. Considered experts in organising crossings to and from Colombia and the San Blas Islands, we can assist in making your bookings with the most reputable captains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Wunderbar

Address: Puerto Lindo | Costa Arriba, Isla Grande, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Isla Grande
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Wunderbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Wunderbar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the private rooms upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles CeliaLode, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Dive shop at a walking distance in Puerto Lindo is a life saver with Wifi connexion, good coffee and information on the nearby islands.”
 of 5 bubbles Natie_12, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The second floor rooms are clean, quiet and have hammocks and nice outdoor tables.”
 of 5 bubbles vikkio308, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get a room on the second floor for full affect of feeling like you are in the trees...”
 of 5 bubbles CoraPueblo_Colorado, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We really liked the upstairs room with the terrace and the hammocks. There are 4 rooms upstairs. There is also a self-catering house that we initially wanted to book but was full. Could also be a good option for families”
 of 5 bubbles erikab862, 17 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5