We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Equatorial Penang

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Panoramas (34)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is located in a strategic area in Bayan Lepas, nearby to Queensbay... but it's quite a distance to the well known hang out spots such as Georgetown, Gurney Drive and Batu Ferringhi. Rooms are well kept and maintained. The hotel provides good facilities and staff are very friendly and approachable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reuben R
Kassel, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel Equatorial has been a very nice place to stay for my three day business visit to Penang. Rooms are great, they even have balconies and they are quite clean and well maintained for Asian standard. The occasional mold in the bathroom is minimal. The real seller for this place is the outside eating and breakfast area by the pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor and for having chosen Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are indeed delighted to read you enjoyed staying with us. Furthermore it gives us great pride and joy to learn you enjoyed spending your well-deserved time off in the hotel. Our team puts a lot of effort in...

Milan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is not so far our local office and this is the main reason of my choice but I found some pleasant surprises when I checked in. The room is quite, comfortable and with a perfect TV programs selection. Breakfast well prepared with a large choice of food. Location with a good view being in front of the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 556conte68
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the hotel's facilities. We thank you for having stayed with Hotel Equatorial Penang and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Willem Hagedoorn Director...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel in a quiet location. A short drive into the main centre. Drive took about 20mins on the highway. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning to visit Penang. Staff very friendly and able to accommodate most requests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johannes B
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor and for having chosen Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. It is particularly nice to read you appreciated our team's friendliness and flexibility. We look forward to...

Hamburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is quite large and has about 660 rooms. It is relatively close to the airport, but quite a distance away from the center of Georgetown. The rooms are spacious, most of them come with a good view as the hotel stands on a hill. Bed was large, came with a variety of pillows. Minibar prices for beer, however,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank claussie
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Hotel Equatorial Penang and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to you know had a wonderful experience at our hotel and especially appreciated the room size, amenities and our facilities. I have taken note of the water temperature in your room and would appreciate if you could...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They double charged my whole room bill without any notifications. I found it by my own but the hotel response was unexpectedly slow and reluctant. I have tried to call tens of times before they could find the right person talk to. Every time I need explain my problem again and again. Finally they refunded it, but I used RMB...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor. As discussed over the email and telephone, prior to your posting, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and for the accidental mischarge. As promised, upon realizing our mistake, we immediately fully refunded the amount to your credit card. However, due to the currency exchange there was a...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was an unplanned getaway to the Penang island with the family last month. I must say we did not expected the nice touches and attention by the staff at the hotel. Thank you for looking after us. The children loves the pool, I enjoy the workout at your gym and my family are pampered with the various restaurant options...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poofthenmagic
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang on TripAdvisor. It is delightful to learn you and your family had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay in the hotel and particularly appreciated the services provided by our team members. I will take the opportunity to share your kind...

Batu Caves, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the premier room. The room was nice, clean and well kept. My son loved the bath tub and pool with a mini cave like feel. The in-house movies were a great touch and had a variety of genre and recent movies too. My husband especially loved the WiFi, we were running 2 devices with YouTube...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurul Izzati N
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for having stayed with Hotel Equatorial Penang and for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to read you and your family had a wonderful stay and appreciated the hotel's cleanliness, facilities and the complimentary in-house movies. When you have plans to return to Penang again, please do let me know....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bad experiance encountered on 10th December 2016, the hotel check in system breakdown and messyness when some of the online booking guest can not get room when they check in and the hotel full hooked no room to accommodate those guess booking not in their system. Result in long long queue in the check in reception haul and guest have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie L
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for having chosen Hotel Equatorial Penang. We sincerely apologize for the long waiting time experienced upon your arrival. On Friday and Saturday a serious system glitch took place. This caused a severe delay in the check-in process as our team members had to process the reservations manually. We humbly apologize for the delay and inconvenience this...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Difficulty to check in room on arrival. The hotel check in system was in a mess when we arrived after driving 10 hours jammed from KL. Long long queue in the check in reception hall, some guest online booking was not in the hotel booking system. Bad management

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie L
HEP_Management, Director of Operations at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for having chosen Hotel Equatorial Penang. We sincerely apologize for the long waiting time experienced upon your arrival. On Friday and Saturday a serious system glitch took place. This caused a severe delay in the check-in process as our team members had to process the reservations manually. We humbly apologize for the delay and inconvenience this...

907 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (472)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (152)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (72)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Premiere Deluxe Room (22)
Viewed
Premiere Room (22)
Viewed
Premiere Suite (35)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Senator Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,266 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,589 reviews
9.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 82 in George Town
580 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,985 reviews
9.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 7 in Tanjung Bungah
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Kampachi Japanese Restaurant
Kampachi Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Equatorial Penang staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Equatorial Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms with the swimming pool view are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Annzyme, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 146xaran, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spend some more money for Club rooms, it is worth to do it.”
 of 5 bubbles 660markusl, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Use Uber/Grab car to travel around but many drivers informed that this area is too isolated for them.”
 of 5 bubbles 676jimmyy, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double Deluxe”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay