Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

East Ayton Lodge

Traveller (118)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£81
£82
£79
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in East Ayton
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
***UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT*** As of the 1st of August 2018 East Ayton Lodge Hotel is under new management. We offer a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere in our beautiful country house hotel. We serve delicious meals within our Bar & Grill restaurant, with a well stocked cosy bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind Regards Robert ,Sarah & the East Ayton Lodge Hotel Team
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
230Reviews5Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 47
  • 19
  • 12
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
p0llyw wrote a review Jun 2021
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom50 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting family in the area. We booked two separate rooms; one was dog friendly.

The check in was fast and efficient. The hotel facilities were explained, and we were shown to our rooms.

The hotel is set in well kept grounds, with both indoor and outdoor seating areas available in the lounge/restaurant area and is situated in a beautiful part of the country.

Throughout our stay we found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, with COVID regulations always adhered to. Once a table was vacated in the lounge/outdoors it was all wiped down and sanitised. All seating was well spaced out. Sanitizer was available.

There is ample, free parking available.

Room: The rooms were well sized with lots of storage available. They were also spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a bath, with overhead shower and toiletries provided.

The rooms are not serviced if you are staying more than one night, in line with Covid regulations but the staff are more than happy to provide more tea, coffee etc.

Restaurant: We had breakfast both mornings, Sunday lunch and evening snack meals. We found there to be plenty of choice available. The food was fresh, well presented, and delicious.

All the staff we met were an epitome of excellent customer service.

We had a fantastic stay, thank you to all the staff and we hope to return shortly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Stoff, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 4 Jun 2021
Hi Polly many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn F wrote a review Sept 2021
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A truly beautiful setting , with great staff ensuring we felt very welcome with our black labrador. Food was excellent in the lovely restaurant area, the grounds were great to walk our dog and sit out and have a drink in the sunshine. Rooms in the courtyard are ideal for anyone travelling with their pooches , they were spotless and bed was so comfy. We will definitely be returning .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from East Ayton Lodge, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Many thanks for your fabulous review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NeilsonCP wrote a review Mar 2020
Scarborough, United Kingdom30 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have wanted to try the restaurant for a while now, and a discount voucher was available on our local radio to purchase.

We ordered a starter and main from the a la carte menu, the food overall was excellent, well presented. The service by the young gentleman behind the bar was very good, he was professional and friendly.

The restaurant was very nice, and a small but very impressive point we would like to make, is that our main meals arrived on very warm plates.

Although out of season, we are locals, so will return again, certainly for a drink in their lovely gardens. Would recommend based on this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from E9218KBsarahs, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have been working hard to build the business since we bought it 18 months ago and it's great to hear we are getting it right! Our gardens are south facing and are wonderful when the sun is shining to sit and enjoy a drink, so we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison M wrote a review Aug 2020
Oxted, United Kingdom19 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel as were impressed by the photos on the website , sadly when we got there it was a let down . The hotel is rather tired and in need of a refresh. Rooms ok with plenty of hot water but no heating on when we arrived on a cold wet afternoon. A Venetian blind instead of curtains meant we couldn’t get the room dark and a shower curtain that wrapped itself around you in the shower added to the irritation.
The cooked breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and very tasty.
In conclusion, it was overpriced and disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Stoff, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Hi Alison, Thanks for your comments and feedback and obviously we are disappointed that you were disappointed. On checking with the team, we have no record of any comments from you whilst you were staying with us, when we could have possibly been able to rectify some of your concerns at the time? As you will know we took over the hotel 2 years ago and built the new website last year with photos taken at that time. We continue to refurbish rooms and Covid temporarily halted this program of work but we are now recommencing the ongoing improvements. Our guests are always our first priority and our main aim and hope is to have everyone enjoy their stay with us. We bought the hote lwith the long term in mind and we do hope you try us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James r wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at east Ayton lodge last year and really enjoyed the food, service and accommodation. We got talking to the owner who asked if we would come back? We decided to book for this year there and then. Eight months later we received a phone call from a member of staff who said our booking was cancelled because booking.com had booked our accommodation to someone else?? The staff member was very rude, unhelpful and even laughed at one point.
I suspect the real reason our booking was cancelled was due to money, when we booked with the owner it was a lot less then what is on the website today.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from E9218KBsarahs, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Hi James, thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry you experienced this problem with our Hotel. I can clearly state that a substantial amount of guests book with us months ahead and we do not cancel bookings because of prices, as prices on our website and with our booking agents can change depending on the season. We can only apologise and say that we will be launching a full investigation as to why this has happened.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark P wrote a review Sept 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom31 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed hear for four nights after our holiday abroad was cancelled.
The hotel is a beautiful location only a twelve minute drive from Scarborough, set in the village of East Ayton and only a short stroll from the Denison Arms public house.
A very friendly welcome on arrival, we were booked into a family room on the top floor (room 3), it was a bit of a squeeze getting our cases up the steep staircase into the attic area but the room was nice, spacious and the bed was comfortable.
The room decor and carpet was a little tiered but that didn’t affect our stay, we really enjoyed our stay although we couldn’t open the bathroom window on a really hot four day stay.
The food was fabulous and reasonably priced, a good selection of beers, wines and spirits.
The breakfasts were really good with a great selection of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts and a traditional cooked breakfast.
The thing that made this short break so fabulous was the service provided by one young man called “Angus”, he was extremely friendly and professional, whilst running the reception, bar, maintaining the garden and serving breakfasts amongst other responsibilities, he was an absolute credit to the lodge and we will gladly return as long as this young man is working at the lodge.
We noticed the day he wasn’t working we had to go to reception to ask if anyone was working actually behind the bar after several minutes waiting to be served, we also had to wait ten minutes to be offered drinks at breakfasts and the breakfasts took an age to be served.
Thanks for a fabulous four days, we are looking forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy S wrote a review Oct 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I (together with our two dogs) have just returned home from having a three night stay at the East Ayton Lodge hotel and have had a wonderful time. The location is superb for visiting the seaside resorts on th North Yorks coastline and you are a stones throw away from the Moors. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment but the rooms are fine, being warm and clean with a functional bathroom. The hotel bar, restaurant and public areas are welcoming with a superb conservatory facing south over gardens mainly laid to lawn with some superb mature old trees. The staff were great; friendly but not intrusive and the food tasty, well presented and of a very good standard. All in all a nice base to stay for exploring the area. We will hopefully be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Room Tip: Genuinely a dog friendly hotel with a room large enough to cope with two adults and two...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Stoff, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Dear Andy and Hazel, Many thanks for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you both (and dogs) back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mishyloo wrote a review Aug 2020
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom72 contributions51 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We rang to book table for 5 all adults. I asked a few questions and to be fair the person on the phone was very polite.
We were shown to a table adequately socially distanced. Then we're told no steak , no fish and chips, no risotto. The manager came over and when we asked why we were not told this when we rang as we had come a long way. She got a bit defensive and said if we were not happy we could leave. Anyway we ordered and the food was shocking. Luke warm unseasoned mushrooms in cream on a bit of white Warburton's with the crusts cut off ! I didn't eat my main as it was that hot ( obviously microwaved within an inch of its life ) - sausage and mash and my husband had a burger and his description was a peppery lump of 'something' .thank goodness for eat out to help out and the bill was halved as it would have been over £100 ! Steer clear everyone until they get someone in the kitchen who can actually cook and seasons the food. Also they need someone who knows how to order /stock take .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Stoff, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 8 Aug 2020
Hi mishyloo, Many thanks for your comments. Please accept our apologies that you were not able to order some items from our menu. Unfortunatly that day our suppliers had been experiencing some difficulties due to high demand from the help to eat out scheme, which caused us problems with our usual deliveries. On this particular evening we had a higher than normal request for steak and as we use local butchers supply was limited and we did run out. Also our fish is delivered fresh, straight from the coast every day and was also in high demand and risotto is not on our menu, therefore could not have been ordered. All our burgers are handmade, fresh everyday by our chef, who is extremely experienced and are always seasoned but please accept our apologies if the seasoning was not to your taste! Just to assure you we NEVER microwave our food, it is sometimes put under a heat lamp (as is the normal practice in all kitchens) so everyone's order is served hot and served at the same time. Please take a look at other reviews, you will see that we get great comments for our food and I'm sorry this was not your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently had our wedding reception at East Ayton Lodge. We were planning our wedding during the Covid-19 pandemic and the staff made the whole experience as stress free as possible. Nothing was too much trouble - from catering for special diets to letting us have our own sound track during the meal. The room looked fabulous and everyone enjoyed their meals. The staff were really friendly and the service was second to none. Jeannie, the manager, was incredibly helpful throughout and made sure that we got our perfect day. The grounds are spectacular and looked especially lovely with the autumn colours. We would definitely recommend East Ayton Lodge and will enjoy visiting regularly in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Stoff, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Hi Sarah, many thanks for your lovely feedback. We were delighted to host your special day and hope that you have amazing memories. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freedom667300 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August 2020.

On the positive side, the buildings from the outside were beautiful and the staff were generally friendly and helpful.

However, there were many things which made our visit much less enjoyable than expected:

• The walls were very thin to the extent where I could hear somebody snoring in the next room.
• Our bathroom door could not be properly shut.
• The radiators did not work consistently – sometimes they would turn on and sometimes they would not when I needed them to dry towels.
• The bathroom fan was particularly loud, and this affected our sleep, particularly as the door would not close properly
• Although we booked initially as one person as we were not sure about our plans, charging seventy pounds extra for an additional person, when all that would be needed to upgrade was two extra towels, seems excessive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Stoff, Owner at East Ayton Lodge
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Hi Freedom, I'm sorry you had some issues whilst staying with us. I wish we had known you were having problems as we would have been more than happy to move you, we do not want our guests to be unable to sleep. Our maintainance team have now been in and these have now been resolved. We don't usually have the heating on in the summer months (unless we have particularly cold weather) but as the temperature the last few weeks has been up to 30 degrees the problem has been trying to keep the hotel cool, so the heating is turned off, which is why you experienced problems there but a quick word at reception and we would have been able to deliver more clean dry towels to you. As you booked a room for one person and paid for one person but had 2 people staying in your room (for 2 nights) there would be an extra charge as is usual at all hotels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hayley B asked a question May 2021
Alfreton, England, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Is there a reliable local taxi service to travel to Scarborough Open Air Theatre and back? Thanks.
Hi Yes there are plenty of Taxi services that run to and from Scarborough. Just ask at reception where they are always happy to help
Answer from Carl Rogers
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes
Hi, Our dog friendly rooms are situated outside in the annex. We do allow dogs in our residents lounge in the main building of the hotel if you wish to eat. kind regards Sarah
Angela H asked a question Jul 2019
Scarborough, United Kingdom55 contributions66 helpful votes
Do you serve Sunday Lunch Is it Table de Hote o rA la Carte What is the cost Do you need to book Thank you
Answer from dianneddi
Scarborough, United Kingdom180 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Helen V
North Ferriby, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
Can you cancel? I really would if I were you! If you choose to stay make sure that you stay in the main hotel rooms!, the hotel is very well situated to visit scarbrough and the surrounding area, it could be a great place with a little thought and attention!
Sam wrote a tip 12 Apr
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please be considerate if you take your Dogs Clean up after them in the Gardens Don't Spoil a Dog Friendly Hotel."
Read full review
stevepatton wrote a tip Feb 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the dog with you"
Read full review
Elizabeth_Darcy wrote a tip Jan 2024
York, United Kingdom187 contributions114 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are two car parks, and the one off Moor Lane is really large."
Read full review
Adventurer423587 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bridlington, United Kingdom8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We booked the Gluten Free option in advance when we booked the table"
Read full review
Danny G wrote a tip Jul 2023
Taunton, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice location"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Ayton area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
east ayton hotel east ayton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireEast Ayton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EAST AYTON LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about East Ayton Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to East Ayton Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mr E Rooms Escape Room Scarborough (3.7 miles), Stephen Joseph Theatre (3.5 miles), and Freddie Gilroy and the Belsen Stragglers (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at East Ayton Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at East Ayton Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at East Ayton Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to East Ayton Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Farrier, Lifeboat Fish Bar, and Askim's.
Is East Ayton Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of East Ayton.
Are pets allowed at East Ayton Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to East Ayton Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hairy Bobs Cave (4.4 miles) and Scarborough Sea Wall Heritage Trail (4.5 miles).
Is East Ayton Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire