Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Wensleydale Heifer

Traveller (1764)
Dining (348)
Room & Suite (328)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in West Witton
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
A traditional Coaching Inn with a difference! The Wensleydale Heifer offers a top quality restaurant, and accommodation equally impressive with the emphasis on comfort and customer satisfaction. We like to let our guests do the talking "the best place to eat in Yorkshire, where service and food quality is second to none... the room was delightful and 1st class.." The Heifer has nine themed rooms, all beautifully appointed with full facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, French
3108Reviews20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,617
  • 333
  • 109
  • 35
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joyce W wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Husband and I stayed in the Chocolate Room for one night this week and the room was beautifully appointed with everything you could possibly need including lots of complimentary chocolates! The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had both a jacuzzi bath and a separate shower cubicle.
We dined in the newly refurbished restaurant and chose the three course Residents Menu which offered a good choice at a reasonable price. The quality of the food was first class and the service excellent.
A delicious breakfast was served the following morning with lots of choice and some tasty fish alternatives to the traditional cooked breakfast.
Many thanks to Chef David and all the team at The Heifer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david m, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Chocolate room - it is one of our most popular guest rooms. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and found us to be good value for money. I have passed your kind words onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OtleyAl wrote a review Dec 2021
5 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is difficult to overexaggerate the quality of the food, the seamless service and the standard of the accommodation and I will not. You cannot overprice when providing exquisite food and the chef and restaurant deserve all the accolades which have been rightly bestowed to date. We stopped overnight in 'The Whisky Room' which for a 'single malt' nut was nearly being in heaven, the only downside being given a complimentary 'smoky' blend which was tasted but no more. The power shower in the bathroom room packed plenty of power and guests are well-advised not to use between 11.00 pm and 7.30am to avoid disturbing other guests.

I ordered a malt marinated fillet steak starter half expecting a version of carpaccio which proved not to be the case. The flavour of the lightly marinated meat with crispy shallots were taken to a different level by the rocket, parmesan shaving and white truffle salad. My main was a beautiful complex risotto topped with a Hake large fillet, which was delightful but I had to resist the temptation to devour all of it for fear of overeating! Food perfection!! A bottle of reasonably priced Chabis complemented the above!

The Restaurant was full with apparently all tables occupied by couples all suitably spaced to comply with Covid regulations. The buzz of diners enjoying their experience in these difficult times for the hospitality sector was uplifting.

The large service team were attentive, always on hand without being 'too fussy'. Their timing was first class, with just enough time between courses to enjoy the experience.

After an appropriate 20 minute break after the main course we shared a delightful cheese board of five British Cheeses washed down with a glass of Rioja!!

We retired having enjoyed a par excellence meal and mean to repeat the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewis Moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 27 Dec 2021
Wow - what an amazing review! - I have printed this one for the staff notice board! Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on such positive feedback. I am so pleased that you had a great time and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Belinda C wrote a review Oct 2020
Blyth18 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great themed rooms, stayed in chocolate and champagne both lovely but the extra touches in the chocolate room made it the best. Loved the little touches such as the mini fresh cakes in the room each day.
Impressed by the Covid safety, a basket left outside the room each day with clean towels, more tea bags etc,
Mouton Brown toiletries very nice and the Hotel Chocolat velvetizer was great after a brisk walk in the cold.
Breakfast is superb with lots of choice, the granola and yoghurt were particularly good.
Had dinner twice and couldn’t fault a single thing everything cooked to perfection and tasted divine.
The staff are all excellent with nothing being too much trouble.
Can’t wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Chocolate best for me!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 27 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed all aspects of your time with us. I have passed on your kind regards to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beth wrote a review Sept 2020
37 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Food was absolutely phenomenal, the steak, and especially the dessert which was absolutely stunning, and can’t be faulted. Would absolutely recommend the restaurant.
Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the room. It was nicely decorated and the bed was large and comfortable. Overall it was a nice room, but not deserving of the hefty rate per night.
There was not very much ‘unlimited chocolate.’ When we checked in we were told that if we wanted any more to ask and it would be brought up. However, when we did ask for more roses the staff member was funny about it and gave us just a small handful. The thing I was most disappointed about was the shower, in all the pictures online a fancy shower with multiple jets is shown, something I was really excited about and looking forward to, but when we got there it turned out that it is just a basic normal shower in the room and not the one advertised on the website. I feel this was really unfair as the room had been misadvertised meaning we did not get what we thought we were paying for.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant but disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the room as much. I am sorry about the issues with the chocolate, pre Covid we did put many more glasses of chocolates around the room but we have tried to cut down on things in the rooms but the staff member should have been more accommodating and I will speak to the team about that. he shower was replaced as the original one broke during the period when we closed and this should have been updated on the website and I have contacted our web developer to sort this out. I do very much hope that you will return to visit us again in the future and we all would look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gill W wrote a review Aug 2020
Rainford, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay and so glad we have had the opportunity to experience this lovely hotel which was recommended to us by our good friends. The service has been exceptional and the delicious dinners were a complete delight which was highlighted by the presentation, the high quality of your ingredients and the culinary expertise of your brilliant chefs - our only complaint being that we did not have enough time with you to try everything on the menu!! We felt very safe with the thorough cleanliness of our room and entire hotel, and the distribution of a hand sanitiser on our room key was very welcome in the current circumstances. The staff made us feel so welcome and what a friendly team - they are all a credit to the hotel. Thank you so much for such a wonderful visit!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for such a glowing review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you had a great time and were well looked after by the team. You will have to book a longer stay next time so you can try some more dishes from our menu. I have passed your kind regards onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul H wrote a review Oct 2021
newcastle, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely loved our 3nt stay here.
The room and en suite we’re a great size and spotlessly clean, the little extra touches ie- little sweet treats from the kitchen each day, sweeties in a jar, popcorn etc just made us feel welcome and valued.
The staff are wonderful and so friendly and helpful and I love the fact that this is family owned,it feels like all the staff are part of the family too which is nice.
The food is amazing!! The quality of those dishes is like eating in a top London restaurant but with better portions and a much more reasonable price. It’s no wonder the restaurant is full every night with a cancellation list as well!
However this was my only criticism and I’m sorry because I love this place and we will be back next year but the table service at evening meal was slow and a bit confusing for the staff at times, our first night we had 2 drinks and 2 separate bottles of wine brought to our table that were not for us. Taking drinks orders bringing bread and taking food orders we’re all a little slow on both nights that we ate there, the restaurant was really busy and we don’t like to make a fuss about waiting but we were a bit disappointed about that.
At checkout our final bill was a mixup as we had someone else’s food and drinks added to our bill and our food missing, but this was quickly taken care of and many apologies given so all good in the end.
We had a lovely stay and hoping to be back next spring to stay with you again.
Please thank all your staff for making our stay so lovely and Thankyou too.

Best wishes
Catherine Harvey
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewis Moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very positive review. I am sorry that everything wasn't as perfect as it should have been and I will speak with our managers about your feedback in our weekly meeting . We all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsJD2007 wrote a review Oct 2020
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom2,175 contributions340 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband booked this for mine and his mams birthday. We had the chocolate room his parents had the junior suite.

His mam got a card, balloon and chocolates, yet my birthday wasn't acknowledged?

The room are furnished lovely and in our opinion the cheaper ones are just as nice as the more expensive ones. The chocolate room seemed a little tired like the dressing gowns but the bed in the chocolate room was so comfy!

Everything was Covid secure and having a key fob with hand sanitizer attached was a welcome touch. Alas the toilet in the junior suite hadn't been cleaned thoroughly!

Molton Brown toiletries are provided and good quality range of hot drinks including filter coffee and fresh milk.
Was a draw of chocolate bars but disappointed the chocolate room had no heifer made chocolates included, given the price.

Food was fantastic
Very nice breakfast
Nice cosy bar area, serves real ale
Car Park at the back was a bit tight.

This was our second visit but didn't leave me keen to go back like the last time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food but disappointed that there were some issues that were not perfect. I have spoken with all our managers about the problems and they have asked me to pass on their apologies and also to pass on their thanks for making us aware.. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wifesachef wrote a review Aug 2020
Greasby, United Kingdom74 contributions216 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit since the lock down restrictions were lifted and our first meal in a restaurant since we last stayed in March, 1 week before the madness started. To be totally honest , the Heifer was the only place we would visit for our meal out. The COVID-19 measures were excellent, even down to a small hand gel attached to your room key. The menus on the table are single use...ie.... once you have chosen your food the menus are removed and then destroyed so there is no risk of contamination. Thoroughly looking forward to our next visit very soon. Huge thank you to Dave, Vince, Damion, Lotti, Chef Craig and Pastry Chef Krissy for our superb stay, always a privilege to meet you when we stay and as I have said in previous reviews, we are made to feel part of the Heifer family and not paying guests, see you all again soon, Graham & Jackie.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review and your continuing support. I am delighted that you had a great time and you had a great time. It was so nice to see you both again and all the team look forward to your visits. I have passed your great feedback onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gill P wrote a review Aug 2020
Durham, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here using a voucher I bought for my husbands birthday, the voucher was out of date due to the lockdown, but they very kindly honoured it without hesitation!
We stayed in the Movie Room which was very authentic, popcorn the lot, the only negative (and it’s a problem in most hotels, there were no plugs near a mirror with a chair to do my hair) The best asset this Hotel has, is it’s Staff, so friendly, but not overbearing, even the housekeepers had time to say Hello, first class food and service, nice touches in the room eg. Bottled water, homemade biscuits, Molton Brown toiletries etc. The orange juice at breakfast was freshly squeezed too, or if it wasn’t it tasted like it! There’s nothing to not like here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive review. I am so pleased that you had a great time and were well looked after by the team. I have taken note about the mirror and will look into it with our handyman. I do agree our greatest asset is the team we have - all very passionate people who really care about the guests. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
115mini wrote a review Oct 2021
Bradford, United Kingdom19 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and friends have just returned from a 2 night stay to celebrate my Birthday, its my second time of visiting The Heifer. The staff are second to none, all absolutely fantastic, cannot do enough to make you welcome and to make sure you have all you need. The food if a little expensive is outstanding. We had booked 4 rooms all of which were very clean, I do though think that for the cost of the rooms that a few little extra touches above the daily sweet snacks, sweets and drinks in the room that cheap toilet paper could be changed, larger towels, bath sheets would be nice and we had The Black Sheep room which had some plaster missing off the wall, it just looked tacky,saying this the room is very large and suitable for having your dog with you. Covid has obviously caused changes to be made, no bar area or lounge to sit in which was a shame but couldn't be helped. We sat outside to have drinks and thankfully it wasn't raining, no shelter, the area could do with cleaning as it was dirty with half full ashtrays, I realise it's outside and that you can't control the birds messing but a wipe down of the tables every couple of hours and sweep up of the area would not take long. Overall our stay was enjoyable, thank you to all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: At this time no inside area to have drinks during the day, but the lounge area is about to have a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewis Moss, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review and your support of the heifer. I am delighted that you had a great time and were well looked after by the team and rated the food as outstanding! I have taken note about the issues with the room and I will discuss the points that you made in detail with the team to see what improvements can be made, we are reinstating the loungue area in November which we all are very much looking forward to. We all look forward to welcoming back in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJS767 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Midweek offers are great value Ample parking at the rear."
Read full review
Diana P wrote a tip Jan 2024
Province of Rome, Italy1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a bit of luxury and friendly service with outstanding food, look no further "
Read full review
jayne h wrote a tip Jan 2024
York, United Kingdom20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely have to visit this fantastic place."
Read full review
Danielle H wrote a tip Jan 2024
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is well worth checking in long before dinner in order to enjoy the gorgeous rooms and bar pre-dinner"
Read full review
mike f wrote a tip Dec 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom284 contributions93 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"book as soon as you can as it is popular"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the West Witton area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the wensleydale heifer hotel yorkshire dales national park, wensleydale heifer hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireLeyburnWest Witton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WENSLEYDALE HEIFER - Updated 2024 Reviews (West Witton)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wensleydale Heifer
Which popular attractions are close to The Wensleydale Heifer?
Nearby attractions include West Burton Falls (2.8 miles), Aysgarth Falls (3.0 miles), and Leyburn Shawl (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wensleydale Heifer?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Wensleydale Heifer?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wensleydale Heifer?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wensleydale Heifer?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant, Mill Race Teashop, and The Saddle Room Restaurant.
Is The Wensleydale Heifer located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of West Witton.
Are pets allowed at The Wensleydale Heifer?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Wensleydale Heifer?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wensleydale Heifer?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Ostwalds Church (7.0 miles).
Is The Wensleydale Heifer accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.