We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE Wales
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 8 in Talgarth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly bed and breakfast in Talgarth does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Old Radnor Barn B&B, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the bed and breakfast.

The property also boasts free breakfast, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Old Radnor Barn B&B, free parking is available.

Talgarth has plenty of pubs. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like The Bridge End Inn and The New Gurkha Inn, which are serving up some great dishes.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Talgarth Mill (0.1 mi), which is a popular Talgarth attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the bed and breakfast.

Old Radnor Barn B&B puts the best of Talgarth at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
314Reviews2Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 53
  • 14
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul H wrote a review 15 May
London, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Thank you again Steve and Lynne for a wonderful stay, feeding us and making us feel so welcome and comfortable. The hot tub was a joy after a day after completing the Big Black Mountain challenge -soaking away the aches watching the kites circling above - Just bliss -I counted 25 at one point - awesome! no need to take a trip the the kite feeding stations when it’s here on the doorstep . We slept and ate so well - thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Richard B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have just stayed at the old Radnor barn and was blown away by the hospitality, the warm welcome and the beautiful room. Definitely suggest paying to use the hot tub. Breakfast was one of the best I’ve had. All local produce and I’m guessing home grown cherry tomatoes. Beautiful location in the centre of the village walking distance to the shops and a lovely local pub. 10 out of 10 for the old Radnor barn. Couldn’t have found a better place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Klaire A wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Originally booked in august for November 2020 we were unable to make our original booking due to wales being in lockdown, we asked for a refund which the opener said we could not have and said he would carry over our booking instead, we then tried to rebook in July 2021 to be told we would have to pay a summer premium as the rates had increased so finally settled on rebooking for the same dates in November 2021. We phoned two weeks prior to the booking to confirm it and spoke to Stephen the same gentleman I had rearranged the booking with in July and he had no record of our booking in the diary but promised to find it and send out confirmation by email that night. No email confirmation ever came. We then discovered from reading other online reviews that the room we had booked had no en-suite bathroom instead a private bathroom that is located elsewhere in the building not feeling safe using this type of set up we telephoned again to be told by the owners wife that we could upgrade to a room with an en-suite for an additional £10 per night which my partner agreed. One day later we received an email from Stephen saying he had already sold the room his wife promised us the day before and the only en-suite he had available now would be an additional £45 per night charge (£90 for our 2 night stay) £300 total for 2 nights, 2 adults and 2 dogs off peak session seems a bit excessive for a place thats customer service is starting to reassemble faulty towers. We then emailed to say we wanted to cancel our booking and would like a full refund to which we received no reply so my partner telephoned once again to be told we can’t cancel our booking and no refund would be given. Absolutely shambolic customer service, no communication between owners and obviously no proper booking system. To be refused a refund when the original booking had to be cancelled at their end is disgusting. Avoid, over priced, chaos!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 15 Mar 2022
When you asked for a refund, we asked if you would have the forbearance with the situation and we offered for you to rebook in the future and you accepted. When you book and pay for a low season period and then wish to book for a peak season period, surely you would expect to pay the difference. When you finally rebooked again for November 21, if you did not receive an email confirmation, I apologise, however if you had contacted me at the time, I would have resent this. The booking you made was for a private bathroom, this is located opposite your bedroom door, the doors are 1 metre apart and dressing gowns are provided. Your request for a room with an ensuite bathroom could have been accommodated with the additional charge, the oversight of this room being rebooked the day before and not placed in the diary was unfortunate and I apologised for this error and you agreed to accept the room that you had originally booked for November 2020. If you did not feel safe, I was not aware of that and not one other guest who has stayed in the same room has mentioned "not feeling safe". There was one other bedroom with guests using this short corridor. A two night stay with two dogs that we knew nothing about and costing £300, was reasonable compared to many establishments across the country charging much more at that time. Unfortunately, when you book and rearrange and rearrange a booking, cancelling and asking for a refund is not acceptable to us. While you may state that our customer service is "shambolic", there are many, many customers that think otherwise and we ask people to read between the lines.
Read more
Nigel W wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Luxury to most people would mean extravagant,costly, premium but to others it can just be comfortable, homelike or snug. In the context of accommodation there seems to be a licence for some to use the former description to attract premium room rates. In Merriam - Websters dictionary it is defined as "Something adding to pleasure or comfort but not absolutely necessary" We think in this instance the room met this latter definition not by inclusion but omission of those details which would have warranted the "Luxury" description. Specifically :- "Private Bathroom" means it is not attached to the room and could be anywhere in the building, as opposed to "en-suite". Lights over the sink did not work making shaving and application of makeup difficult .( This was brought to the attention of the owners on the first night of our 4 night stay but sadly was not remedied). Towels air dried and crusty .(in a hard water area would benefit from a softener and tumble dry) Necessary procedure to get shower to work which not everyone will be able to follow. No complimentary toiletries with the exception of a tablet of soap. Breakfast is NOT INCLUDED if you book through Booking.com and only basic tea and coffee provisions in the room. "Soundproofing" does not mean soundproof as we were kept awake till late every night with noise from adjoining family room. If you have a dog as we did they may be disturbed by the coming and going in the passageway out side the room at night. In conclusion, assume nothing, and before you book check those details that will be import to your "luxury" stay. The owners were polite and accommodating and perhaps to some would appear to lack a little enthusiasm .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Due to noise the Family room represents potentially the best value .
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 4 Oct 2021
The room and bathroom were available to view before you booked and from the photographs it seemed that you were happy to do this. Had yo mentioned to us about the noise while you were her, perhaps we could have had a word with the other guests on your behalf. Operating the shower is straight forward and explained to you on check-in. You booked a room with a private bathroom and that is what you got. We doing have rooms with ensuite bathrooms but they are slightly more expensive as you would expect. The lights over the vanity unit and the shaver point are now working. Breakfast used to be included however, when Booking.com decides to give all customers a 25% discount upfront without our agreement, we have to recover that loss somewhere. You opted not to receive this option and complain about it but not the 25% discount, I wonder why?
Read more
peschetta831 wrote a review Jul 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom130 contributions81 helpful votes
Absolutely fantastic stay. The room was very clean, dog friendly. Lynn and her husband were exceptional hosts, very welcoming and non intrusive. The garden was peaceful and the stay very relaxing. The breakfast had a ‘wow’ factor and was readily made as per guest request.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thank yo so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the breakfasts which you state have the "wow factor". Hopefully you will come and visit us again soon and while you may have arrived as guests, you will have left as friends. Diolch yn fawr!
Read more
MCh wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions
We (3 friends) stayed for 5 nights at this lovely B&B. Lynn and Steve are wonderful hosts who were very helpful and accommodating. The vegetarian breakfast (which Lynn adapted to our taste) was the perfect way to start the day. The room was comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom. The garden and hot tub were perfect for some R&R after activity filled days. Talgarth turned out to be a great place to stay with horse riding at Tregoyd just down the road and Boating at Langorse lake around the corner as well as a Co-op just behind the B&B). The High Street in Brecon with good food options (Zeera and Chang Thai) was a convenient 15 minutes away. We would recommend this charming B&B for those looking for a getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thank you for your fantastic review and what we offer and you have received in your recent stay at Old Radnor Barn. We look forward to meeting yo again in the near future and although you might have arrived as guests, you will have left as friends. Diolch yn fawr!
Read more
RobsterBach wrote a review Jun 2021
Chester, United Kingdom15 contributions17 helpful votes
A fabulous welcome and nice accommodation plus a garden to relax in en route to the hot tub. Lovely hosts and a great breakfast! We had a lovely time and enjoyed ice cream in the village and a walk up in the forest nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Hi Rob, Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and all that we have to offer here at Old Radnor Barn. We hope to see you again in the near future and remember, the best way to book is directly with us. While you may have arrived as guests, you will certainly have left as friends. Diolch yn fawr!
Read more
Lisa W wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
My Daughter and I had the pleasure of staying here for the Bank Holiday Weekend and everything was just perfect. Stephen and Lynne are the nicest people and couldnt do enough to make sure our stay was 1st Class. The Barn is Quant with all the older features you would expect given its age. The grounds are immaculate, with a decking area hosting a hot tub and sauna Pod. The hot tub was cleaned before our use and was perfect at 40 Degrees. Breakfast was delicious.Cannot beat a Freshly Cooked Breakfast to start the day. The Barn is located about 10 mins away from Llangors, were we had booked the activity centre, indoor wall climbing and abseiling, and Lakeside/Llangors Lake where we hired Pedloes. 2 minutes walk into the town you will find the Bridge End Inn, which serves the best of Meals. We Ate there twice on our stay and the food was simply delicious. Thank you so much Stephen and Lynne for Making our Stay just perfect. I wish you all the very best with your future plans and that well deserved retirement one day. (Summer also promises to continue to work hard with her studies at her new school :) )
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for your brilliant review, it makes it all worthwhile when guests really appreciate what we have to offer. You may arrive as guests but you will always leave as friends and we hope to see you again in the future. Summer, keep up the good work! Diolch yn fawr!
Read more
Megan Rose C wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I recently visited to this B&B - I was welcomed by the most lovely family who served the most delicious food. Hot tub and Sauna services were second to none! Can’t recommend this place enough! They also live close to an amazing waterfall and also great walks up the mountains.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Hi Megan, Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself, especially the spa facilities and the breakfasts. Lynne is always starts the breakfast but I rescue it. (smiley face). We hope to see you again in the future and remember, you may have arrived as guests but you will have left as friends. Diolch yn fawr!
Read more
Virginie and PY G wrote a review Sept 2020
Haversham, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you to our hosts for the 2 nights we spent as a family in this comfy B&B. Breakfast is very good quality.Bedrooms are spotless and beds are very comfortable. We have enjoyed our relaxing time in the jacuzzi and sauna after outdoor activities. The B&B is conveniently placed next to a quiet and free parking which means no hassle to find an extra parking space or fear to let the car in the street. Would definitely go back to the same place if planning another weekend in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Groves, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Hi Virginea, Thank you for your review and kind words about what we have to offer. We hope to see you again in the future and remember, you may have arrived as guests but you will have left as friends. Diolch yn fawr!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$153 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysTalgarth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Radnor Barn B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Nearby attractions include Talgarth Mill (0.1 miles), Trans Wales Trails (0.2 miles), and Llangorse Lake (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bridge End Inn, The River Cafe Glasbury, and The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant.
Is Old Radnor Barn B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Talgarth.
Are pets allowed at Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Old Radnor Barn B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Talgarth Mill (0.1 miles) and Maesyronnen Chapel (4.8 miles).