We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cliffemount Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cliffemount Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 467: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked last minute with the hotel, got a good deal and enjoyed a large 'premier', very clean, warm and comfortable room with supersize bed, a small balcony and sea views of the amazing Runswick Bay. Bar area was warm and friendly. Not 'five star' for the following reasons. Bathroom paintwork a little tatty, Wi-Fi access very poor, but we survived!... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrednGinger
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrednGinger, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, the bedroom and the view over Runswick Bay. I am disappointed that you found several issues with the hotel that affected your stay, we do not aim to be more than what we can offer our guests consistently, however... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I together with our little dog were all given a big welcome from Shane and the staff when we checked in for a 3 night stay. We really appreciated the towels by the front door to clean our dog before entering the hotel - a thoughtful touch. The room was excellent with a fantastic view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owl34
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Owl34, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to show you the service and guest care that we are proud to show all our residents and visitors consistently. I will pass on your comments regarding the WiFi and I am certain the owners... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and I can't find fault with this hotel. I booked directly with the hotel and spoke with Garry who was extremely helpful and friendly. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and shown to our room which was absolutely superb, very spacious with amazing views over the bay. The room and bathroom were spotless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice G
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice G, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and will pass your review on to Garry and the team. We take great pride in the level of service and guest care and it is very rewarding to read that we are showing our visitors and guests the... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice,clean good sized comfortable room with great views over the bay. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was breakfast. Wine list has good selection at reasonable prices. Staff really nice and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Lingeard
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lingeard, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Our location is a great asset to the hotel and my team and I take great pride in the service and guest care we offer our residents and visitors in order for all our guests to really enjoy their stay. i hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back... More 

nottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. We had room 4 which has sweeping views over Runswick Bay. The room and ensuite are small but comfortable and functional. We ate in the restaurant both nights and thought the food was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to returning in the near future

Helpful?
Thank NottinghamEleanor
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NottinghamEleanor, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your review and I am glad that my team were able to show you the quality and guest care that we are all proud to offer all our guests. I look forward to your next visit to our hotel and we are... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with friends while walking the Cleveland Way. Lovely rooms, very clean. Powerful, hot showers. Very good breakfasts and evening meals. Bar with excellent draft beer and outside tables overlooking the panoramic views of the sea and beach. Staff were very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and completed the Cleveland Way. We always aim to give the warmest and friendliest welcome to all our guests and it is very rewarding to read your review. I hope that you take the Cleveland Way route... More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Cliffemount last week. We stayed in Topmans Room at the top of the hotel and had wonderful views over the stunning Runswick Bay, the room was large and comfortable with a good ensuite bathroom. We ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings of our stay and enjoyed tasty, wholesome pub grub, breakfast was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank janedumbleton
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janedumbleton, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed the quality and service that we offer our guests and visitors here at the Cliffemount Hotel. We take great pride in the level of guest care and attention to detail we show to all our guests and being... More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Brilliant! Made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door to the moment we left. Staff are so helpful, professional and friendly. The hotel is neat, clean and tidy with a great restaurant and a bar. The hotel is dog friendly. Rooms are big and both our rooms had sea views across Runswick Bay. The sunrises were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ric-2
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ric-2, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and will be letting my team know that they have, once again, shown the level of service and attention to detail that we are all proud to deliver consistently to all our guests and visitors. I hope that we have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here for 1 night and we felt that the reception staff didn't really have time for us. Not very welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable;had everything we needed but there was quite a loud water sound from the pipes in the toilet. In general, the atmosphere was not warm.

Helpful?
Thank Bpheby
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bpheby, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding my teams welcome and guest care. We take great pride in the quality and service we offer all our guests and the situation that you encountered is rare and not at all the level of service we are... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. It was spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff and great food. The location is second to none and ideal for walking and visiting the many pretty coastal resorts. I would certainly recommend it to friends and family. Good luck for the future. Pat @M Leeds

Helpful?
Thank 685pat
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 685pat, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read your review and that you would recommend our service, quality and guest care to your friends and family. I look forward to seeing you, your family and friends in the future. Regards Shane Gray General Manager Cliffemount Hotel. More 

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,792 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,071 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
401 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Price Range: £82 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffemount Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Vienna, Austria

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffemount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Premier rooms appear to have a balcony and sea view”
 of 5 bubbles FrednGinger, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was great”
 of 5 bubbles Owl34, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on 2nd floor have a better view over the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles ric-2, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a sea view if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 685pat, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The beach view rooms are a joy to behold”
 of 5 bubbles 344MikeD344, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay