We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mokoya Lodge

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mokoya Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Start your review of Mokoya Lodge
 Click to rate
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely venue for a conference. The room I stayed in was a family room so had many beds as well as a small kitchen area with a stove etc - perfect for a family of 4 wanting self catering. Beautiful views from the strangely small windows. The conference venue was laid out as requested, staff very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mybeautifulworld2017
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing Mokoya Lodge on TripAdvisor. Room 19 was originally occupied by management and has since been converted into a Family room ideal for 4 people. We unfortunately do not offer self catering, but as you know we have Sweet Thyme Restaurant on the property, serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. We are extremely proud of our...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017

My fiance and I, would just like to express our gratitude towards Mr Raymond for his friendly and professional assistance this morning on such short notice with regards to our wedding. We've had a horrific experience at "Once upon a time" earlier this morning which left me in tears! Mr Raymond restored our hope by making our morning memorable. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartzJB
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you MartzJB for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and Facebook. We really appreciate your comments and we are thrilled to hear that you first experience with us was memorable. We can't wait to be a part of your special day. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards The Mokoya Lodge Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We were welcomed warmly at this venue where we were staying for the weekend and attending a wedding. Our en-suite room was basic, but comfortable and clean. The mattress, linen and towels were of good quality. We had a stoep/ patio with outdoor chairs. Hangers and extra blankets and pillows were available. The shower’s water pressure was strong, shower gel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kardoesie
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kardoesie Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mokoya Lodge. Your detailed review and comments are much appreciated as it allows others to know what to expect. We will constantly strive to improve in areas that require improvements. We hope to see you back at Mokoya Lodge in the not too distant future. Warm Regards The...

gabor
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

This facility is well located for the kind of event I went there for which was a team building event. In these modern times, I had expected the facility to be well air conditioned in the rooms and have fair wifi availability. None of these available. I mean really now...Let's embrace tech

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999tkm
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We went there for a strategy meeting. Spent three days there. Really great five star food and wonderful friendly staff who were always available to help. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. Great spacious rooms and large well finished off bathrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rowena_Kraidy
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rowena Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. We loved having you all stay with us and we can't wait to see you back at Mokoya Lodge soon. Kind Regards The Management and Staff of Mokoya Lodge

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Booked a Christmas lunch for a family of 8 and the experience was just amazing. The chef did a great job with all the meal courses, even my toddler boys went for second servings of the starters. My highlights off the menu were: Spinach Phyllo tarts, tasty roasted baby potatoes, mouth-watering grilled turkey and creme brulee. The were a variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel Thank you for taking your time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your kind words, but more than anything we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at Mokoya Lodge. Great food, good music, fantastic service and excellent company makes for a wonderful Christmas day. Thank you for joining us and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Having had travelled to many hotels and lodges, I regard Mokoya Lodge as one of best and tranquil places I have been to. The lodge is well kept. Well maintained grounds, clean swimming pool, great accommodation and conferencing facilities. No TVs in the rooms worked perfectly for me! A perfect choice for someone who would like to escape the busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samkeliso_2016
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Samkeliso_2016 Thank you so very much for taking your time to review Mokoya Lodge on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate all your positive feedback. We certainly proud ourselves in our phenomenal food and tranquil setting. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mokoya Lodge in the not too distant future. Kind Regards The Mokoya Lodge Team

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Mokoya Lodge is an amazing place to reconnect with your partner. With everything at your fingertips and service so friendly that you are given what you need before you even ask. We have officially made this our annual escape from reality. We had mouth watering lamb shank for dinner and cheese cake for dessert. I would recommend Mokoya to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meshah A
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Meshah Thank you for taking your time to review Mokoya Lodge on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that Mokoya Lodge has surpassed your expectations, especially our renowned Lamb Shank and potted cheese cake. We truly cherish your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Mokoya Lodge soon. Kind Regards The Mokoya Lodge Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Took my pharmaceutical sales team of 30 there for a 4 day conference. Absolutely beautiful setting, and what a culinary experience! Team building, theme evening, you name it, everything was fantastic. Go there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartvey
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Hi stuartvey On behalf of everyone at Mokoya Lodge, we would like to thank you for entrusting us with your conference. We are thrilled to hear that it was your "Best conference yet!" and can't wait to see you again soon. It was a absolute pleasure dealing with you. Kind Regards The Management and Staff of Mokoya Lodge

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Rooms may be basic, but more than sufficient for our intended business stay, in fact it encouraged enjoying the outdoors to the fullest with beautiful lapa's etc. The fresh air and relaxed environment made for an amazing work conference. Service and Food was out of this world. Thank you very very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mesterhuizen82
HayleyLAdmin, Manager at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this review

Hi mesterhuizen82 Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mokoya Lodge on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that your experience at the lodge was most memorable and that the service and food were "out of this world". We look forward to welcoming you back to Mokoya Lodge soon. Kind Regards The Management and Staff of Mokoya...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hekpoort
10.5 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
11.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
12.9 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
89 reviews
10.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
248 reviews
8.3 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mokoya Lodge is a magnificent bushveld lodge, ideally situated on the enchanting banks of the Magalies River. This miniature Eden lies between the much loved Hartebeespoort Dam and the Magaliesburg. Mokoya Lodge is a great escape from the overwhelming city life. Our gorgeous lodge will take you away from you stresses and day to day anxiety. Mokoya Lodge is a highly sought after, stylish and beloved event and conference venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mokoya Lodge

Address: Farm Hartebeesfontein 472 On the R560 Hekpoort, Hekpoort 0240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Hekpoort
Price Range: £55 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mokoya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokoya Lodge South Africa/Hekpoort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mokoya Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for upstairs rooms as you get the view (small "cottages" dotted everywhere in the gardens)”
  • View from the room across the lodge toward the mountains
mybeautifulworld2017, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The entire lodge is tranquil!”
Samkeliso_2016, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the Suites its exclusive and intimate”
, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“main building”
mesterhuizen82, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the standard and garden rooms if you are looking for privacy. The suites are the best option for complete privacy.”
kevinm371, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates