We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Bookit.comUS$119*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$119*
Great Deal
US$123*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay at the Punta Leona was awesome. The staff was very friendly, helpful and always courteous. The location was beautiful with wildlife in abundance. Scarlet Mccaws, White faced monkeys, butterfly garden and great beaches. The food was very good, and so much to choose. The rooms very nice and the AC cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
Sara J, Director of Sales at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Frank: We are very pleased to know that you enjoy the hospitality of Hotel Punta Leona. Thank you for your good rating. Regards

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent three nights here and wish we had driven straight past. Hotel room was dated and in need of repair and painting. Smaller pool near room had missing tiles around the edges. Big pool was nice. Staff on reception were rude and not focused on the customers. Onsite shops and restaurants were a rip off. Nice beach but invaded by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark W
Sara J, Director of Sales at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Mark: Let me begin by apologizing for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at the Hotel & Club Punta Leona. I was sorry to hear that the Hotel Punta Leona did not meet your expectations. I understand this can lead to a disappointing experiences. Quality of the all services is of great importance for us and we will...

Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice. Had very good food, and plenty of options. Rooms were clean and had air conditioning. Easy access to beaches(bus rides to beach or walk). Several pools were located near hotel. Nice experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiezimmerman15
Sara J, Director of Sales at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Kathie: We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we would also like to thank you for taking the time to write us with your comments. We very much look forward to you staying with us again.

Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here as part of a tour for three nights and we were met by a host named Eric. We were driven around as he pointed out some of the resort amenities. We asked for maps and were told we would get them later. He was very difficult to understand. We were in the Selvamar/Jamaica section where the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgtcop
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My family had a blast... Great breakfast buffet. Nice swimming pools and beaches specially Playa Blanca if you go we little kids they offer many activities Like kayak and snorkel tour. Rate: normal. And you can see different animals like cappuccino monkeys, raccoons, Iguana reptil. I recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedtowR
Escazu, Costa Rica
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Rooms are modest, but comfortable, Restaurant has a decent buffet for breakfast. Beaches (especially Playa Blanca) are very nice. Good value for the price, and close proximity to San Jose is a real advantage, as is close proximity to Jaco for restaurants and entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drm1909
Sara J, Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad to read you enjoyed your time at the Hotel & Club Punta Leona. With a combination of green lush landscape of the rainforest and pristine white sand beaches, Punta Leona is indeed a great place to relax and enjoy nature. Thank you for choosing Hotel & Club Punta Leona during your stay in Costa Rica,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed here as part of a tour for two nights, so we did not experience the lobby/check-in process but rather just went to our rooms. We were in the Selvamar/Jamaica section which was lovely - little groupings of rooms lined up along a beautifully landscaped walkway. The rooms were like cottages. We were near a lovely small pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janie W
Sara J, Director Comercial at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Janie: It was very kind of you to send your comments about your recent stay at Punta Leona. Your feedback is very valuable to us and motivates us to keep improving our service to our guests. Thanks again for reaching out to us.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Punta Leona is an older facility, somewhat dated, but it is a wonderful place to spend a vacation. It is located on a huge piece of property - a 10 minute drive from the front gate and the property is essentially divided into three operations. The first is the private homes scattered throughout the property, The second is the Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SteveandML
Sara J, Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad to read you enjoyed your time at the Hotel & Club Punta Leona. With a combination of green lush landscape of the rainforest and pristine white sand beaches, Punta Leona is indeed a great place to relax and enjoy nature. We are pleased that you enjoyed the abundant wildlife around the hotel grounds. We are...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Punta Leona is not a traditional all inclusive hotel. It is a huge property with several apartments buildings, villas and cabanas. We stayed in Selvamar Cuba section. Breakfast with monkeys, swimming with turtles, and sunbathing with Scarlet Macaws. It has it all. Beatifull grounds, free tours, and best of all Playa Blanca. I would definitely recommend it for staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexey A
Sara J, Director Comercial at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Alexey: We really appreciated reading your comments about your recent experience at Punta Leona. We strive every day to maintain and improve our high standard of excellence to ensure our guests have the best possible experience. We hope to receive you again at Punta Leona, thanks again for choosing us for your vacation. Regards

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at rooms Selvamar: neat and nice. Visited Playa Blanca and Playa Mantas: beautiful and clean. The pool close to Selvamar is silent, private and has great shades. The restaurant area is very nice with all those gardens around, the only thing I didn't love was the price of food; TOO high for a basic menu. Close to San Jose,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabi F
Sara J, Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback of your experience at the Hotel. We are glad to see you enjoyed Playa Blanca beach and the property. Thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Leona for your stay, we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

1,506 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (853)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (190)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (197)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (302)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (605)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Arrecifes Pool (16)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (27)
Viewed
Leonamar Infinity Pool (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Leonamar Apartment (91)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Selvamar Pool (21)
Viewed
Selvamar Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Selvamar Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Arrecifes Apartment (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Chalet Apartment (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Leona
1.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
1,302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca, Punta Leona 1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Leona
Price Range: £83 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Club Punta Leona staff and other travellers.
69 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix
over a year ago

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Club Punta Leona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Selvamar rooms are the best.”
243WilliamS, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some superior Selvamar rooms have porches. Other than that they don't appear much different from the standard rooms.”
  • Selvamar
  • Sevlamar rooms
  • Through the room window
  • Standard room
Shirazfan, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Private villas on Calle Cuba”
ChulaJAR, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I got a standard room this time - I recommend the premium rooms as they are nicer overall”
deborahhW465TE, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are clean & have refrigerators but no microwave/nor room to eat/The property has NO SMOKING policy signs everywhere.”
jamesbaldwin62, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Bookit.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$123
Hotwire.comUS$123
TravelocityUS$123
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates