Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel

Telford Way Waterwells Business Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB England
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (16)
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 3 hotels in Quedgeley
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Telford Way Waterwells Business Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2AB England
963Reviews24Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 335
  • 406
  • 142
  • 55
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brunetteandred wrote a review Apr 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom58 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the friendly welcome upon from front of house Jacob on arrival to the easy checkout on departure, there was nothing I could fault about my stay here. The room was immaculate, the staff extremely helpful (even providing an 'emergency' safety pin upon request). Breakfast was hot and plentiful, alongside cold options such as fruit, yoghurt, pastries, too. And there was no limitations. The hotel is situated right on the outskirts of the city and is a 2 minute drive away from local shops such as Asda, Lidl and B&M, in case you forgot to pack and essential item (which I had). Oh! And the bar is well stocked, which we enjoyed on return from our night out. There is also a rather excellent children and dog freindly Vintage Inns pub 'The Bumble Bee' on the same site, which does a selection of ales and good food. I'd recommend staying at this hotel any time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2023
Wow! What a wonderful review. Thanks, Brunetteandred. We're committed to delivering a great experience to our guests and are happy to see you were impressed by the service you received. We'll let Jacob know how much of an impact they had on your stay. Thanks for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Simon - Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
upg_uk wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom1,089 contribution194 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 1 night to attend an event nearby with the family. Paid for a family room that came with a clean and comfy double bed, large sofa bed, iron facilities, tea/coffee maker and basic toiletries in the shower room.
The breakfast spread was basic but hygienic and tasted as English would.
Would recommend for a quick stay, found staff to be polite and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIE-Glos, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Hello upg_uk Thank you for your recent stay and for leaving a review for us on TripAdvisor! We strive for a consistent and satisfactory service in our holiday inn express hotels, so receiving reviews like this to tell us what we are doing right helps us to keep our service to the highest standard we can ! We hope you stay again for any other event in the future! Kind Regards Brandon Beak | Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan H wrote a review Jul 2020
Minehead200 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The welcome was brilliant and warm. Covid-19 precautions were subtle but brilliant.

The design of the room is brilliant with the bathroom door closing on the toilet area to allow the shower to be used at the same time but retaining privacy for both.

The bed was firm as well as the pillows well stuffed.

The room was clean and the towels changed on day 2 (we were there for just 2 nights).

Breakfast was a "grab and go" with cereal in individual sealed pots with fruit and youghurts. Cold semi-skimmed milk was collected in polystyrene cups with lids. Bacon or Sausage baps were available as well as tea and coffee. All carried in paper bags with serviets and wooden knife, fork and spoon (not plastic). Had to be taken back to the room to be consumed. All very well organised with plenty of room to move about without getting within 2m of others.

Plenty of parking

All in all I would stay there again and any other Holiday Inn Express

10 out of 10
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIE Gloucester, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Dear Alan H. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us. All feedback we receive goes a long way in making our hotel a more comfortable and pleasant stay. We hope you consider us again in the future. Sincerely Brandon Beak | Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m50lws wrote a review Jul 2020
Staffordshire187 contributions112 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy enough to find can be seen from the A38 and the front picture is an accurate portrayal. The now obligatory sanitizer was just inside the entrance and not easy to miss.Check in was easy enough and we went up to our room using the lift to make handling the cases easier. The lift was noisy on reaching the top floor ( it appeared to be fixed the next day). The window of the room had been opened and the mechanism was jammed, so the young man who checked us in had to come up and fix it with brute force. Only one hand towel and one bath towel had been provided and a random half empty bottle of Lucozade had been left on the bedside table. The layout of the room I realise is fairly standardised but I do not understand why the bedside tables have to rest on poles when a cupboard or drawers would be far more useful.
Breakfast is included in the price, but now post lockdown, the standard has dropped dramatically. Croissants, no rolls, some pretty basic cereal bowls, 2 flavours of low fat yogurt, not zero, butter, limited option spreads. Orange and apple juices, teas and coffees. The croissants were warm so I assume prepared on site and on the second morning had been overbaked. In terms of diet it was completely carbohydrate and no protein and not even hard boiled eggs, cheese or marmite spread. One final note was on the sachets of milk those dated 25th July, which were still in date by 2 weeks curdled when put into a hot drink. Those dated 1st August were ok.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lindsey Byrne, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Jul 2020
Thanks for the detailed review, m50lws. We appreciate the high rating for service. We're glad you had a warm welcome! Sorry to see you didn't enjoy the breakfast experience. The Grab & Go option is a temporary measure and we're reintroducing bacon rolls/veggie sausage rolls this week to give guests a hot start to the day. We hope to reopen the breakfast buffet in the near future but we're following Government guidelines. Stay safe! Lindsey B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan wrote a review Aug 2020
49 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights. When I arrived there was no queue for reception. Covid screens were in place for staff and hand sanitiser were easily available within reach. Had a minor issue in the room which I needed help with which was sorted promptly and very well by Brandon and the team - thankyou! The carvery and pub about 3 minutes walk down the road is easy location for food and the bumble bee opposite.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIE Gloucester, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Hello danhrtf. Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed the stay overall but i do apologies that there was a problem with the room on check-in. It was my pleasure helping you and i do hope you stay again soon. Kind Regards Brandon Beak|Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stuart w wrote a review Feb 2020
Airdrie, United Kingdom10,017 contributions728 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Convenient location just off the motorway and plenty of parking, check in was friendly enough, room was cold and controls were under a counter, fairly basic standard in the room and bathroom. Breakfast wasn’t great, limited choice of food, sausages and bacon was poor quality, pastry tray was empty and the coffee was the only thing that was decent. Dismal breakfast all round and staff serving food were also checking out with hygiene gloves on which is very poor professionalism
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Hi, stuart w, We are pleased to host your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you appreciate our accessible location and spacious parking. It's also a delight to learn you had a breezy check-in. We offer everything our guests need and provide more where it matters most, but I guess we missed hitting the mark due to the limited breakfast options. I shared your comment with the hotel management, who responded with genuine concern about the impact this had on your stay. I know they will adjust accordingly to ensure guests' satisfaction. I hope this matter will not deter you from making us your preferred choice. We look forward to hosting your next visit to prove that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception, as we keep it simple and smart. Warmly, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Macchaz19 wrote a review May 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom44 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Considering the pandemic is still on, it’s impressive Holiday Inn Express is doing really well at providing as much of their normal service as usual. The rooms are as clean and welcoming as normal of course, but I was interested to see how they could do the included buffet breakfast. It was all there except beans and eggs but bacon and sausage rolls (rolls with sausage!) were available and veggie sausage available on request. A one way system, sanitiser provided at the start. The tables are well spaced out and there is the option to take a bag and take breakfast back to your room if more comfortable doing that. Masks worn whilst choosing and collecting from the buffet but obviously masks can be off whilst sitting eating and drinking. The staff are friendly, interested and helpful. We have stayed here several time in the past and will definitely do so again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIE Gloucester, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Dear Macchaz19, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, I am delighted to see that you thought we were doing a good job in the current pandemic. I'm also glad to see that you felt safe throughout your time with us, with the option to take items back to your room if you wanted. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future for another fantastic stay! Kind regards, Jacob Shakespeare Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LinjEastSussex wrote a review Sept 2020
Horam, United Kingdom270 contributions111 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just spent three nights at this hotel where we had no issues at all. The staff were all very pleasant and we found the breakfast fine and well organised.
Our room was spotless and there was always hot water and a shower with good pressure.
It is next to the park and ride into Gloucester but we found that the number 12 bus went from nearby into town and we were able to use our bus passes. (This bus goes every 10 minutes or so.)
It was a convenient place to stay and see the sites in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TammywBoston wrote a review Aug 2020
Boston426 contributions180 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 2nd visit to this Holiday Inn, the 1st visit was great but this time didn’t come up to what we were expecting.
On arrival there was no one on Reception so had to wait for a lad to come. He was polite and friendly and said we had a room on the ground floor as the staff felt it would be cooler for us with the hot weather, this we appreciated.
We knew it would be a “Grab and Go breakfast “ but this was disappointing, the bacon baps had been kept hot a while and were not particularly nice and there was a 10 minute wait for croissants. So the next 2 mornings we went to Wetherspoons and had full English breakfasts. Not sure why the hotel cannot serve the same even if you had to order the night before and book a time slot to eat.
The day after we arrived I put the card on the door to have our room made up but this wasn’t done but the guy on reception made sure it was done the 2nd day. We didn’t fine the Housekeeping lady very pleasant on our corridor.
The hotel is in a good location for Gloucester and Gloucester Quay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Hello TammywBoston, It is great to hear feedback from one of our guests. We find ways for our guests to have an efficient and frictionless stay experience. It is saddening to know that we missed the mark this time, particularly with the service received from housekeeping and poor breakfast experience. I am sorry for the letdown. Not to worry, I have looped our team to make sure that each area of concern is addressed accordingly. Despite the inconvenience, we hope that you can give us another opportunity to host your stay again. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
530DREW wrote a review Aug 2020
Thirsk, United Kingdom99 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Quedgeley firstly the staff are excellent and friendly and it's a great location, now the not so good, our room wasn't particular and felt that it had only been given a glance over with a Hoover, corners of the bathroom had definitely been missed, however it wasn't a disaster so an observation.
Our bed wasn't comfortable and pillows were like rock but then that's down to personal preference, one of the things that really annoy me is I book a room for 3 you get 2 glasses, 2 cups, 4 teabag etc, and spend half an hour trying to track someone down to get another glass and cup, drives me and and not just this hotel.
Breakfast was an insult, at a high capacity hotel staff are obviously furloughed, so break was a ill day loosely bacon sandwich, which was 1 rather of cold bacon thrown in a unbutterred floury bap, unthought out and uninspiring, there are multiple ways to get around this, sensibly maybe it's time to look at them, pubs and restaurants are open there is no need to use a substandard product as an excuse.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Hello 530DREW, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry to learn that the in-room sleep amenities and your breakfast experience fell below expectations. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I am certain that the steps that will be taken will improve your next visits with us. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from waperth
Wiltshire178 contributions91 helpful votes
I'm afraid I don't know the answer, but if you were to ring the Hotel I'm sure they would have a answer for you/. Good luck & enjoy your stay.
Answer from ThefordsBillingham
Billingham, United Kingdom192 contributions85 helpful votes
Yes. Usually 18 years old
Jay O asked a question Oct 2021
Can I bring in my own mini fridge
Answer from waperth
Wiltshire178 contributions91 helpful votes
Cant see why not , if it is very small .
Ed H asked a question Aug 2021
9 contributions4 helpful votes
What time does the included breakfast start?
Answer from MyBreaks11
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom56 contributions66 helpful votes
I think it was about 7am. Could even have been as early as 6.30am. Slightly later at weekends.
Wenal wrote a tip Mar 2024
Flitwick, United Kingdom120 contributions88 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location great for P&R. Plentiful free parking."
Read full review
elizabeth w wrote a tip Feb 2024
Colchester, United Kingdom22 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the lift is important to you, ask if it is working prior to booking"
Read full review
Robert C wrote a tip Jan 2024
Quedgeley, United Kingdom187 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just be nice "
Read full review
Island_Andrew wrote a tip Sept 2023
Ryde, United Kingdom52 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room facing the car park, there is some traffic noise if facing the main road."
Read full review
Pauline J wrote a tip Jun 2023
16 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a lift to all floor...rooms very similar as it is a corporate hotel.."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Quedgeley area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express gloucester south hotel gloucester, holiday inn gloucester, gloucester holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsGloucesterQuedgeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS GLOUCESTER - SOUTH, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Quedgeley)

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dixie Dot Crafts Ltd (0.6 miles), Hardwicke Court (0.5 miles), and Quedgeley Ponds (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rose Tree Farm - Farmhouse Inns, Barn Owl, and The Bumble Bee.
Is Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Quedgeley.
Does Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackfriars (3.7 miles), Llanthony Secunda Priory (3.3 miles), and Eastgate Viewing Chamber (3.7 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Quedgeley HotelsQuedgeley Hotel DealsHotels near Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire