We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 709: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spur of the moment booking through Lastminute.com (check with the hotel first, would've been cheaper to book direct) Had Dinner B&B, room was comfy, clean and very quiet which was ideal. We were on 4th floor and with no lift was OK for us but not ideal for older guests. Hotel isn't a modern building and is as you'd expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cooma78
Shropshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had no idea there is no lift in the hotel and we were given a room on the fourth floor. Since one of our guests has walking difficulties the receptionist was kind enough to give us a disabled room on the first floor. We did encounter problems with this room. The shower was not clean and the wash basin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angbar
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel looked very smart on line and boasted a recent refurb. Our room was very dated and tired, mouldy curtains, condensation marks on walls, v dirty windows etc. Manager said room is due a refurb but Mercure should not be using this room (332) until this is done. Evening meal in restaurant was great - good food, generous portions and...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M8818CMamandab
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really lovely hotel and very nice people, food and the wild life walking around the grounds. The only downside for me was no lift and we were on the 3rd floor. We would stay again if we could have a room on the ground floor or 1st.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolei49
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last night on a secret escapes deal. Dinner bed and breakfast. Food was excellent. Rooms tired but being upgraded this year. Breakfast cooked to order rather than a buffet. Setting fabulous and check out at noon. Well recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaki F
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Bowden Hall last week for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to a very spacious bedroom on the 4th floor (which was most appreciated) with lovely tranquil views over the gardens. The staff and service were all excellent. Extremely helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the food which was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dorothy S Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We were delighted that to hear that you had a very enjoyable and relaxing time during your 4 night break to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us last week. As you mention we are ideally situated...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We have stayed in many Novotels over the years with the Accor Group and were expecting a bit more of a modern hotel with Novotelish style and gadgets. Mercure must be different as it was nothing like the Novotels we've stayed in! The reception was smart, quirky and boutique style which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyGlutenFreeTravels
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bron B Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Bowden Hall We were delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable break with us recently and that you are considering returning to our hotel. As you discovered, we offer porterage upon check in and also upon check out should guests require assistance...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mercure Bowden Hall is a 4 stars guest accommodation. establishment. However, the condition of their standard room is not up to this level. There was a smell of disinfectant in the bathroom (as in a hospital), the lino flooring appeared old and dirty and overall the bathroom was very tired. The towels were rough and the pillows’ choice was limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PC65
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PC65 Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Bowden Hall. We were sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction during your time with us. We have reported any shortcomings within the housekeeping department to the relevant manager and this will be actioned by re-training of our housekeeping staff. With regards to your bedroom request, as...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived and checked in. We were given a room on the top floor which was a bit of a struggle with the bags. The first room had pubic hair in the bath.. we were then moved to another room nearer to the ground floor and told that the hotel was nearly empty, which made us wonder why they put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theresa H Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Bowden Hall. We were most sorry to learn that not everything was to your satisfaction during your time with us. Cleanliness is very important to us and as you will see from previous reviews we usually maintain a high standard in all areas of our hotel. In...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed 2 nights Sat and Sunday on a special deal £139 for 2 nights with full breakfast plus an evening meal to the value of £44, we had a twin room beds very comfy and nice pillows and duvet, the bathroom could have done with a makeover but it was very clean and no smells !!,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndawlly45
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lyndawlly45 Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor for our hotel. We were delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction during your recent 2 night break with us and that you had a comfortable stay. Our team pride themselves on providing service of a high standard and we are immensely proud...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,448 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
602 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,553 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £64 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
23 days ago
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 months ago
3 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 227”
 of 5 bubbles Angbar, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 332 until it has been refurbished!”
 of 5 bubbles M8818CMamandab, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift”
 of 5 bubbles dorothys910, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are disabled, there is no lift so do tell them. There is a stair lift up to the first level. We had a room overlooking the lake 328.”
 of 5 bubbles MyGlutenFreeTravels, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms are on 3rd and 4th floor and there is no lift.”
  • Toilet
  • Bathroom floor
  • Bathroom floor
  • A not so clean cup
 of 5 bubbles PC65, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5