Loch Ness Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Loch Ness Inn

The famed Highland Cow (aka Harry Coo)
Traveller (117)
Dining (25)
Double Room
Room & Suite (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Loch Ness Inn, conveniently located between Drumnadrochit and Urquhart Castle in the village of Lewiston and only 15 miles from Inverness, is set in the heart of the local community where you will meet hikers, tourists and locals in friendly comfortable surroundings
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Room features
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
497Reviews1Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 280
  • 140
  • 52
  • 12
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
EllieEllie13 wrote a review Oct 2020
Surrey, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the bunk room last night, made for 5 people. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival as the rooms looked a bit dated in the pictures but we were in what felt like a brand new building/room so it was nice as felt new and clean.

It really is just a room, no kettle or TV or anything slightly extra, it really is beds (full bedding), towels and a bathroom but that is made clear at booking so not a complaint but just to make it clear.

Plenty of plug sockets which have built in USB ports which is a lovely touch, reading light at each individual bed, slightly firmer mattresses than we’d usually have but that’s just a preference. Loads of onsite parking right outside the rooms and a nice courtyard area which I imagine in the summer is lovely to have a drink in. Friendly staff at checkin and checkout.

We were 5 adults in the room and maybe the top bunk is usually for children but we wouldn’t recommend anyone bigger than a teenager stay in the top bunk as we had a very slim adult in the top bunk and it was still a bit questionable.

We ate in the main restaurant which I have left a separate review for but MAKE sure you book it and eat there, it was fantastic food.

Overall we would stay again if passing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay in our newly opened Bunk Inn. We are glad that you found the overall experience a happy one and once current restrictions allow we shall open the kitchen area for use by guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diego M wrote a review 16 Jun
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The experience at Loch Ness Inn was really good.
We chose a room to share and was great to discover that it consisted in two separate rooms (small but very well equipped) with a shared small entrance and a complete bathroom (shower). Decoration very modern and featuring a very good quality.
Breakfast was included and for that a table was dedicated to us, displaying our room number every morning.We considered that an added value. Among the wide variety of breakfasts it was easy to perceive the quality of the products they were made of.
Good location, very close to Urquart castle and Loch Ness.

We only had an issue when we booked a table for dinner and were supposed to be seated at 20:45. Eventually our sitting time was extended to 20:55 and as the kitchen closes at 21:00 they urged us to make our orders very quickly. We explained that since we are Spaniards, a reasonable amount of time should be allowed to translate properly in order to fully understand the menu. Finally the situation was efficiently sorted out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review regarding your recent stay with us. The tables in the restaurant can sometimes go over their usual allotted time, so i'd like to apologise if you were rushed to order. I'm glad this was remedied and you were able to enjoy the rest of your evening!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eccopro wrote a review Jul 2021
Shanklin, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
That was an amazing stay. Very convenient location to explore Loch Ness, Ben Nevis, Plodda Falls etc. Super helpful staff, clean rooms. Special thanks to the restaurant staff, those girls do such a brilliant work. Having dinner there's no need to look out for them, they just appear in front of you at that very moment you think of something extra to order, they literally read your mind. We do travel a lot, but never seen such a highest level of professionalism and hospitality.
Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 6 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review of your time at the Loch Ness Inn. I have passed your compliments onto our team and they are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Inn at some point in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian S S wrote a review Sept 2020
Solihull, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed two nights at this hotel. Given its location we expected a decent view from our room. Wrong, our small room overlooked the bin storage area! (Room 5). We requested to change and staff (William) changed it without any problem. We ended up in a family room so a bit more space. The room was very basic (old fashioned) but clean apart from the nets & curtains that were in need of some attention. There were no little luxuries and we even needed to ask for a tea tray and kettle.

We were asked to ‘service’ the room ourselves although we could have clean towels if requested.

The plus for this Inn is that the chef is very good and all the meals we had there were of a very high standard.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Many thanks for taking time to post a review following your recent stay with us at the Loch Ness Inn. I have passed your comments onto the team, we always appreciate any feedback so we can continue to improve the service provided to all of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review Aug 2021
Rainhill, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid £340 for 2 nights in room 12 and we felt pretty ripped off to be honest. The room was basic in the extreme with poor mattresses and a generally tired feel. The bathroom was particularly poor and in desperate need of modernisation. The room also had a persistent 'smell' that we couldn't get rid of and the sound proofing from the room above was bizarrely non existent.
What saved the trip was the amazing location, wonderful staff and brilliant restaurant.
Paying that kind of money, you have a right to expect more; maybe room 12 is part of their ongoing upgrade plans? I hope so because the staff and restaurant deserve more than that tired, smelly, antiquitated room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid room 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Thank you for your review on the staff and food, it is great to be recognised for the positive aspects of the business. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with room 12, while I can sympathise with the room not being brand new, Drumnadrochit is a very popular location and you have booked a room in the height of the season. We feel our room prices are competitive and fair. You will be glad to hear that we are due to undertake a refurbishment of the rooms over the course of the winter.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Making Memories with Family wrote a review Jul 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent find! What I love:
1) Availability of vegan options in the restaurant.
2) Cleanliness of bunk Family 5 room 10/10 but set your expectations - room is basic (beds and tiny bedside tables), without coffee making facilities and without tv.
3) Location 10/10 if you have a car for perfect views, serene surroundings, nearby Scotmid Coop; it's 20 mins from City Centre, 15 mins from Loch Ness.

Perhaps, additional storage/tables in the room will be nice :)

Overall, loved this place and will be back if we are in Inverness!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Bunk rooms do not come with breakfast but building is quite new and very clean, if you want...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 6 Aug 2021
Many thanks for taking time to post a review following your recent stay with us at the Loch Ness Bunkhouse. I have passed your comments onto the team, we always appreciate any feedback so we can continue to improve the service provided to all of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lowri E wrote a review Sept 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited on Saturday 29th August and was abruptly greeted by a very rude male member of staff who barked at us for not booking in advance. We appreciated that booking was essential during covid and explained that we’d only come in for a drink. We were told in no uncertain terms that this was not an option, so swiftly left and took our custom elsewhere. If you value being treated as a customer, I’d suggest doing the same!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 5 Sept 2020
I am sorry to hear you feel you were "barked" at by a member of our staff. After walking past the two signs; one reading "apologies we are fully booked this evening, sorry for any inconvenience" and one reading "no mask, no service" you entered our premises without a mask at the height of service just to "chance your luck" and see if you could come in for a drink. You were told politely and firmly told that we are fully booked and not taking any walk-ins. Apologies that we were not willing to cram customers in to our small bar - putting you, other customers and our staff at risk. We are in the middle of a global pandemic, to avoid disappointment at the Loch Ness Inn or any other pub/restaurant/bar - pickup the phone to enquire about their policies if before making the trip.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a lovely break at the inn. The rooms are spacious and the staff are great. We were able to preorder an early 8am breakfast before getting picked up for a guided tour. It’s also conveniently located between the castle and the village shops so you can easily walk to both if you aren’t driving.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Many thanks for taking time to post a review following your recent stay with us at the Loch Ness Inn. I have passed your comments onto the team and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Les H wrote a review Jun 2022
Rochester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family of 5 with these guys for 4 nights in the Bunkhouse, we ate twice in the restaurant and had breakfast twice too.
The rooms were immaculate and perfect for our needs. The shared kitchen area was an amazing twin commercial kitchen for those wishing to explore the self catering element. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the service great. The staff are friendly and helpful, even printing off little guides with things to do.
I would highly recommend this place. Only small issue was the noise from the rooms on the Bunkhouse 1st floor, but this is such a small issue in an otherwise perfect stay. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review regarding your recent visit with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future! I have passed your comments on to the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suza1 wrote a review Aug 2020
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a one night stay for £145. Found our room sparse with all the niceties which were pictured on the website removed. Had to ask for tea/coffee making facilities to be brought to our room despite them being advertised in the price . To top it all we were provided with a linen bag and asked to strip our bed at the end of our stay !! Staff seemed untrained in Covid rules and we were asked to wear our face mask in breakfast but not during evening meal . I understand that due to the current Covid situation, regulations need to change , however this should be reflected in the price !!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Murray Manson, General Manager at Loch Ness Inn
Responded 31 Aug 2020
The tea trays are not left in the room because a small minority of guests actually use them. If we were to leave them in the rooms and they are not used we would still have to completely disinfect the whole tray (including cups, teaspoons, kettle) and bin any unused sugars, tea bags, coffee and biscuits which goes without saying would be a complete waste. Your tea tray was brought to you for no additional charge, I'm sorry you had to call reception to receive it. If you did not wear a mask to dinner you must of walked past two signs in the hotel and entrance to the restaurant that reads "no mask no service." We unfortunately struggle to get to every guest before they sit themselves down. I can assure you that staff are well trained in Covid measures as highlighted in many other recent Tripadvisor reviews. Yes, begrudgingly we do ASK guests to strip their bed. We do this to limit our housekeepers exposure to potentially infected pieces of dirty laundry - a small ask I think for the safety and well being of you and our staff. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our property value for money. However, the price you paid is in fact reflective of our new Covid regulations and is down £20 on the previous year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from stephen h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom275 contributions74 helpful votes
I'm sorry, this is trip advisor not the hotels website, you need to contact the hotel to make a reservation.
Emma M wrote a tip Jul 2023
Woodside, California118 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ahead - it gets busy! Go for rooms 3 and 4 if you want parents in one room and older kids in another."
Read full review
Tracy G wrote a tip May 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bar area if you have dogs "
Read full review
son1212 wrote a tip Nov 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom72 contributions71 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the local made larger."
Read full review
Martin G wrote a tip Nov 2022
Glenmoriston, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the restaurant in advance"
Read full review
alan o wrote a tip Oct 2022
Loughton, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big car park , very good choice 👍"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lewiston area.
PRICE RANGE
£145 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
loch ness hotel lewiston
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLoch Ness RegionLewiston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOCH NESS INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Loch Ness Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Loch Ness Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Loch Ness Centre (0.7 miles), Village Green (0.6 miles), and Great Glen Distillery (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Loch Ness Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Loch Ness Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Loch Ness Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Loch Ness Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Eighty2, The Loch Ness Inn Restaurant, and Fiddler's Highland Restaurant.
Is Loch Ness Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Lewiston.
Are there any historical sites close to Loch Ness Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Urquhart Castle (1.3 miles), Boleskine House (4.2 miles), and St Ninians Church (4.9 miles).
Is Loch Ness Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.