We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Away with the Fairies is such a gem of a hostel. Some of South Africa's most beautiful hikes are right on your doorstep here. They have a stunning view point that overlooks endless stretches of grade 1 indigenous forest. Sitting there one evening, we actually saw a flock of about 20 cape parrots flying over head. This was the #1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofiaroxanne C
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been to Away with the Fairies many times and each time its better than the last time. You always guaranteed to meet some amazing people, have a lot to drink and eat and just an all around epic experience. The showers and communal areas are always clean and tidy. There are awesome braai's with benches to use or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jethropenny
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Jethro, Thank you very much for the super awesome review. These are the kind of reviews that we take pride in and feel very complimented by. We enjoyed having you and your mates over for the weekend and can not wait for your return during the Hogsback Winter Celebrations and Fairy Festival in July. The credit of our...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I camped at AWTF with some mates for my birthday weekend and once again they did not disappoint! The atmosphere is always amazing and staff go the extra mile to make sure every stay is incredible! Their pizza's are to die for and the fun vibe at the fireplace and bar was just what we needed on our chilly weekend!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debranette
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, I trust you are well. Thank you so much for your very generous review. Also our apologies for not being able to spend as such time with you on your birthday as we would have liked. We strive very hard to make constant improvement at Away with the Fairies. Our social media game is being taken up a...

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I decided to make a stop in Hogsback on our road trip. We had heard many amazing things about Away with the Fairies, and couldn't wait to see what it was all about. Away with the Fairies has a welcoming staff and atmosphere. We stayed in Frodo's Rest (a private room) our first night, and we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Urmanda
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Urmanda, I trust you are well. Many thanks for your excellent review, it is much appreciated. We are thrilled you had such a great stay with us and hope you will return to us in future. You will be warmly welcomed. And yes, the desserts at Happy Hogs are indeed fantastic. Thanks again and kind regards Ben

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is set in Hogsback which in itself is already a magical place, but then the whole hostel just has an ethereal feeling to it, you feel like you are in a completely different world and you are surrounded by beautiful landscapes & quaint lodging

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique J
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Dominique. Many thanks for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. And a second thanks for leaving us such a great one. We hope to see you return to enjoy another stay with us in Hogsback. Kind regards Ben

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Me and two friends were supposed to stay in Away with the fairies for a night, but the second we arrived we knew we didn't want to leave any time soon. So we extended our stay for another two days, which was a great decision. First of all the staff were so helpful and pleasant! The fully equipped bar offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuval B
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Yuval and CO. Thank you so very much for the amazing review, the pleasure lies with us in being able to have hosted your group for your stay in Hogsback. You bunch really did make the most of your stay here and we are glad you did. Please regard yourself as forever welcome at Away with the Fairies....

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Awesome place, awesome people... Good vibes all round! Lots to do......Forest by day, bonfire by night! Staff are friendly and very helpful. Not one bad thing to say about this magical place. Already planning my next tripp ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanmtbiker
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

hello Jonathan. Many thanks for the awesome review, we are thrilled to be able to host you during your frequent stays in Hogsback. We always look forward to your visits. Always welcome. Kind regards Ben

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The staff was very unfriendly and always stoned. We were called high-maintenance because they had forgotten to put towels in our lodge and we dared to ask them for some. However, the meals are good, the view Point is amazing and some lodges offer real privacy if you don't mind the cute monkeys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank didi638
Ben S, General Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Didi, I trust you are well. Many thanks for taking the time to review the Fairies on TripAdvisor. And a second thanks for still rewarding us a good review despite your negative experience with our staff. We are aware that a few of our staff members smoke, but I have never witnessed incompetence due to this myself. However,...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Had a great stay at Fairies. Awesome vibes and interesting people were abundant. Its always great when you can step out of the forest and into a pub for a cold one :) will definitely see them again on our next tour to Hogsback.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Peter. Reviews like yours are what make our days more bearable and give us motivation to keep up the standards and improve on them for our future guests. Thank you very much for your kind words. Please do come past on your next tour in Hogsback, always welcome. Kind regards Ben

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The outside bath was the only great thing about this spot. our room was very dark and the beds were cheap and uncomfortable. It's ok but I wouldn't go back - there are plenty of better spots in hogs back. Not terrible but below average

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 911username
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Some of the issues you have raised are legit and are definitely something we need to work on, like we are. However, it would have been lovely to have been made aware of this before your departure. One couple did this season and they received and email...

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (67)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
2.0 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
116 reviews
5.5 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Hogsback
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
1.3 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#5 of 6 in Hogsback
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Away with the Fairies is a backpacker hostel with one of the best views in the country from our garden. We have all sorts of accommodation ranging from En-suites to Self Catering cottage, doubles, twins, dorms and camping. The hiking trails through Auckland Nature reserve start and finish in our back garden. On the hikes you can see ancient forests and endless waterfalls. Our atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, with nature and views what we are all about. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Address: Bag End, Ambleside Close, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Price Range: £17 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the incredible day hike past the historic big tree and on to the awe-inspiring Madonna & Child waterfall from the property is a MUST!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Debranette, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dragons Lair offers privacy and is cute.”
 of 5 bubbles didi638, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I camped this time Spot on!.”
 of 5 bubbles Furbrain2015, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“haven't seen a bad one...”
 of 5 bubbles Astridt_exp, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“view dorm is great”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5