We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dean Ale & Cider House

Expedia.comUS$117*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dean Ale & Cider House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of The Dean Ale & Cider House
 Click to rate
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'd planned a trip to West Dean Garden but faffed around before leaving so it was lunchtime before we arrived. With a five year-old in tow we needed to eat before the garden, so came upon this place half a mile down the road. Not requiring the full Sunday lunch on offer, we chose smoked mackerel and seared lamb rump...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David_and_Kitty
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my friends used to go to the dean at least once a week for a catchup and food, but since it's been under new ownership we've stopped going. Very unwelcoming and awkward atmosphere now. Would always have a nice welcome and a food chat with the previous manager and staff, the new owners are pretty rude and ignore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L_Truelove88
Management response:

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review us however I do not agree with your views especially if you have not explained fully what happened. To be perfectly honest I think the main problem was I requested ID before I served you drinks. I appreciate you may come regularly but this was the first time I had served...

Selsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

- The food came up to the same excellent standard. Limited menu, BUT, better to do a few things well, - which the Chef & brigade did - VERY well. Superbly presented, cooked to 5* standards. My husband is a Chef of over 40 years experience (head chef 6 times) - & even he was impressed - which is not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank queenofdragons90
Management response:

Dear Kurt and Vicki, Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to having you back. Kind Regards, Milli Operations Manager

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This Inn has always struggled! Young couple been running it for just 2+ months are doing remarkably well. The bathroom in our room needed a little maintenance but the room was extremely comfortable. Lunch & Supper have excellent choice & extremely well presented. A delicious cooked breakfast is restricted with no cereal, fruit & yoghurt bar. Surrounded by beautiful scenery...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terrywebber
Management response:

Dear Terry, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we will be opening again on Sunday evenings in the summer. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind Regards, Milli Operations Manager

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This pub is in a great location, just on the A286 between Chichester and Midhurst. Perfect spot of your attending a wedding at Farbridge less than 5 minutes down the road. The rooms are situated in the courtyard building at the back of the pub. I stayed in number 6, which was quirky with private steps leading up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RPovall
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review. we are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again soon :) Kind Regards Milli

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I popped in for a snack prior to a dog walk yesterday and wow, we weren't expecting this. We've been before so we we're just expecting sandwiches/ baked potato etc. The Dean has been updated in every way. The decor fresh, the staff friendly and attentive and the food was fab. We only had starters and my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vanessa C
Management response:

Dear Vanessa, Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, The Dean Inn

Plymouth
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Really loved our stay. We normally stay in a travel lodge or something similar but this time we wanted something different. The words ALE & CIDER caught our eyes and we were not disappointed. Had an eve meal and it was fantastic. The Wasabi mayonnaise was amazing and a must try. Staff were friendly, helpful and very nice. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
Management response:

Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the Wasabi mayonnaise! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, The Dean Inn

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a wedding nearby, with my husband and children . We were greeted with a very friendly welcome, our rooms were lovely and pleasant and ready a few hours early which was a bonus. We had lunch in the restaurant which was absolutely fabulous and very well priced. The staff couldn't do enough for us during our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and for such a lovely occasion. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, The Dean Inn

london
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The bar is traditional, with a fire and comfy sofas. The decoration is in keeping with the age of the pub with a modern feel. The restaurant is a high ceiling room and the food menu is short and whatever you choose is beautifully presented and well executed (I had mackerel which came with a mini loaf and salad). We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonTubbs
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, The Dean Inn

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Walked into the The Dean, West Dean tonight and had the warmest welcome ever from a Member of Staff, roaring fire, great atmosphere as the Lady showed us to our Table. The Best food ever, great Chefs, the land lady was so welcoming. The Fox goes Free and The White Horse, Chilgrove hasn't got anything on this place. I'm coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher L
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, The Dean Inn

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dean
6.6 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
812 reviews
6.1 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
493 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,460 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The beautifully renovated converted barn at the rear of The Dean Inn has six stylish and luxury en-suite bedrooms, which are perfect for attending a local event, special break or a business stay. All the rooms have flat screen TV's, free wireless internet access and coffee and tea making facilities. Every overnight stay includes a delicious breakfast served in the conservatory. In the warmer months guests can enjoy breakfast alfresco on our decked seating area. Whether guests are eating in our fine dining restaurant or the more intimate space of the conservatory, which has double doors opening out onto the decked seating area for alfresco dining in the warmer months, the dining experience at The Dean Inn is something special. We source the finest, freshest local produce and smoke our own meat, fish and cheese to create superb uncomplicated food that changes with the seasons ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dean Ale & Cider House

Address: West Dean, Chichester PO18 0QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > West Dean
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dean Ale & Cider House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dean Ale & Cider House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dean Ale & Cider House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Dean Ale & Cider House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I didn't realise it was a hotel.”
David_and_Kitty, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at the Hotel”
G986OYianh, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check room location as some are located outside the main building and up some stairs.”
Freebob14, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay - just ate”
SuzonB64, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 which was very quiet. Over the other rooms (access by a fire escape-type stairs, no lift or ramp) you do not get room-above noise”
860martinf, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$117* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$117
Orbitz.comUS$117
TravelocityUS$117
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates