Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 B&B in Chedgrave
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Norwich Road, Chedgrave NR14 6HB England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Norwich Airport
45Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hilary B wrote a review Feb 2011
Cambridge, United Kingdom335 contributions158 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a lovely stay. Everything was clean and efficient. Great thought has been given to everything to ensure a comfortable stay. My bed was really comfortable and i slept very well indeed.I was impressed to have a magnifying make-up mirror in the room as I had forgotten mine. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. I was very impressed to be given the option of a vegetarian cooked breakfast and really enjoyed it. The owners work hard to maintain a spotless environment with freshly painted decor and everything kept well. There are lots of leaflets about the local village and environs and information about everything in the area including nearby pubs and shops. The B and B is well situated and the sign post outside helps you find it in the dark. There is a private car park at the back of the property down a little lane. I was very grateful indeed to be helped with my luggage when I dropped it off before parking and on leaving which was very helpful and thoughtful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Larnavout wrote a review Oct 2016
London, United Kingdom16 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very high quality establishment.The bedroom was well decorated,very clean and well presented. Lovely crisp bed linen. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was excellent. Flexibility with times. Off street parking. Hosts very knowledgeable on the area and their recommendations were great. Thank you both for a very enjoyable, relaxing stay. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DiandLi wrote a review Apr 2010
Stamford, Lincs, UK37 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We used this b&b for 3 nights as a base for visiting mediaeval churches in the area. At the price we didn't expect too much but we found a comfortable, pleasant, well-appointed room. Ours was the first floor double room decorated in Victorian (?) blues and traditional furnishings. Despite overlooking a road, we slept very well each night and there is barely any traffic noise. The b&b is in easy walking distance for several restaurants and pubs, but the Kings Head 50 metres across the road serves astoundingly good food, a wonderful welcome and great beer, completely belying its first impressions as just another local pub. Having eaten dinner there you can then look forward to June's superb breakfast at Chedgrave House the next day! The ingredients are all local and superbly cooked - one of the best we've eaten in many years of using b&bs. Pleasant hosts, a great breakfast, comfortable bed in a quiet room add to a very hassle-free stay, albeit without frills, at a great value price. We have registered this property on TripAdvisor ourselves and given our first ever review as our personal vote of thanks and recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wee C wrote a review Jan 2015
Aberdeen, United Kingdom61 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Expensive for facilities, no reduction for not providing breakfast and hosts not particularly hospitable. Previous attempt to stay in August failed due to requirement of minimum of 2 nights - stayed In Beccles instead.
OK this time was very close to Christmas (1 night 27th Dec) and miscommunication on probable arrival time may have resulted in unfriendly welcome.
Limited b&b in area probably results in all previous favourable reviews.
Would see if somewhere like Sisland Barns had vacancies or drive to Beccles in future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from June P, Owner at Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 7 Jan 2015
We were very disappointed to read these guests felt their one night stay was expensive, especially as they had originally booked for two nights then cancelled one at the last minute. We did not charge them for the second night or charge a cancellation fee. Many small B&Bs like ours would close over the Christmas period and many larger hotels would double their normal price. We did neither, as we often provide a much needed overflow facility for nearby families at this time. This is the one period we do not provide breakfast as it encroaches on our family time and this was clearly explained to the guests at the time of booking, giving them the opportunity to book elsewhere. Correspondence stated that arrival time would be noon. As a special favour, we agreed to this even though our normal check in time is 4.30 onwards. Knowing hold ups can occur, it was requested that they telephoned with an ETA on route from London. This was not done leaving us waiting and having to cancel our planned outing while we tried to contact them. A quick curtesy call would have been thoughtful. We are sorry that the disappointment of our cancelled afternoon plans showed, especially when we discovered they had arrived in the area around midday. During the summer months and bank holidays, we do require a minimum two night stay at weekends. This has always been our policy for many years and will continue.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GinnySeers wrote a review Jul 2014
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The award winning breakfast- we were advised that breakfast on the first day would be served at 8.30am only, and had to literally beg for it to be served later at 9am - eventually June agreed, on the condition we had friut, cereal and yogurt only, nothing cooked. The next day our friend wanted smoked salmon & scrambled eggs but was told that she would have had to order it the night before and therefore couldn't have it.

I was staying in the over- flow room across the road which had the most hard and uncomfortable mattress... For the second night I was given a single mattress topper to put over the double bed which didn't fit at all but helped, but it was still not comfortable. The people who owned that house however were charming.
Finally we ended up missing our train back to London as we
were only advised last minute that the B&B takes cash only, and we were not allowed to make bank transfers later that day despite having paid deposits. Overall very inflexible & uncomfortable. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from June P, Owner at Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 8 Aug 2014
We were so sorry to read this posting. We are only a small village B&B taking 6 guests. To accommodate the two groups of guests attending a local wedding, my friend opposite offered her spare bedroom so that all the guests could be together. We were sorry that you found this bed uncomfortable, and we were glad that the mattress topper we supplied helped. In view of the larger than normal number for breakfast, this was offered in two sittings, one earlier, and one later. As normal practice, to ensure fresh ingredients, breakfast orders were taken the night before. Several guests choose traditional cooked breakfasts and some choose fresh fruit and yoghurt. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was offered to the guest you mentioned for the following morning, but she so enjoyed the traditional cooked breakfast that she decided to have that again the next day. With regards to payment, our website clearly states we can only take cash or cheque. This is also mentioned at the time of booking when a deposit is paid. On line credit transfers are fine too. As with all hotels, we expect accounts to be settled on departure. The other weekend guests paid either cash, or did online transfers at breakfast using our in house wifi.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Couple-Tadworth wrote a review Apr 2019
Tadworth, United Kingdom209 contributions119 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is obvious that Alan and June have put a lot of thought into providing things which guests may need. Everything is very comfortable and convenient. Practical shower, good TV, good wifi, biscuits and coffee supplies provided daily, comfortable bed, well-cooked breakfast. Alan and June were very pleasant and helpful and looked up bus times and gave other local advice. The only downside to this place is the bumpy road from the car park at the back to the front door: take care in the dark. We are sad to know that Alan and June may be selling this place but we hope somebody else will take over and run it just as well. We would certainly investigate if we needed a b&b in this area again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clogs-in-UK wrote a review Feb 2018
Ely, United Kingdom516 contributions169 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Our room was immaculate and comfortable with all the facilities and goodies you'd expect in a four star B&B. Located almost in the middle of a lovely village, on a reasonably busy road. Traffic noise in our room, at the front of the house, was negligeable however.
It was frosty outside during our stay but the room temperature was comfortable throughout our stay. Radiator was regulated perfectly. Warm during the day but slghtly cooler during the night.
Breakfast was perfect and we had an opportunity to get to know our hosts a bit better. We travel a lot and the whole breakfast experience in Chedgrave B&B was one of the best we've had in a long time.
All in all: highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IAIN H wrote a review Sept 2017
Maldon, United Kingdom19 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A real pleasure to spend three nights in a spotless room in such a lovely Victorian house. Our room was at the top of the house with lots of natural light. Nicely furnished with space to move about in and plenty of storage for clothes. Good en-suite facilities.

Generous breakfasts with friendly attention from June and Alan. Cereals galore, fruit juice, excellent Full English (or alternatives), toast with home made jam or marmalade and tea or coffee. No need for any lunch for four days!

The house is an ideal base for walking around the Broads and exploring Chedgrave and nearby Lodden. The White Horse in Chedgrave and The Swan in Lodden, both highly recommended for evening meals.

Thank you for a most relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee F wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable bed lovely room , excellent breakfast , the village is lovely with everything you need and Alan and June are the perfect hosts they are very knowledgeable about Norfolk will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms are nice we stayed on the top floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
739Malcolm49 wrote a review Aug 2017
Sydney, Australia386 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Chedgrave house would be one of the best Bed & Breakfast we both have ever stayed in service was excellent and their beautiful Old Victorian House was so very comfortable you felt right at home as soon as we walk in the front door
The English breakfast was the best - great fresh fruit best grape fruit I have tasted in a long time and their homemade Jam & Marmalade (wish I had taken a few jars home with me)
June & Alan were so very nice & helpful told us all the best pubs and place to go and see around Norfolk
Our Room was excellent bed was so very comfortable and great new bathroom
two nice Pubs close and handy
off street Parking around the back of house was excellent
If we even come back to Norfolk we will stay again
Carol & Malcolm from Sydney Australia
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All the rooms were great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Lee F wrote a tip Aug 2017
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are nice we stayed on the top floor"
Read full review
739Malcolm49 wrote a tip Aug 2017
Sydney, Australia386 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms were great"
Read full review
Jill D wrote a tip Sept 2015
Ipswich, United Kingdom17 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front bedroom lovely"
Read full review
Carole H wrote a tip Sept 2015
London, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a twin room which was roadside however noise was not a problem."
Read full review
10hunt wrote a tip Aug 2015
Warwick, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"only saw our room which was on the road but not noisy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chedgrave area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkChedgrave
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHEDGRAVE HOUSE BED & BREAKFAST - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include The White Horse Chedgrave (0.01 miles), Kings Head (0.2 miles), and Shaft Of Wit Chedgrave Comedy Club (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Horse, The Swan, and The Angel Inn Loddon.
Is Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Chedgrave.
Are pets allowed at Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Chedgrave House Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hardley Windmill (1.8 miles).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire