We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel The Grand Raj

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel The Grand Raj
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We did not stay in the hotel but had lunch in their banquet hall. The food was good - specially the paneer makhani and the methi aloo. The service was a bit slow, but didnot mind it. Assume the restaurant will also serve good food. The toilets in the lobby needed constant cleaning as they were stinky.

Helpful?
Thank Vasant S
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We were on the way to Manali from Jammu had a stopover at Kangra and stayed here for a night. Centrally located, easily accessible near the bus stand. It bears an chic ambiance and is well maintained. Rooms were decent, food was very expensive and even the hotel tariff was quite high. Considering Kangra is not a big place the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Imransadath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my family stay hotel grand raj in 26/08/16,my concern is this why did you close totally ota for booking same day because my brother stay last time in your hotel than me and my family plan is stay your hotel and my booking is not sure because my plan is I'm booked the hotel same day but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Surjeet L
Hamirpur, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Reception needs overhauling,room service chaps aren't very Appeasing,few of them will wait till eternity for tips.dingy rooms of Executive ones,AC needs filter cleaning and smells horrible,Front of the hotel is water lodged and isn't a concern for the Hotel staff,keep jumping in water. The Restraunt has AC targeting your head and you need to find the comfy places.

Helpful?
Thank colranaut
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings From Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! It is a matter of great concern and distress for us that you have had such an unhappy experience, my sincere apologies for the same. May I please request you for an opportunity to speak to you in person, so that i may personally apologies to you and ensure that we... More 

Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Booked this for 3 days initially, but looking at the state of the hotel, just stayed here for the first day and cancelled for the remaining couple of days. The rooms are average at max, and the hotel except the reception area is below average in totality. They are completely money minded people, charged me half day rent for an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nitin_v85
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent visit to Kangra. Firstly I want to apologies for inconvenient caused due to sizes of the room .All the executive room are corridor facing and medium in size . And we also mentioned in our Broucher and website the timing of Check in & Check... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016

the location of the property is quite good being on main road.. easily accessible.. rooms are big and clean.. food quality is OK !!! food quality can be improved and services need improvement.. lot of waiting time for breakfast.. service men are slow.. dinner was served quite late because they had function in there lawns.. so this needs improvement too..

Helpful?
Thank Gaurav4
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! Thank you for taking time to ​share​ your experience . Your valuable suggestions assist us in improving our services. I have noted your comment on improvement the quality of Services & food and the same has also been shared with the team.I am extremely sorry for inconvenience caused and would ensure... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Best location (Just opp. bus adda). Best hotel of Kangra. food is ok though bit expensive. Bigger rooms are better and cleaner. For lunch / Dinner u can hop to Dhaba just across the road. For Darshan to mata Kangra devi, also know as Brijeshwari devi or Nagarkot wali mata, go early morning (5.00. A.M.) is best time. Auto will... More 

Helpful?
Thank venkatveg
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! Thank you for taking time to ​share​ your excellent experience. Its great to learn that you had a nice time with us and ​​​make your visit memorable and satisfied with our hotel services.​ ​ Once again thank you for your sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you... More 

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Clean spacious rooms with a stunning view from the foothill of McLeod ganj. The food isn't the best and the beer is over priced but the hotel is a premium one so I would say still worth it. The top of McLeod Ganj is crowded and always blocked with traffic. I would suggest this place to stay given you have... More 

Helpful?
Thank VishBhat88
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings From Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! It was pleasure to see your positive review of your stay with us and for taking out time to share your experience. It is great to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and services of the hotel ​​ Your comments and suggestions will allow us to improve our standards and... More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Only the lobby is attractive, rooms are absolutely crap and will collide with travel agent to sell rooms and food at unbelievable rates and only when you reach you will know that you have been totally screwed. Food is at exorbitant rates and complimentary buffet is not even worth Rs 80/-( @ 375/-). very unhygienic, horrible rooms

Helpful?
Thank vindhyarshah
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest Greetings !!!! ​​ Thank you for ​your kind feedback . We personally apologize and regret to hear regards to your unsatisfactory visit. We do understand that you have faced some problems during your stay with us. However, we take your valuable feedback seriously and will improve upon our services​. ​​​ We will be offering upgraded facilities as per... More 

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016

hotel grand raj is very good hotel we have visited it this month only good entry area very well maintained hotel big parking space good embience co operative staff good interiors very well maintained restaurant and bar

Helpful?
Thank cablehouse2016
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review. We are delighted to read that your stay at Hotel The Grand Raj a memorable one. we are privileged to have you with us and looking forward to serve you even better in future. Thanks once again for your words of appreciation ,It energies us do better. Thanks... More 

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
8.6 mi away
Pink House Hotel & Spa
Pink House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
631 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
295 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 68 in Dharamsala
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#21 of 68 in Dharamsala
47 reviews
8.7 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#10 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 68 in Dharamsala
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a three star facility hotel situated in the heart of Kangra city. Recently Kings XI Punjab team stayed with us during the IPL matches in Dharamshala. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Grand Raj

Address: Dharamshala Road, Kangra District 176001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Price Range: £30 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Grand Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel The Grand Raj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Grand Raj Kangra, India - Himachal Pradesh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Grand Raj staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai (Bombay), India

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Grand Raj staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“inner side rooms which have there balcony open on lawn sides..”
 of 5 bubbles Gaurav4, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Take new wing , which has big rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles venkatveg, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Inner side rooms with balconies”
 of 5 bubbles TenishK, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“They do not honor what they say. If they are doing good business, they ll leave you at mercy so beaware”
 of 5 bubbles neera2014, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Standard or Executive Rooms...these are next to road side”
 of 5 bubbles Shatarchi, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay