We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel The Grand Raj

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangra
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Grand Raj
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Santorini, Greece
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Booked this for 3 days initially, but looking at the state of the hotel, just stayed here for the first day and cancelled for the remaining couple of days. The rooms are average at max, and the hotel except the reception area is below average in totality. They are completely money minded people, charged me half day rent for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nitin_v85
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent visit to Kangra. Firstly I want to apologies for inconvenient caused due to sizes of the room .All the executive room are corridor facing and medium in size . And we also mentioned in our Broucher and website the timing of Check in & Check...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 12 June 2016

the location of the property is quite good being on main road.. easily accessible.. rooms are big and clean.. food quality is OK !!! food quality can be improved and services need improvement.. lot of waiting time for breakfast.. service men are slow.. dinner was served quite late because they had function in there lawns.. so this needs improvement too..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav4
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! Thank you for taking time to ​share​ your experience . Your valuable suggestions assist us in improving our services. I have noted your comment on improvement the quality of Services & food and the same has also been shared with the team.I am extremely sorry for inconvenience caused and would ensure...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Best location (Just opp. bus adda). Best hotel of Kangra. food is ok though bit expensive. Bigger rooms are better and cleaner. For lunch / Dinner u can hop to Dhaba just across the road. For Darshan to mata Kangra devi, also know as Brijeshwari devi or Nagarkot wali mata, go early morning (5.00. A.M.) is best time. Auto will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank venkatveg
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! Thank you for taking time to ​share​ your excellent experience. Its great to learn that you had a nice time with us and ​​​make your visit memorable and satisfied with our hotel services.​ ​ Once again thank you for your sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Clean spacious rooms with a stunning view from the foothill of McLeod ganj. The food isn't the best and the beer is over priced but the hotel is a premium one so I would say still worth it. The top of McLeod Ganj is crowded and always blocked with traffic. I would suggest this place to stay given you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VishBhat88
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings From Hotel The Grand Raj !!!! It was pleasure to see your positive review of your stay with us and for taking out time to share your experience. It is great to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and services of the hotel ​​ Your comments and suggestions will allow us to improve our standards and...

Pune, India
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Only the lobby is attractive, rooms are absolutely crap and will collide with travel agent to sell rooms and food at unbelievable rates and only when you reach you will know that you have been totally screwed. Food is at exorbitant rates and complimentary buffet is not even worth Rs 80/-( @ 375/-). very unhygienic, horrible rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vindhyarshah
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest Greetings !!!! ​​ Thank you for ​your kind feedback . We personally apologize and regret to hear regards to your unsatisfactory visit. We do understand that you have faced some problems during your stay with us. However, we take your valuable feedback seriously and will improve upon our services​. ​​​ We will be offering upgraded facilities as per...

Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 21 May 2016

hotel grand raj is very good hotel we have visited it this month only good entry area very well maintained hotel big parking space good embience co operative staff good interiors very well maintained restaurant and bar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cablehouse2016
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review. We are delighted to read that your stay at Hotel The Grand Raj a memorable one. we are privileged to have you with us and looking forward to serve you even better in future. Thanks once again for your words of appreciation ,It energies us do better. Thanks...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel is located on the main road going towards dharamahala all time good for those who GT late and need a halt before dharamahala or mcleodganj....nice hotel with ample space for parking .. Rooms are spacious ...food was delicious

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamal K
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greeting from The Hotel Grand Raj--. Thank you for posting your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad, you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. On your next visit we will endeavor to exceed your expectations in all aspects of service. Please do give us another chance to serve you better... Warm...

Kala Amb, Himachal Pradesh, India
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

It's very good hotel situated at the center of the city. Interior of this hotel is very good and have maintain proper management. Service is little bit delay at restaurant but worth it as the food is delicious. This place is near to the bus stand and located on the main road to Daramshala.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepgupta25
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Mr. Gupta Greetings from The Hotel Grand Raj Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your stay experience and for your kind words of appreciation for our hotel and services. Your endorsement means a lot to us and we do look forward to your next stay at The Grand Raj. Thanks & Regards Satish Angaria 09218505500

India
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Helpful and polite staff.Nice hotel. BUT the standard rooms are on the side of the main road and you can hear the traffic and horns from really early in the morning. The bathroom doors need a fresh coat of paint and need to be cleaned as there are dirty spots on it. For one night it was fine but if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayayri
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. My sincere apologies for the room at the hotel was not to your liking. our standard rooms are road facing and has noise problem ,we are under process to put sound proof glass to get rid of this problem. . Your inputs on the room and other aspects of your stay are very...

Chandigarh, India
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Grand Raj is good hotel in Kangra close to bus stand. Hotel is nicely maintained neat and clean. Rooms are good here but road facing rooms are quite noisy & you can't sleep properly if you have got road facing rooms. Staff & food is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamneekJain
HotelGrandRaj, General Manager at Hotel The Grand Raj, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings From The Hotel Grand Raj Thank you for your feedback . My sincere apologies for the room at the hotel was not to your liking because of noise. Our standard rooms are road facing with open glass corridor and has noise problem ,we are under process to put sound proof glass to get rid of this problem....

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangra
8.6 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
663 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
352 reviews
14.9 mi away
RS Sarovar Portico, Palampur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#18 of 69 in Dharamsala
201 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 69 in Dharamsala
84 reviews
8.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a three star facility hotel situated in the heart of Kangra city. Recently Kings XI Punjab team stayed with us during the IPL matches in Dharamshala. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Grand Raj

Address: Dharamshala Road, Kangra 176001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Kangra
Price Range: £75 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Grand Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Hotel The Grand Raj Kangra, India - Himachal Pradesh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Grand Raj staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Grand Raj staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first check the room then pay for the rooms”
sharmadinkar, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One should stay at Dharamshala if one is planning trip to Dharamshala & Palampur. Select room carefully.”
rabhat2013, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premium rooms at the back.”
WorldTraveller_Ajay, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“inner side rooms which have there balcony open on lawn sides..”
Gaurav4, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Take new wing , which has big rooms.”
venkatveg, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5