We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Domaine Saint Hilaire

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 small hotel in Montagnac
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A magical destination with a rich history built shortly before the French revolution and hidden away among the vineyards of the Languedoc. The estate is a working Domaine which produces a wide range of award winning wines and single varietal wines, which serve as a a perfect introduction to wine-tasting for those who want to learn more. The manor house is available for holiday rental. It comprises six stylish rooms with ensuite bathrooms and lovely waterfall showers, two living rooms, a library and cinema room, fully equipped kitchen and dining. Outside you can enjoy a 2ha private park with pool and a rose garden. A bientot?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
58Reviews1Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
moiram383 wrote a review Sept 2021
Boulder, Colorado27 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
This is your magical, fairy princess place to have your wedding. The chateau has 6 bedrooms en-suite and there is loads of accommodation in nearby Pezenas for guests. They have their own wedding planner who is fabulous. All the staff were amazing and helpful. Speak multiple languages. Absolutely gorgeous setting with a vineyard attached.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Kent, Owner at Domaine Saint Hilaire
Responded 2 Oct 2021
Many thanks for choosing us for your wonderful wedding, - I am delighted everything went well. Thanks also for the feedback - it was our pleasure.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jjataylor1 wrote a review Sept 2021
Sydney, Australia3 contributions7 helpful votes
Unfortunately we were unable to have our wedding at domaine saint hilaire this summer due to COVID. Nick was quick to issue us with a full refund, and was great at communicating throughout. Hopefully we will be able to visit soon! Josh & Emily
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amanda wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
I was due to stay here but unfortunately due to covid we were unable to fly over. The owners were completely unreasonable and refused to refund any of our deposit. We had the exact response to some other reviews on here - we were told we had to pay another chunk of money to secure a future date (and they had very little availability). This was from the organiser 'Nick'. Really disappointed with this company to use this pandemic to their advantage of basically stealing peoples money. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Kent, Owner at Domaine Saint Hilaire
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Hi. I am very disappointed to read your review. Our covid policy is pretty standard. If a mandatory government restriction prevents the trip going ahead then we will refund the deposit in full. If the trip could go ahead but you cancel due to any covid-related reason, such as one of the party contracting covid then we will offer a transfer to a new date. I am sorry if your preferred timing for a rebooking was not available In the case of an unenforced cancellation, even if we keep the deposit we lose the bulk of our revenue as it is rare for us to be able to re-book a slot as most bookings are made well in advance. I fail to see how keeping a percentage of our lost revenue as specifically agreed in our contract is stealing money or taking advantage. If you contact us direct we can look again at finding you a replacement date. Nick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
We booked via Olivers Travels to go on holiday here before the pandemic. Unfortunately due to travel restrictions we were physically unable to make it. The owners used this as an opportunity to be completely inflexible and unreasonable and decided not to refund our substantial deposit. We requested to transfer the dates to the following summer, however we’re told in order to do so would have to pay the full balance a year early and even then without guarantee!! Be careful!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Kent, Owner at Domaine Saint Hilaire
Responded 21 May 2021
I am sorry to read your negative review which I think must be as a result out of a miscommunication somewhere. We never require the full payment any earlier than normal (6 weeks before the arrival date). I don't recognise this booking but if you contact us direct we will gladly make sure you can get a new date with us / Oliver's Travels without the need for any up-front payment of the balance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Colin T wrote a review Oct 2020
Saint-Pons-de-Mauchiens, France26 contributions7 helpful votes
Super event at this beautiful wine domaine. Vertical tastings of three different vintages of their CabSauv/ Merlot and their Chardonnay. Excellent and informative talk by Edouard Rainault (in English!) followed by a delicious lunch by Ina and Sarah
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David S wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
A beautiful vineyard. The property, accommodation, staff, wine, weather were all fabulous. . We really had a great time with so many interesting places to visit and restaurants to experience. In particular Sarah, Nick, Edouard and Iena, who looked after us, were great fun and helpful and really added to the ambiance of the vineyard.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tyana wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
We were so lucky to find this beautiful and peaceful Chateau. Everyone was incredibly kind and attentive to whatever we needed. I would recommend this amazing place to anyone - it was truly and experience of a lifetime.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Beautiful and Peaceful inside and out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dr_Bill_11 wrote a review Sept 2017
London, United Kingdom247 contributions188 helpful votes
The Domaine is reached via a pretty country road through vineyards and orchards off the main highway to the east of Montagnac. Our room was in the main house though there is accommodation in the annex, similar in external appearance but added in the 1930s. The room was quiet (important during the harvest as some of the annex rooms overlook the working part of the vineyard and the tractors and harvesting machinery can be out in the fields at 3.00am), well furnished, with a very comfortable bed a bathroom fitted out to a high specification and a TV and A/C. Tea/coffee making facilities and an honour bar were available in the ground floor lounge and a complementary bottle of wine was provided on arrival. There was WiFi but connectivity was a bit haphazard and fiddly. Breakfast, weather permitting, is served outside and comprises fruit juice, one croissant per guest, bread, a piece of cheese and a slice of ham each, a plate of fruit and eggs and bacon if requested. Although dinner is not offered they will supply a cold tray of cheeses and meats which could be useful if you are arriving late but there are plenty of good restaurants around, including at the coast if you’re willing to drive to Meze or Marseillan (which has some very good places to eat). The outside pool was in need of some maintenance and there was a shortage of garden (and dining) furniture. Staff were always friendly and enthusiastic but varied in efficiency, for example neglecting to cover the cheese and ham on the breakfast buffet, leaving it open for flies. Public rooms included the main house lounge, a library (with an amazing collection of detective fiction), a home cinema and another lounge, in the annex, complete with grand piano. Wine tastings are available and if you want to buy a case or two they will also arrange shipping (free if 36 bottles or more).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the main house are quieter but may be a bit smaller than equivalents in the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jean1980 wrote a review Jul 2017
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful well restored chateau with very friendly staff ( Alison & Aukje) Lovely breakfast every morning. Small number of guest so you really have the place to yourself. Lovely pool surrounded by lavender. Bikes available for cycling aound vineyard. There is a reception room almost per guest bedroom so plenty privavcy to relax and most importantly- the Chateau's own wine is superb! Can be tough to find local restaurants open on Sunday/Monday unless you drive a little bit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
K-Sarah-FC wrote a review Jul 2017
London, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
We were so lucky to have the place to ourselves for the first two nights of our stay, and then only one other couple on our last night. The domaine has been beautifully decorated and furnished, with large rooms, beautiful en-suites and a series of fantastic communal lounges (inclusing a cinema room). Antje and Alison are the sweetest hostesses you could ask for, serving a lovely breakfast spread each morning in the fabulous gardens and apertifs in the evening, and Nick was hilarious company and kindly took us around the estate. Antje also did the wine tasting for us as the wine team were out at a festival, and it was fascinating. Would definitely recommend staying there and would be perfect for a big family gathering who wanted to rent out the whole place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montagnac area.
LOCATION
FranceOccitanieHeraultMontagnac
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOMAINE SAINT HILAIRE - Updated 2024 Prices (Montagnac, France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Domaine Saint Hilaire
Which popular attractions are close to Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Nearby attractions include Musee - Parc des Dinosaures (1.4 miles), Musee de site Villa-Loupian (4.5 miles), and Marche Traditionnel de Meze (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant La Barque Bleue, Les Huîtres Soula, and Restaurant BK.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Domaine Saint Hilaire?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Musee - Parc des Dinosaures (1.4 miles) and Ancien moulin de Murles (4.4 miles).