We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Penmarlam Lodge Retreat

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 campsite in Bodinnick
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We have a beautiful selection of top quality, modern lodges in a small boutique development next to Fowey. For customers who want peace and quiet and time to enjoy the natural beauty of this part of Cornwall, Penmarlam is ideal.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Electric kettle
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
91Reviews2Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 21
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Traveler626461 wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
+1
As a family of 5 we’ve just left our holiday here and have had a fantastic time! The lodge itself is very modern and to a high standard! We were greeted to a bottle of milk and some delicious Cornish biscuits. The beds are extremely comfortable and there was comfortably enough room for us all in the living area. Both bathroom were superb too. The lovely lady on Reception allocated us the lodge next to the childrens play area which was perfect for them and us. The shop is open normal hours and has a good selection of board games for you to borrow during your stay. There is also a table tennis table outside. The holiday park has electric barriers to enter and exit which we found as good security. The retreat as a site is small but had a more high feel, this was perfect for us. The car/foot ferry is only a 2 minute drive down the road to Fowey as well. Overall a FANTASTIC stay and we will definitely return! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Penmarlam Lodge Retreat is in a quiet yet accessible location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 5 days ago
thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to welcome you here at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Carole
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MJDevon2015 wrote a review 4 Apr
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely beautiful lodge with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay and in a lovely setting. We had a warm and friendly welcome. If you want total peace and quiet this is the perfect place. Only one gripe. We had a non pet friendly lodge (24) but unfortunately there were lots of dogs with owners who thought it was okay to let their dogs do their business in the picnic area and also the lawned area in front of our lovely lodge away from their own! Not pleasant to see the dogs defecating nor the owners picking it up and spoiled the view for us. I am very glad we hadn't taken our young grandchildren who would have wanted to run around outside. Maybe a dedicated 'toilet'area could be identified away from the accommodation for those dog owners who object to letting their own dogs poo outside their own lodge!!! I wonder why?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No supermarkets in immediate vicinity so good idea to take your own supplies or book an online...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your 5* review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you that all feedback is taken seriously and your comments have been noted and will be acted upon Carole
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denise S wrote a review Mar 2024
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
Lovely lodges, very clean and comfortable. Check in is easy and staff are so helpful. I would recommend to anyone wanting to visit Fowey and the surrounding area. Stunning beaches, restaurants and the scenery is amazing. Looe and Polperro are on the doorstep. Just book!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review it was a pleasure to welcome you to Penmarlam Lodge Retreat and look forward to seeing you again in the future Carole
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bas67 wrote a review Nov 2023
Brighton, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
Travelling as a couple with our VIP ( very important pooch) in tow we arrived to a beautiful hydrangea lined entrance. We were met with a wonderfully warm welcome from staff on reception and immediately noticed a large well stocked shop full of essentials and more along with hot drinks being available and seating inside and outside to enjoy the beautiful view. The lodge itself was 2 bedroomed with a lovely view of the hills. As soon as we opened the door it smelt clean and fresh and simply stunning, it was dog friendly but no signs (or scents!) of previous furry friends and was literally spotless. The lodges are modern and very spacious with so many cupboards and mod cons and with all you need washing up liquid, cloths, dishwasher tablets and gorgeous scented hand washes in the bathroom etc. Tea, coffee, sugar, milk in the fridge and a box of delicious Cornish fairing biscuits made for a great start! We only stayed for a long weekend and although the site seems remote itself it is literally just a 5 minute drive to the little ferry over to Fowey. It’s a great location! You can either take the car over or walk directly from the site which takes about 15 minutes then take the ferry on foot. The ferry is just a couple of minutes journey across and once in Fowey there are many pubs, cafes and beautiful shops. Car park just as you exit the ferry and you can then enjoy walking around the lovely streets and take in the views. We absolutely loved Fowey and had lunch there and walked to Readymoney cove, a small beach where our dog was able to run on the sand ( off season). It is simply beautiful, the weather wasn’t great but we managed to dodge the heavy downpours and find lots to do despite this. With the lodge being so wonderful we really felt able to have a mix of going out but also just stay in and enjoy the peace and quiet of the site for a much needed break away from everything. Comfy beds, great showers, warm and very cosy despite the storms outside. We booked in for Sunday lunch which was huge and delicious at the Old Ferry Inn which is just a few minutes from the site. Very well worth a visit for home cooked food each evening too. There is another cafe at the harbour too just a few minutes walk from the site, but this wasn’t open at the time of our visit, but does do breakfast and lunch. They also offer evening meals a couple of nights a week during high season. Thank you so much for such a wonderful break, our dog also loved the friendly welcome, fuss made of her and the biscuits she was fed by staff at the site. The site is very dog friendly and with so many wonderful walks it is just paws-itively perfect! We will definitely be back to enjoy all Penmarlem has to offer again. Perhaps in Spring or Summertime. Although we were very happy with a cosy start of Winter break. It really is a luxury lodge retreat and thoroughly recommend it. Nothing is too much trouble there and we have literally have nothing to complain about! Thank you so much for a wonderful FIRST stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for your 5* review it was a pleasure to welcome you to Penmarlam Lodge Retreat, we loved meeting and spoiling your gorgeous VIP and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Carole
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cathy i wrote a review Oct 2023
13 contributions
+1
When you book and look at photos you're always still sceptical of what you're going to find! Well this place wasn't like the photos, it was much better, the website photos realy don't do the accomodation or site enough justice! We booked a 2 bed 'lodge' (posh caravan) with a hot tub for a long weekend. There was fresh milk in the fridge, tea bags/coffee/sugar and biscuits for when we arrived. Along with washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, t towel and cleaning cloth. There was also hand wash, toilet rolls and shower gel in the bathrooms. Every thing was very high end quality. Lovely fluffy towels, great pillows, appliances but the mattress was the only downside. Lovely ensuite from the main bedroom. All rooms had so much storage. The 'lodge' was very warm and really well heated in all rooms plus an electric fire in the lounge area. The hot tub was the icing on the cake. Cleaned and checked daily. The park is very quiet, so if you're looking for entertainment etc there isn't any, which suited us. It is also immaculately clean and tidy with added gate security to get in and out. The nearest pub is a 15 min walk down a steep hill which is also the road to the ferry to Fowey. Great food and drinks, really reasonable prices too for the only pub accessible in the evening, the ferry stopped at 7.30pm! But runs frequently in the day time and takes a few minutes. Lovely pubs,restaurants, shops in Fowey itself. All in all a relaxing stay! A few little things could be added but if not won't ruin your stay! ~ Information sheet with shop opening times, ferry times and nearest shop when the ferry has stopped! Places to visit ~ Torch for walks to the Ferry Inn or added to booking advice? ~ Better mattress or decent mattress topper ~ Lamp in the lounge area ~ Coffee table in the lounge area ~ Robes to use in hot tub or extra towels or advise to take own. ~ Privacy screening for the hot tub, ok once you're in! ~ Door mat by patio doors, esp for after using the hot tub. I wish we'd booked for longer and will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Thank you for you 5* review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat. We take all feedback seriously and will be reviewing your comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back here in the near future. Carole
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BeanandBird wrote a review Oct 2023
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom226 contributions146 helpful votes
Penmarlam is a really lovely place to stay. A lovely welcome and really nice staff looking after the place. Shop has good essentials and treats. The lodges are large and comfortable and very well insulated so warm and cosy as the nights draw in.Used central heating for a short time first thing in the morning, quickly warmed up and the van stayed warm. The location is good for Fowey and the ferry is charming. There’s a very small public car park as you turn along the road towards the ferry, on the left, easy to miss,and we were lucky to find spaces when we visited the Old Ferry Inn pub for dinner. The road is probably a bit tricky for walking along from the park due to the cars and blind bends, but not impossible. Long uphill walk back though. We didn’t do it. Small improvements needed: Very nice towels and linen provided but there should be pillow liners on all pillows and a mattress protector between the sheet and the mattress (present on singles, not on the double). The mattress on the double bed mattress was not well upholstered on the top as I could feel the springs a bit but a topper would make this supremely comfortable. We always bring our own toppers to rentals as bed preference is so subjective. All in all though, the space and the amenities were great. All it needed was a small pod type coffee machine to make it a bit more ‘luxury’ as these are standard in most rentals if any type these days (again, brought my own). Unless you have a van at the very front row (and I think that these are all for sale for private ownership) you won’t get that beautiful rural view as there are vans in front of the balcony area. Hot tubs well maintained and lovely to use. Privacy screening of some kind needed though to avoid being seen by passers by. Trees have been planted and as things mature the site will look even better. Some vans still being assembled but this should be finished I imagine by next year. We liked it a lot and would recommend. Thanks for a very restful and welcoming stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 5 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review Penmarlam Lodge Retreat, we welcome all feedback which is taken seriously and we will be looking into your comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our Retreat and are pleased you had a restful stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane T wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions
A lovely clean well maintained site. Very handy reception and shop run by the lovely Carol. A very convenient base to spend time at to explore the Fowey area. The lodges were immaculate with everything you needed in them. A beautiful part of the country, we shall be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Thank you Jane for the lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you again at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Natasha1508 wrote a review Sept 2023
55 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
From the min we arrived we just knew this would be an amazing stay . The lodge was immaculate and so well equipped. The hot tub address to us booking and added to a wonderful relaxing stay . The staff on site were so welcoming and lovely , (Carol , Sam and James ) another mega positive ! The site is immaculate and if you are looking for peace and quiet , you will get that here . Double parking space and electric car charger , brilliant and we had a large are of grass next to our lodge which was perfect for our two little dogs . Lodge situated just a few mins drive ( or 10-15 walk ) from the ferry to Fowey ( which we fell in love with ) I always say if you are sad to leave somewhere , you know you’ve had the best time . Well we were and to make up for it , have booked a longer stay for next year . Can’t wait to go back ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Good morning, thank you for your lovely review, so pleased you had a great stay with us it was a pleasure meeting you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DAJ wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions
Lovely 2 bed modern lodge with hot tub Clean and everything you would need available Hot tub checked twice daily Very spacious Park well maintained Peaceful (could hear traffic on road at times but no real issue) This park has 30 lodges, reception, small shop and wooden play park This park is not for you if you are looking for any entertainment or on site facilities. If you are looking for complete peace and quiet then this is definitely for you. Village 15min walk. There is nothing there except the lovely pub however be aware it doesn’t open until 3pm and the ferry across to Fowey. Very steep hill to walk back. I am not really fit and managed it a few times. Out of breathe but nothing a rest didn’t cure. Ferry about 5 mins to cross. Cost just under £6 for 3 of us. 2 adults 1 child. Fowey lovely with some shops, bars, restaurants, bakery’s etc. everything you would expect from a Cornish fishing town/village Some nice woodland walks We managed to fill 4 days just around the lodge and Fowey. The annual regatta was on so we watched the boats etc. good base to explore other areas easily if you want to drive. Completed the circular hall walk which was lovely -gate broken on lodge. The guy who does the hot tub noticed it and said he would get it fixed so hope he does -windows need cleaning -beds not comfortable for us. Far too soft and not supportive. Bed linen could be upgraded to match the premium lodge feel -hot tub lovely. It’s private as in you obviously don’t share it with anyone else but you can see people in them from your decking area so be nice to have something to make it more private -no hooks in bathrooms to hang towels so -would be nice to have hooks out for hot tub lodges to hang towels on too. Expensive 4 nights but lodge really is beautiful and we had a lovely relaxing 4 days away. Staff super friendly and helpful. We were not disappointed and will consider Lovat for future breaks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review Penmarlam Lodge Retreat. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comments and feedback which is really helpful and you can be assured that these will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back at Lovat in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CGiffin22 wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The lodge was very nice and modern and had everything we needed (beds were too hard). However, the cleanliness of the lodge was extremely poor. Upon lifting the ottoman bed to put the suitcase under, we discovered 30-40 dead flies under there. We then found a further 70-100 dead flies down the side & back of the single beds in the second bedroom. It was vile! Clearly there had been an infestation prior to our arrival which had not been cleaned thoroughly. In addition to this, in the main bedroom there was thick dust on the headboard, bedside lights and mirror. There were human hair balls in the lounge carpet and lots of crumbs and scum under the sofa cushions. The mirror in the lounge was all smudged due to poor polishing. I don't expect to have to spend time cleaning when I've paid a high price for a quality service. (we have images should the lodge owners wish to contact us to see the poor quality of the cleaning.) The site itself is very small, well maintained and all of the lodges are new. The lady on reception was very friendly, helpful and polite. It is a very peaceful site and only a short walk into Fowey, although a killer of a walk back up the hill! The car ferry over into Fowey is £6.50 (one way / £11 return), so keep this in mind if you like to go out in an evening for food & drinks. There is very little close by so be prepared to drive at least 40 minutes. As the site is very small, there is always someone walking a dog around to do its business. We learnt very fast to not let our children go on the grassed areas. It was also very unpleasant to sit on your balcony eating dinner, to have a dog doing its business in front on your lodge. Having said this, from what we saw, dog owners did pick up their dogs mess. Overall, we had a nice week but we were extremely disappointed in the cleanliness of the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be prepared to drive everywhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Elliot, General Manager at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review Penmarlam Lodge Retreat. Our sincere apologies for the issues that you had during your stay with us. We can assure you that we have looked into your comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bodinnick area.
PRICE RANGE
£163 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallFoweyBodinnick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENMARLAM LODGE RETREAT - Updated 2024 Reviews (Bodinnick)

Frequently Asked Questions about Penmarlam Lodge Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Penmarlam Lodge Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Colwith Farm Distillery (4.8 miles), Fowey Estuary (0.8 miles), and Polkerris Beach (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penmarlam Lodge Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Three Pilchards, Asquiths, and Couch's Great House Restaurant.
Is Penmarlam Lodge Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Bodinnick.
Are pets allowed at Penmarlam Lodge Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Penmarlam Lodge Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mevagissey to Fowey Ferry (8.8 miles), Bodmin Keep, Cornwall's Army Museum (9.3 miles), and Lanhydrock House and Garden (7.9 miles).
Is Penmarlam Lodge Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.