Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp

Main Road Mangula, Kilombero Valley, Udzungwa Mountains National Park 34514 Tanzania
Traveller (149)
Inside the ensuite tented rooms
Room & Suite (30)
View of forest from dining area
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Udzungwa Mountains National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hondo Hondo (Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp) is on the border of the Udzungwa Mountains National Park. We offer comfortable accommodation in well equipped en-suite tented rooms in our atmospheric grounds. For those on a budget, there are traditional thatched huts or a campsite. Our restaurant serves good quality meals catering to all tastes, and ice-cold drinks are available from the comfortable bar. The lodge grounds are often visited by troops of colobus monkeys and up to 86 species on birds have been identified onsite. A great base from which to explore the Udzungwa Mountains National Park and the little visited Kilombero Valley.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Main Road Mangula, Kilombero Valley, Udzungwa Mountains National Park 34514 Tanzania
172Reviews2Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 49
  • 15
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gary Proctor wrote a review Feb 2023
Douglas, United Kingdom307 contributions76 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this place for 1 night as a bit of a stop off for the terribly long drive from Ruaha back to Dar. The idea was stay a night, up nice and early to do the hike to Sanje Falls then drive back to Dar. Our only regret is we didn’t stay longer as this place is amazing. The restaurant sits in front of a lively open space so you can really soak in the Mountain View’s, with monkeys running and climbing around the place. The tented rooms themselves are high quality and airy, supplied with a floor standing fan if hot. We thought the food here was very good, probably best of any place we stayed. I recommend if you stay here to stay longer than 1 night as they offer lots of activities including various hikes, game drives, cycling, visits to an old German Amish-like community, and other fun stuff. They have a bug lamp if you’re interested in that sort of thing and in the evening there are fireflies around. Loved it here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarka V wrote a review Jan 2023
25 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing stay here. I would highly recommend this tented camp to everybody. The services were absolutely amazing. No delays. Great sleep. Clean and exotic tents with bathroom and hot shower. Lots of wildlife to see. We did 14 kms circuit in the jungle. It took us about 6.5 hours and we saw lots of animals. They also prepared lunch boxes for us and for our guide and the ranger. They informed us about everything we wanted to know. We have actually been living and working in Dar es Salaam as volunteers (with no income) so we were looking for cheaper options. (and were prepared to camp in our tent). The manager is a really good, kind hearted man. He gave us a great deal and upgrated us into a luxury tent which we really appreciated. I told my friends about our experience so they are planning to visit the area too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan R wrote a review Aug 2023
7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hindi Hindi camp was a fabulous experience— it’s lush lawns and foot of the mountain setting with a baboon family occasionally trotting by and red-haired Colobus monkeys in the tall trees are a huge selling point. We stayed in one of the tent bungalows which were comfortable, clean, and well equipped. The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant is tasty and well placed with tables that look out on the lawn and mountain for good viewing of all the passing birds and animals.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MammaM wrote a review Dec 2020
114 contributions63 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a few nights. It was very hot and stuffy weather, but no water in the pool, (no chlorine or Ph liquid because of Covid, apparently,) so we took a lot of outdoor showers. The fan in the tent was faulty and woke me up all night, and the bed was hard and felt damp. The blankets on the bed were not really clean. The roof leaked when it rained, and there were a lot of bugs in the tent, but that’s life in wet season in a forest, I suppose.

The walking trails around the camp were overgrown and not passable, and no children’s activities were on offer, no board or card games or walks, so we struggled to entertain the kids. The bar had no snacks to buy at all so the kids were starving between lunch and dinner until we brought our own, and then by some miracle, fresh popcorn appeared after a few days. Not well stocked, no soda water or castle beer or juice. The staff blamed Covid for the missing items even though there were loads of guests and really, there are no excuses, the shops in local towns are full and always have been.

The food in the camp was quite good, but very slow to appear, but tea and coffee were available almost all day. The packed lunch for our hike was absolutely revolting by comparison with other packed lunches given by Safari companies. I liked that filtered water was offered instead of having to buy plastic bottles of water (initially the bar staff also blamed Covid for that lack and made us buy it, but this was rectified quickly). We had a feeling that the staff were finding it hard to wake up and serve guests again after being shut for Covid.

There are baboons wandering everywhere so don’t keep food in your tent. The hike to the falls was great, but once that was done, we kind of felt like it was good to leave. This is not a cheap place to stay, but it felt like one, compared with other places where we stay in Tanzania.

It was a hit and miss trip, and the management needs to look at these issues and fix them ASAP.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
XexeMa wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay at Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest lodge. The team is very nice, well organised, always on time and the food was delicious. The tents are nice, clean and spacy, we had always warm water in the shower. We made a 3 days hiking tour (Mwanihana trail) and everything was perfect. They brought a good tent for us, cooked tasty meals and we had a lot of fun together. The Udzungwa Mountains are a wonderful place for hiking with great views over the landscape.
Asante sana to all the staff, we had a great time at Hondo Hondo!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lise2101 wrote a review Jan 2020
Oslo, Norway49 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here two nights, went for a daytrip to Senje waterfalls, which was beautiful.
The lodge was also great, large tents with private outdoor bathrooms. Very good food, a lovely place to stay. Lots of monkeys around, fun to watch them play.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula C wrote a review Sept 2023
10 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderfull place for taking some rest after gzme driving in Ruaha National park and before go hiking in Udzungwa Mountains! Lively food and very friendly and helpful staff! We, adults stayed at the lodge, while our children went hiking and overnighted with their own camping materials in Udzungwa mountains. Staying at the lodge we observed the baboons and other monkeys, as well as the many birds around.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monika_xyz wrote a review Jan 2015
London, United Kingdom43 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The heavy canvass tent was hot, humid and uncomfortable day and night. The mattress and pillows stank of damp and mildew. The lights didn't go out completely when I switched them off but remained slightly illuminated. The bamboo wall in the bathroom provided no privacy because you could see in between them and the positioning of the tents meant that people were walking around me all the time. There was absolutely no privacy unless I showered and dress in the pitch dark of the bathroom since the tent lights didn't go off.

There was no mosquito net in the tents (or at least there wasn't one in mine) so I couldn't leave the canvass flaps unzipped and it was so hot! The back cover (towards the bathroom) had no windows on it so there was no breeze. I got up at 1am to read outside to cool down.

I can't remember the name of the activity exactly from Hondo Hondo (I think it was the 'Kilombero Forest Walk') but the plan was to cycle to a drop off point and we would take a walk from there. At no point was a ranger mentioned when I arranged this.

I was given a guide, we set off even though I struggled initially with the bike I was given as the gears didn't work properly. I was told it was a serviced bike but of course it wasn't and it was pretty limited how fast I could go with it, luckily my guide tired after a while - he had no particular interest in the difficulties I had with the bike and that it was difficult to keep up.

Anyway, we got to the point where we were supposed to leave the bikes, I heard him have a longish chat with the ladies there in Swahili, he asked me at one point whether I had my phone with me, I said no. I had a Tanzanian SIM but I left it back in the tent security box.

He then got hold of a panga (machete) showed it to me and said: 'I have this now.' I asked him what it was for, whether it was for chopping down some vegetation on the walk. He said no, it was for the animals in the forest.

Ok so at this point I started paying attention, I asked him what animals, he said elephants and buffalo. I asked him how he was planning on defending us from those large mammals with a panga, he said hitting the trees with it made a sound that scared the animals away.....

At this point I think I looked at him as if I were talking to an imbecile because he started drawing a map in the sand explaining the layout of the Forest and how animals only moved around at night coming across from Selous Game Reserve and not during the day because they were scared of people that walked between the Reserve and the Forest. So I pointed out to him that the animals we had to be worried about were the ones that stayed in the Forest during the day and chose not to go back to the Game Reserve. He laughed nervously. I asked him why we didn't have a Ranger for this, he said the guy wasn't around....

My choice was to go for a cycle ride in the end, it was ok though very hot. I was pointing out the fresh elephant dung on the way (so much for their not walking around during the day ;-)) and when some AK47 warning shots were fired further down the road (6 of them, to be precise), I asked the guide what his plan was next, trying to keep the sarcasm out of my voice. He said turning back was best and I agreed.

I was glad to leave that place. Badly managed, neglected and completely and utterly clueless. Be careful if you go, do not assume that those guys have a clue what they are talking about or that you will be safe on an activity.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't go.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HanWood1, Owner at Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp
Responded 11 Jan 2015
Hello Monika We received your complaint via your tour operator as well as finding it here on tripadvisor and have responded to them as well. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments regarding the tent heat and humidity have been taken seriously and you should be pleased to hear we will be replacing the tents in question with new, larger, more spacious models with larger windows, as well as also raising the thatched roof to allow greater air flow. We will also be installing fans in each of the tents. These improvements will be ongoing for the next few months (during the rainy season when we have few guests) and should be complete before the next high season. We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and look forward to having the new, more spacious, cooler tents in place soon. As to your comments on the Magombero Forest Walk and the bike ride - I will find out why he bike had not been serviced to high standard and ensure this does not happen again. Regarding the wildlife and your feelings of being unsafe, I am sorry you felt that way. The guide was correct in that usually large animals do not roam the area during the day, but I am sorry that you felt threatened and scared. The Magombero forest is a community run reserve, without armed Rangers. Most of our guests thoroughly enjoy the cycle ride though the villages and the sugar plantations to the forest and back, and I am sorry you did not. Overall we are grateful for your feedback as it is this which allows us to improve our services and give our guests the enjoyable and memorable experience they serve. We hope should you return to tanznaia you will pass by us again and see how your comments have helped develop Hondo Hondo. Best wishes Hannah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul K wrote a review Feb 2014
Boston, Massachusetts24 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When you're driving up the muddy road into Hondo Hondo's entrance, I think you're not entirely sure what to expect. You half assume it's either going to be an impressive fortress buried in the jungle or an elaborate village of makeshift huts. In reality, Hondo Hondo is a mixture of the two and couples its cool network of huts and buildings with an incredibly friendly and welcoming staff. I spent a total of three nights in Hondo Hondo since I had heard about the unique and wondrous Udzungwa National Park, chock full of waterfalls and unique wildlife. Hondo Hondo is situated right in the park, at the foot of the mountains, and the wildlife literally blends right into the camp. I had never stayed in a place where nature and hospitality came together so nicely, and I also really appreciated that Hondo Hondo was focused on maintaining its balance with the ecosystem. Solar panels, welled water and the like were all important factors. My accommodations were comfortable and minimalist, which was perfect for where I was. The staff were incredibly helpful, including Emmanuel, who helped arrange bus tickets to head to Mbeya and also waited with me while the bus was coming to pick me up. Bosco was also extremely helpful at providing good hiking recommendations and any services that would be of assistance. Finally, I have to comment on the food at the camp simply for the fact that it's worth commenting on. This wasn't your standard jungle tented camp fare; this was three course, expertly prepared, wonderfully delicious meal after meal. I could not have been more impressed and I'm glad the owner, Roy, took the time to focus on this. All in all, I cannot recommend Hondo Hondo enough for an amazing experience. Even as a solo traveler, they helped get me squared away and feel part of their community which I appreciated duly. Udzungwa is already completely worth visiting, and Hondo Hondo only makes the experience more pleasant!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The furnished tents seemed like a good option since there are bathrooms inside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HanWood1, Owner at Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp
Responded 1 Jun 2014
Hello Paul We are delighted to read your review! I will let the staff know how happy you were and especially Emmanuel, Bosco and the kitchen who will be overjoyed to hear how much you appreciated their efforts! Come again any time Best Hannah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RidgeBay wrote a review Jun 2011
Maryland18 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at Hondo Hondo during the rainy season in May. While it did rain, it didn't interfere with our visit. We stayed in one of the mud huts which was very comfortable - with a shared bathroom across the way. A separate building includes the shower (solar powered so water temperature varies). Food was excellent both during our stay and during two overnight camping trips to a beautiful waterfall and along a river that was provisioned by the Hondo Hondo cooking crew. Staff is exceptionally friendly and guest oriented.Nice bar/registration area and open air thatched restaurant. Wonderful base to explore the Udzungwa mountains and rain forest. An added bonus seeing many beautiful birds on the drive back thru the sugar cane fields.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Islastyle6
Chapel Hill, North Carolina64 contributions20 helpful votes
For a day trip up to the waterfall 10-30,000 would be a good tip. Last time I was there my young guide was excellent so I gave him 30k. If you do a longer hike it could be 20-40,000 or more. $1 is ~2,200 Tanzanian shillings.
NorthBay1972 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road is under construction so expect an extra 20 minutes coming from Mikumi."
Read full review
Wolfgang S wrote a tip Aug 2021
Munich, Germany47 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You want to visit sanje falls, you will need to pay park fee + guide. start early and do 3 different walks to get the most out of it. Yuzo (+255675584229) was my top guide. "
Read full review
rubab r wrote a tip Dec 2018
13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It works on Solar Power, best eco friendly environment."
Read full review
TravelTembo wrote a tip Nov 2017
Minnesota60 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved the thatched huts. Two of the ensuite tents were near the path to the dining - best avoided if you want privacy."
Read full review
JoolsSore wrote a tip Aug 2017
Andover, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Glamping tents are just amazing, all of them! If you are looking for budget, then the Banda's are fantastic for the price."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Udzungwa Mountains National Park area.
LOCATION
TanzaniaIringa RegionUdzungwa Mountains National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HONDO HONDO UDZUNGWA FOREST TENTED CAMP - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp?
Nearby attractions include Udzungwa Mountains National Park (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Does Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hondo Hondo Udzungwa Forest Tented Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.