We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Whitchurch Road, Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (558)
Room & Suite (514)
Dining (92)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
Whitchurch Road, Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD England
Getting there
Chester Airport4 miSee all flights
Liverpool John Lennon Airport12 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1899Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,072
  • 465
  • 181
  • 106
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vhancock82 wrote a review 19 Sep
45 contributions17 helpful votes
I am writing this review as sadly despite me raising these concerns on the day, numerous follow up phone calls/emails, the "Manager" still hasn't been in touch. 1. The hotel really needs to decide whether it is a wedding venue or a luxury spa/hotel as in my view it cant be both. We were not advised at the time of booking or at check in that there was a large wedding. We were met with a scowl from bridezilla when we dared to get a drink from the lounge bar area at 'her' wedding venue. The shambles continued with music until midnight, and a physical fight amongst wedding guests outside our windows at 1am. Guests smoking in the bedroom corridors, and running was also unchallenged by staff. 2. The rooms were in a poor state. The bathroom door hanging of its hinges, unable to be shut. Stains on the carpets, curtains, limescale all-round the shower door. Just a bit gross and not '4 star luxury standards' . Sensed we got the 'box room' due to the wedding guests taking up the majority of the rooms. For the price we paid these rooms should have been outstanding. 3. The staff were miserable. Not once were we asked about our stay or given any information remotely useful. For example, no information on dinner/breakfast menus, how to order room service, where the spa actually was in the hotel grounds, where could we actually get some food and water! (the QR code was followed but didn't provide this information). They didn't want to listen or help with my concerns. 4. The spa is woeful. Cold sauna, only allowed 1 hr access in the pool. One of treatments couldn't go ahead (staff illness - fair enough) however the massage I received could have been done better by my 5-year old child. The therapist showed no interest, asked no questions, made no 'polite chit-chat', and it was a full body massage that only massaged half of my body. (And with one hand at that as I suspect she was checking her phone mid way through). Wedding guests screaming and shouting outside made any attempt at relaxation impossible. So my advice for any potential guests is go elsewhere. I paid nearly £300 for a 'spa day including treatment' and overnight stay at the hotel as we hadn't been away for nearly 2 years. This was supposed to be a luxury treat. It was far from that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
MrMrsHappyR wrote a review 15 Sep
Liverpool, United Kingdom844 contributions308 helpful votes
We got a 2 night deal which included discounted room upgrade with breakfast and cream tea on arrival. The room upgrade was one of fabulous Master Suites which is excellent. 4 poster bed and seperate sofa area. Room included coffee machine, kettle, bottle of water, biscuits, tea & coffee etc. Staff overall were very friendly, helpful and hard working. Cream tea on arrival was really nice, cheese scones and dessert scones with cream & jam. Breakfast was very good. Sausages could do with being slightly better quality. Hotel is in very nice grounds. Only slight complaint was the bed was a bit too hard, but overall a very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear MrMrsHappyR Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa. I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we have made a note of your feedback with regards to the breakfast sausages you make mention of in your review. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa again very soon. Kind Regards Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
Willrollo wrote a review 8 Sep
Stanford Dingley, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
Just got to our room. Bathroom very tatty to say the least. Definitely not 4 star quality. Cracked wood panelling. Broken tv screen. Dirty grout in tiles. No extractor fan. Loo doesn’t flush properly. Bed very uncomfortable. View of car park. Been in a premier inn for far less which had better quality. £194 for one night. Might update after our first night on dinner. Update: breakfast was ok. Was moved to a new room but wasn’t shown how to find it. Part of hotel closed due to weddings being there on both days which we we not forewarned about. Very noisy until midnight. Update: it’s been two weeks and we still haven’t received our deposit of £194 which we had to pay at check in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It’s awful Avoid. Apparently it used to be nice but not since new management
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Willrollo Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at Rowton Hall. My apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us and found it more appropriate to come share your feedback on TripAdvisor rather than speak to one of my team or even ask to speak to myself The "deposit" you make mention of in your review is a pre-authorisation which is a fairly standard practice in most hotels, and is highlighted on our registration form which you would have signed on check in. Yours sincerely Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
cat wrote a review 7 Sep
Horley, United Kingdom1 contribution
Unfortunately the room let the overall rating down. The hotel itself is set in lovely grounds. All staff we encountered were kind and friendly and the food (dinner) we had was amazing and well priced. Sadly the room we had was outdated and not fully clean on arrival. The furniture needed replacing but the big bed was comfy. We also had a problem with our radiators being on constantly (despite the 26 degree weather) and we reported it 3 times and was supposedly fixed but sadly wasn’t. The amenities however were great. We were able to book a swim both days and used the pool, sauna and steam room which were nice. There are hairdryers and straighteners guests could use too which was a nice tough. Overall a good stay but could have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking can get busy mid afternoon Upgrade your room if possible Eat in the restaurant
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Wander18728915822 Thank you for taking the time o write your review. My sincere apologies that you had issues with your room on arrival and also with the heating in the room. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel and the pool and spa. Yours sincerely Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
LINDA B wrote a review 3 Sep
1 contribution
The outdoor wedding ceremony was great, but it was all downhill from there. The photographer wasn't assertive enough so guests were left not knowing what to do so it took ages! Canopies, or lack of them meant guests were starving! There was a total lack of organisation - food was buffet by table. We were never told (everyone else was) when to get our buffet so there were only leftovers when we managed to find it. The hotel had to do some more food but only had one type - we ended up with cold sandwiches and warmed up small portions of fish and chips, quickly eaten in the buffet room standing up! The music was too loud (and we're not oldies) and the bar that looked open, wasn't! Nobody knew about the Wedding book, photo booth, tea and coffee and sweets! Bet there were lots left! Total lack of communication-God help us if there was a fire! Beware if you have a Wedding here!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChesterRowton
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Chester Zoo (4.4 miles), Escapism Chester (3.0 miles), and Breakout Chester (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meltdown Chester, Pierogi, and Marmalade.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Rowton.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (2.9 miles), Chester City Walls (3.2 miles), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (2.8 miles).
Does Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.