The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya

Kudawa Road Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya 61360 Sri Lanka
Traveller (223)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 12 hotels in Kalpitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya - Unique Luxury Chalets are located on the Kalpitiya, Sethawadiya lagoon-side and surrounded by tropical palms and coconut trees facing the Blue Lagoon and the beach front. Our resort features 14 exclusive luxury deluxe chalets and 8 deluxe rooms within a lush garden, offering privacy, peace and simplicity in all aspects. Uniquely design with luxurious European touch combining the private parking and amenities of a high-end hotel with the space .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Windsurfing
Airport transportation
Car hire
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Kudawa Road Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya 61360 Sri Lanka
87Reviews0Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 8
  • 4
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GalinaIri wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am sad I found this place last minute as my flight is the next day. I traveled everywhere in sri Lanka, but after visiting this hotel and the staff, I thought to myself I will come back to sri lanka again.
This hotel is in an area called Kalpitiya and the friendly staff look after me so much than I expected.

Helpful staff with good English speaking
Food was great, they understood what I like, and the money spent on the food was good.
I like the kayak and boats they gave me at 5 dollars paddling on the lagoon it was fun, they gave me a life jacket. The staff member helps me and took my photos.
I walk to the beach, and it is lovely, many children are playing with family and friends
Breakfast I wanted rice with milk and Sri lankan curry.
I will come back and stay at your hotel.
Thank you Sri Lanka and blue lagoon hotel for making my trip happy and now sad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I stayed in a normal room, but there are some rooms bigger and better with bath tubs and luxury...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayesha J wrote a review Feb 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visit on celebration + holiday. Wish we could have more than 48 hours to stay. Mr. Sujith support us to accommodate our pet (Dog) with us in our room and the entire team was willing to support us throughout the stay. Rooms are clean, modern and privacy was protected, Also save. Ms. Shenali way beyond to make our stay comfortable and she is super friendly & informative. The hotel does arrange dolphin watching and other sea activities. Especially Dolhpine watching was a superb and great experience. Glad we found this place and stay two beautiful days. We are also so much in love with Sri Lankan Crab Curry with the bread they served. Entier team personally attends to the guests & always ready to give hand. Recommend this property to any couples, families & friends especially 'Pet Lovers'
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Just book!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriage L wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Im Writing on behalf on my client who recommended the Blue Lagoon Resort in Kalpitiya who visited the hotel on the 12th May 2022. ( HONEYMOON PACKAGE )

When we arrived at the resort we received a very warm welcome from the General Manager and the reception members. They gave small open boat as well on the lagoon and we were guided at all times, Food was made according to our liking and they gave us many sea food dishes we didn't ask for as well. ( very generous of them as we did not expect)
Our honeymoon package was memorable , Thanks to marriage.lk.

Special thank you to the Blue lagoon Resort!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Select the chalet you can never go wrong! concept is different with amazing facilities
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LankanTravellor wrote a review Feb 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka56 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As in November, it was a big contingent of 8 adults and 4 children that went to Blue Lagoon Resort.
It was a long weekend of 3 days hence the hotel was full with almost every chalet occupied. The check is process was easy but whilst our room, being a double, was ready the 2 family rooms wasn't. Our room was good but the bed was small hence we requested another mattress, which was put in by evening. Delayed but was fine for the moment.
Each room had a SLT Fibre connection for TV but the channel selection was poor since the hotel had chosen the cheapest package. The WiFi was spotty at best where even though each room had a dongle, apparently there was no Wifi but a dongle for 3 chalets. Sadly, there was no one to explain these points to us but I took the pain to find out since I needed WiFi for entertainment, when resting, since Dialog wasn't working
properly at this locale. Even when I connected to WiFi, the speed was too slow for Netflix.
Where this hotel fails and miserably at that is in the food department. The chef repeated his lunch menu on Friday for dinner. On more than one occasion, the potatoes were undercooked and therefore hard. We ordered bites on Saturday night where it was exceedingly oily and where the deviled calamari and chicken tasted the same.
The staff was extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay pleasant but its obvious that this hotel is unable to cater for a full house since they ran out of pool towels.
Overall, the price we paid at this hotel was only marginally cheaper than staying at a bigger brand elsewhere. We expected certain downgrades but when one compares the cost we paid for the rooms and meals, it was slightly less than going to any of the 3 big brands in Sri Lanka. This hotel has tremendous potential since the people in it are its best asset but they need to get their act together since when one charges a price, we expect our value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You may consider avoiding long weekends since they may be just as chaotic due to being overwhelmed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela T wrote a review Nov 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Give this place a miss.
Firstly it's off the beaten track down a rutted sandy track. On one side is a run down kite school. Opposite is scrubland the staff were clearing and burning rubbish in. The place is cheap and nasty. WiFi only works inside the chalet and only after we constantly complained and staff bought another hour of WiFi. The bathroom stank of sewage. I complained twice and they mopped floor with Floral smelling disinfectant. The bathroom is open to the air and not very clean. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. All the furniture is cheap, screwed together chipboard. There was one hard chair and a small table with electrical boxes on it. Both the bedroom and patio had cheap laminate flooring. Totally unsuitable for outdoor. Laminate flooring g was lifting up outside. There is no bar. The restaurant was uninviting and food was uninspiring. When we arrived the chairs were up on the tables and all the staff were in restaurant sitting around. The pool was clean and small. The area around the pool was uninviting with plastic tables and chairs stacked and two tatty gazebos up. There is a gate that leads on to a small stretch of lagoon beach. There was a pack of 6 dogs there and there was dog mess. Yes some parts of the place has been given a coat of paint.
My travel agent booked this place for 3 nights I left after I. Basically this is a very basic unappealing place. It is one step up from a hostel. I would give it a one star rating.
Best avoided!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Best avoided
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotreve management, Owner at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Dear Angela It sounds like you had a very disappointing experience at the hotel. We take utmost care to ensure our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay, so it is unfortunate that the hotel did not meet your expectations. This is the very first time we have received a compalain like this. We thank you for the detailed feedback and we have already started taking action on all the negatives you have mentioned. We sinceirly aplogize for the inconvenience you had faced
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thusitha Abeykoon wrote a review Dec 2023
Polgahawela, Sri Lanka7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
we recently stayed at the hotel and had a positive experience overall. The food was delicious, the room was comfortable, and the staff was friendly. However, I would suggest to the management team to consider providing essential amenities like toothbrushes, toothpaste, and sanitary bags for guests' convenience
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Very Hot whether
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Blue Lagoon Resort Kalpitiya, Owner at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya
Responded 10 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food, room, and our friendly staff. We really appreciate your suggestion about the amenities – we'll definitely look into adding those for our guests' convenience. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samal perera wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spend two days here and had a wonderful time. The room was filled with all the necessities and was super clean. The pool was well maintained. The restaurant manager Sugath was very friendly and helpful. He served us the dishes of our choice. You will be able to go Dolphin watching and kayaking. What ever you do, you should not miss the beautiful beach.
There was an island wide curfew when we were checking out from the hotel. The hotel management went an extra mile and got us curfew passes so that we will have no trouble returning home safely.
Highly recommended place. Also they have a generator so nothing to worry about power cuts.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dharani M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya is one of best place to experience.Specially the panorama of the resort is amazing and love to invite photo lovers to feel it. From the room service to cafeteria the service is eexcellent and all we could to have yummy foods from various cultures.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhanusl_07 wrote a review Mar 2023
Sri Lanka23 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The greatest feature is their cabana style beautiful chalets and you can park your vehicles next to the cabana. The staff was really helpful and friendly specially Ms. Tharika was very helpful on doing the reservation , and in the restaurant Mr. Pradeep was very humble of serving us. you can do kayaking which is provided by the resort itself.

The only disappointing part was the lagoon ride, since this is our first visit to kalpitiya , number of times we informed the reservation team to arrange us the lagoon boat ride since they have mentioned it will be arranged via the resort and will be informed. but unfortunately once we check in to the hotel the staff was kind of lack of coordinating this and till we check out they didnt manage to book a ride. since they mentioned they have only one boat ride partner their communicating with and their boats wasn't available that time.therefore we have to personally call several another third party boat rides and arrange it by our self. and we had to check out from the hotel earlier at 10.00am since we had to visit the dockyard.because of this our planned schedule was delayed.
Theretofore my advise is to contact a third-party lagoon tour by yourself and arrange it prior to the booking.

Apart from that hassle it was an one of a kind experience to spend our holiday
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Family chalets have large space
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swetha J wrote a review May 2023
Colombo, Sri Lanka30 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It was fairly a good place but customer service was bad. They did not provide necessary essentials to rooms like towels even after requested. Food was fairly ok but variety of food is very poor according to the price they charged. Vegetarians were not taken into consideration in preparation of food.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
hj j wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful and nicely kept place. Have a unique experience. "
Read full review
Aruni c wrote a tip Dec 2023
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful ,double check your bookings ."
Read full review
Thusitha Abeykoon wrote a tip Dec 2023
Polgahawela, Sri Lanka7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very Hot whether "
Read full review
Yasas A wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very easy to find the place "
Read full review
Chamith K wrote a tip Nov 2023
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very good place"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalpitiya area.
PRICE RANGE
£34 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaNorth Western ProvinceKalpitiya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BLUE LAGOON RESORT, KALPITIYA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya
Which popular attractions are close to The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Nearby attractions include Kalpitiya Kite Beach (1.3 miles) and Kalpitiya Kite Beach (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Conveniently located restaurants include The BNKR Cafe, Windy Waves Beach Restaurant, and Mamas Here Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya have airport transportation?
Yes, The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Kalpitiya.
Are pets allowed at The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kalpitiya Kite Beach (1.3 miles).
All Kalpitiya HotelsKalpitiya Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KalpitiyaHotels near The Blue Lagoon Resort, Kalpitiya
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire