The Rascals Kite Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Rascals Kite Resort

Pichchaithambi Tottham Anawasal, Kalpitiya 61360 Sri Lanka
Traveller (211)
Dining (23)
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 9 special resorts in Kalpitiya
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
A brand new resort next to the latest kite spot, the Kalpitiya lagoon in Sri Lanka. Dine well; fresh seafood, fruits and vegetables daily and relax in the cozy environment of our resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Yoga room
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 2 more

Location

Pichchaithambi Tottham Anawasal, Kalpitiya 61360 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
73.4 mi
See all flights
214Reviews7Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 22
  • 14
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
we e wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at the Rascals beginning of March 2021, during COVID. Even before booking, Johanna supported me with all the necessary paper work and helped me also to extend my visa.

Room & Location

Comfortable room with AC and everything you need
Great pool that is cleaned everyday
Wonderful plants around the whole resort
No real beach access, but we went out with the boat to the ocean everytime we wanted to go swimming (much better than the lagoon)
Beautiful Jetty to relax and chill

Food

Robbi is a great cook who spoils you with homemade italian food. (Even the pasta is made by himself!)
We had different dishes every day and Robbi & Johanna always asked if there is anything that we don't want to eat
Beside Italian food we also had local Sri Lankan food, which was prepared by Suji and his family
The food was great and if we went kite surfing during lunch time, lunch was prepared and brought to the beach

Kitesurfing

Before the stay at the Rascals I never tried kite surfing and only realise now, after taking lessons with other instructors and at other destinations, what a privilege I had.

The equipment is top notch and everyone takes care that the materials are treated very well. (No sand on the kite, cleaning everything from salt water, etc.). I was kiting in Tarifa/Spain beginning of October and was shocked how poor the material was, that they gave you for rent. (a lot of broken kites)

We usually went out kiting when the wind was strong enough and took the boat to a hidden beach, that we had all for ourselves. Shallow water + enough space to kite and setting everything up.

Robbi was my instructor and from the first second you understand that this guy lives and loves kite surfing. He is a total expert and transfers his passion about the sport over to you. He adapts the content of the lesson to your skill and if you progress faster he amends the next exercises. (In other locations I have seen students sitting for 3 hours in the sand steering the kite).

People

The staff, Robbi and Johanna have been wonderful hosts. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and hope to get back soon again. It is a truely wonderful place with wonderful people.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hum01 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom136 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rascals is a fab resort - beautiful setting, beautiful garden and very friendly staff. We turned up a day early (my bad) and they were very helpful in finding us a room and getting us settled in. We’re travelling with our 5 month old baby girl and everyone at Rascals, especially Hassiter, was happy to hold her during mealtimes (or at any time) which was really lovely of them.

My partner Will had daily kite surfing lessons with Rimsan. Will (by his own account) is not the fastest learner but Rimsan is an excellent teacher and got him up and riding and a lot more confident. Would highly recommend him as a teacher. When you’re not in the water you can watch him and the others perform kite tricks.

The food is delicious - you eat what you are served, there’s no menu as such, but it’s really good fresh food and there are veggie options. And the daily dessert is yummy... You don’t go hungry! 

Even though I wasn’t kite surfing I was more than happy to laze around the resort and use the pool. A couple of days I took the lunchtime boat to the kite surfing beach and hung out there. A beautiful beach and lots of fun watching the kite surfers. 

Huge thanks to Johanna for helping us organise our stay. I absolutely recommend Rascals and we will all definitely come back again. Hopefully our little girl will kite surf here one day!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil5556 wrote a review Jan 2020
Troon, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fantastic stay for 6days here at the beginning of our trip to Sri Lanka. Chose the Jungalow which was lovely, loads of space, comfy bed, large seating area out front and the outdoor bathroom is great.

The atmosphere here is brilliant, very chilled, relaxed and friendly. Staff were all very helpful and happy to look after you.

Breakfast & dinner are served in the bar area on a long table which encourages you to meet and get to know the other guests - we met some great people and had a great time kiting with them during our stay.

Dinners and lunch are mostly typical rice & curry but were lovely and decent portions. Lunch was brought to the kite spot every day.

You get taken by boat to the various kite spots. We kited at the “Dream Spot” & the lagoon. The Dream spot we had to ourselves and at the lagoon Rascals hut is at the top end with plenty of space.

Hire kit was all new Duotone kites, Evos and Dice. We didn’t have lessons but the instructors and boat driver were all friendly & helpful.

Overall a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theresa B wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First, we had booked only one week at the Rascals but after a couple of days we decided to stay for another week just because we had such an amazing time there. We went there for kitesurfing and went out on the water with Johanna and Roberto (who run the place) every day. They made sure we got to the best spots and provided us with amazing variing homemade lunches and dinners. All togerther we had a super fun and super relaxed time and Johanna and Roberto made us feel like we were staying with friends/family!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dara A wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel like they are mislead and scamming visitors! It’s nowhere near any kitesurfing beaches. To get to the beach you have to take a boat trip that comes at a cost.

They deliberately delay departure to the beach till mid day and by 4pm they pressure to pack up and go home.

So basically you don’t have the freedom to kite when you desire.

If you can’t do kitesurfing there is absolutely nothing else there to do! You can’t even swim as the water is filthy and will make you sick. I had foot infection so did another British traveller. Luckily she seeked medical assistance before causing her septic shock.

It’s absolutely overpriced! For that much money one expect better service and food.

Be aware of the dodgy Italian instructor! If you drop your guards his hands are in your pocket.

DO NOT purchase any products from him! He will sell you faulty ones!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Johanna Berg, General Manager at The Rascals Kite Resort
Responded 1 May 2023
Dear Dara, Thank you for your feedback, Im sorry that your complaints were not expressed during your stay as there seem to have been a lot of misunderstandings which could have been sorted while you were here. This was your second visit to us, same property and operation. We have a beautiful kite spot in front of the property and also arrange boat shuttle to the Kalpitiya lagoon free of charge (included in your stay). No boat trips are deliberatly delayed as we are a kitesurfing school and we host kitesurfers. The only time we work outside the schedueled times is when the weather gets in the way. The boat trips that you have been charged for were the full day trips to vella island that you joined in on. The Kalpitiya lagoon is not a place for swimming, but its a big lagoon and water is always exchanged with the ocean, however, just like any other place in the tropics, wounds have to be looked after carefully and im sorry that you were unfortune with your infection. Im sorry that your meals here were not in your liking, we do our very best for all our guest to be happy with their meals and would have made adjustments for you as well if you would have commuicated the same while here. We do not have any dodgy staff working on our team, please contact us directly if you have had any problems while here and we will clear it out. Wishing you all the best! Johanna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iain T wrote a review Jan 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had 2 magical weeks at Rascals. The ambiance is fantastic, super welcoming, and as a slightly older than average solo traveler this is so important. Food is great, wasn’t expecting mainly Italian food, but made by Italians what could be better. You could not ask for any more when it comes to location, beautiful. Staff brilliant, Kitesurfing location could not be better. If you want a taste of Sri Lanka, Anawasal resort right next door is fabulous. Thanks Joanna and Robi and all the staff at Radcals. I’ll see you next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pepe P wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I travelled there for 2 Weeks and had one of the best times in my life! Honestly!
I mean the guys there, especially Roby, are immensely dedicated to their job and to make your stay as great as possible.
The food (mostly genuine italian food cooked by an italian guy) is amazing. People are coming from other resorts and from far away just to enjoy the famous pizzas and pastas there.
And about kiting... man, my kiting always improves so much when i am there. It is the second time i visited them and i am at a much better level now. Robi, the kiteteacher, is simply a pro living for his passion. And that is what you immediately feel when going with them on the water. I even bought my equipment from robi. Got the best price you can find.
So guys, make yourself an impression and go visit the place. What concerns me, i found new friends there which i will surely meet again in the future. Cheers!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mari M wrote a review Nov 2021
13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had such a memorable time staying here.

The place is calm and beautiful, with a really nice garden and a social pool area. The bungalows were super clean and nice, and the staff super friendly and helpful.

The kiting was world class, with wind almost every day and perfect location. Every day we took short boat trips to different amazing kite spots depending on what we wanted, from the flattest sports, to nice waves and epic downwinders.

I can’t wait to go back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Audrey Vdv wrote a review Jul 2022
15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 10 days here. The place is very nice, well designed , chill mood . We felt instantly home. Johanna and Roby are great guests. You can ask anything they will figure it out.
We were he to kitesurf so you follow the flow. A boat will bring you to the spots. Either the close lagoon that is already a great spot and very close or you can go explore other amazing spots like « dream spot ».
Food was delicious every day. First time we eat so well even more as we stayed 10 days.
Will definitely come back to the rascals for our next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lieke wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is beautiful, for kiters or non-kiters. I have spend 14 days and we went kiting by boat almost every day. A lovely peaceful place. Swimming pool, cabana's are awesome and a beautiful outdoor bathroom under the palmtrees. Joanna is a lovely person and I got the best tips for improvement from Robbie.
I have definitely found the best place for kiting in Sri Lanka and cant wait to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from May_bt
World103 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi there, There are no safes in room and no need for ones. The place is completely safe and we left everything including cash and passports. No worries at all. Feel free to ask any other questions.
Answer from The rascals
Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
hi we have boats at our premises for that purpose and some gear
Chandimal Fernando wrote a tip Mar 2021
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka21 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Basically cabana type rooms are bigger."
Read full review
jadedexpat wrote a tip Aug 2019
Doha, Qatar287 contributions225 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"during the mosquito season I would definitely recommend the jungalow over the normal rooms"
Read full review
Viraj V wrote a tip Jul 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka6 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"try to get AC cabana but they don't have much"
Read full review
RGN traveller wrote a tip Jul 2019
67 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are good"
Read full review
May_bt wrote a tip Feb 2019
World103 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Resort have no hot water Note that not all room has indoor showers"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalpitiya area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaNorth Western ProvinceKalpitiya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RASCALS KITE RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rascals Kite Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Rascals Kite Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kalpitiya Kite Beach (1.1 miles) and Kalpitiya Kite Beach (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rascals Kite Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Rascals Kite Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rascals Kite Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rascals Kite Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The BNKR Cafe, Windy Waves Beach Restaurant, and Mamas Here Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rascals Kite Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Rascals Kite Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Rascals Kite Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rascals Kite Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Arabic, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rascals Kite Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kalpitiya Kite Beach (1.1 miles).
All Kalpitiya HotelsKalpitiya Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KalpitiyaHotels near The Rascals Kite Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire