We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oriental Hotel

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Rebuilt from the ground up in 2010, Oriental Hotel stands proudly in the beautiful coastal city of Kobe. With a history of over 145 years, Oriental Hotel is widely recognized as Japan's first Western style hotel. Modeled after its predecessors, the hotel's interior features rich wood tones as well as vivid marine colors to represent its unique location between the Rokko Mountain range and Osaka Bay inlet.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Room Service
Wheelchair access
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Smoking rooms available
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Special Offer:Looking for room?
Reviews & more
545Reviews
1,086Photos
6Q+A
28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 358
  • 136
  • 31
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The Oriental is an excellent luxury hotel presented in a traditional classic style that provides you with everything you would expect from a hotel of its class. We went in expecting luxury, and we were not disappointed.

All the details of the hotel, from the lobby to the room de
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MDJL81, Thank you for your stellar review! We could not have said it better even if we tried! We pride ourselves on everything you mentioned above. As they say, "The Devil is in the details", and that is our approach to best serving our guests. To put ourselves in our guests shoes and create an environment that we ourselves would want to be in. We are truly pleased that you were able to feel that during your stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
It is hard to fault this hotel. Great location, beautiful rooms, 5 star service and superb breakfast buffet. Tasteful, but not over the top. Traditional but with a modern twist. And a good bar on the top floor. I would not stay anywhere else in Kobe, which is also a lovely city t
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear David E, Thank you for your kind words and review of us here on TripAdvisor. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay was one to write home about! Nothing pleases us more than hearing praise from a satisfied guest. We will continue to do our part and hone our skills to further knock your socks off the next time you have a chance to visit! Thank you again for your comment and we hope you have a great day.
Read more
this was a great hotel. 5 star service, great breakfast buffet - both Japanese and Western selections, nice bedroom and bathroom. There was just enough English being spoken at the hotel to get by. The staff that spoke little or no English bent over backwards to help us and mak
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear rocknrollal, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and experience with us here on TripAdvisor. Needless to say, we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was an exceptional one. Thank you for your kind words. Also, while we are always doing our best to better ourselves in communicating in multiple languages, we are glad that our desire and passion for our guests to enjoy themselves and relax is being clearly relayed. Should you find yourself in the Kobe area again in the future, we would love to have the opportunity to serve you again!
Read more
We loved staying here for the last four nights of our trip
We love walking everywhere but it is a bit of a trek to the local station although taxis are not outrageously expensive
Reception and breakfast are on the 17th floor, unusual, but with magnificent views of the city night
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded 24 Sep 2018
Dear Sarah B, Thank you for your recent visit and comment! We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a lovely one! Reception and breakfast as well as our other restaurants are all on the top floor (17th floor) for a very good reason. We believe that each and every guest, no matter the cost of their room should be able to enjoy the best view in the house! Kobe looks even better from the top! We look forward to having you back again some day. Thank you again and have a great day.
Read more
I was spending few days in Kobe for work and stayed at Oriental hotel.
The rooms ate great, Japanese style with lots of details.
As i was in town during the typhoon Jude, the most severe in the last 25 years, i couldn’t go out for the full fay, so i worked from the hotel. All wo
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded 8 Sep 2018
Dear Mariana G, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and the great folks on TripAdvisor! We're sorry to hear that one of those experiences was one of Japan's most severe typhoons in the last 25 years, but are glad to hear that you made it out unscathed. We're happy to hear that everything was to your liking and that we were able to provide you with the necessities you needed. On behalf of everyone here at Oriental Hotel, thank you for your patronage and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Suite at the Oriental Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Suite at the Oriental Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Standard Twin Room at the Oriental Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Deluxe Harbour View Room (King Bed) at the Oriental Hotel
Photo provided by managementOriental Hotel
Harbor View Room
Previous
I have just been charged twice on my credit card for high tea. Who should i contact for investigation and refund ?
Dear camuche123, We sincerely apologize for the confusion and would be more than happy to assist you in getting this cleared up. Seeing as TripAdvisor does not allow email address or websites in the Q&A section, I have gone ahead and sent you a private message. We look forward to hearing from you.
0 votes
Show all answers
I have just been charged twice on my credit card for high tea. Who should i contact for investigation and refund ?
I would say the hotel directly, they were so helpful to me I am sure they will handle. A good credit card company will handle it for you in most cases
0 votes
Do you have rooms with two beds or with a king-size bed? We plan to stay for two weeks at the end of March and beginning of April so the beds are most important to us. Dennis and Gloria Martin
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Martin, We most certainly do have both types of rooms available here at Oriental Hotel.
0 votes
We are going to stay in Oriental Hotel in June 4 and though I've a confirmation from the Hotel but when I emailed to ask them questions , nobody seem to response which is quite strange and now I'm worried and wondered if my booking of 2 rooms are finally confirmed. I needed the coinciege to help me book an outside restuarant because they only accept reservation book by a Hotel. I would really appreciate for hotel staff to response.
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Oriental Hotel. We hope that your stay with us was a memorable one. For future visitors with same problem: Please note that our confirmation e-mail is an automated no-reply email address. For hotel inquiries, please contact us directly from our homepage. Thank you for your understanding.
0 votes
Can you please tell me how far is the Oriental Hotel from the sannomiya station and how did you tell the taxi driver the Hotel name, because I didn't get a reply from Hotel.
Good morning tiki248, We are located roughly 10 minutes on foot from Sannomiya Station or a few minutes by taxi. If you do decide to take a taxi, please tell the driver you would like to go to "Oriental Hotel in Kyomachi". Our hotel is next to Louis Vuitton and Barney`s New York. or alternatively, if you could print out the directions in Japanese and show them to the driver. The address in Japanese is "オリエンタルホテル:神戸市中央区京町25". We hope you have a safe trip and look forward to seeing you soon!
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
12
"Harbour views are good, but the other side has mountains - all good."
"Any direction of WENS will be OK."
"Harbour view is great, but the city view, with Mr Rokko in the background, is not to be sniffed at."
"Add breakfast when booking!"
"Book room with breakfast."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$161 - US$537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiHyogo PrefectureKobeChuo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing