We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heron House B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heron House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 202: English reviews
Dunster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The is the place to stay for any reason. We booked our third visit and we're gutted and depressed when we both went down a couple of days before our much needed break with this bad 100 day cough that leaves you feeling drained and awful. Having had to cancel our stay we can't wait to rebook when we are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1946Martin
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

Hello Martin. Well you are not alone! I think I have had about half a dozen couples who have had to cancel or postpone their Devon escape in the last couple of months. However, I have sent you an email today with a selection of alternative dates, hopefully one of them will have a fit with your busy schedule. So...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 2 night stay that was very comfortable. Room at the back of house had ensuite shower, comfy bed, tea making facilities. Enjoyed drive over Exmoor and particularly Dunster Castle. Very nice breakfast with something for everyone. Thank you for a very nice stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2016Dorsetlady2016
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your brief mid winter break with us here at Heron House, just a little bit of time to unwind and relax and enjoy someone else doing the cooking for a change. I hope we see you again soon. Best wishes Fiona

Berkshire, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd booked a couple of nights at Heron House and were looking forward to what looked to be very comfortable accommodation and we weren't disappointed. Our room had the 4-poster bed and en-suite bathroom which overlooks the main street where a good view of the double and triple parking so beloved of the good folk of Bampton is to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoppysDadUK
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

5 Stars, thank you! So pleased you were comfortably accommodated and you enjoyed the view of the hilarious parking system that is Bampton's own. The Snowdrops are just coming out now, so we will be busy with guests who stay for a couple of nights to experience the wonderful display in Snowdrop Valley on Exmoor during February, such a shame...

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We had three lovely days at Heron House visiting family who live near by. Fiona's breakfasts are superb. I particularly love the fruit compote. What a welcome complete with Christmas Cake. Pantomime in Barnstaple great fun. Hair raising drive from Watchet via Porlock and Lynmouth. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggcooper
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

Hello ggcooper It was lovely to have you both stay here at Heron House again, so pleased you enjoyed our local Panto even if the drive was hellish! Just a small bit of Christmas cake to finish up..... Bridge ladies on Thursday will probably do the job. See you again soon I hope. Happy New Year. Best wishes Fiona

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Lovely b&b - home from home only better. Fiona was as welcoming as ever. Snug room with very comfy bed, loads of hot water and plenty of toiletries. Some super touches like the mincepies with our tea tray on arrival. A real fire in the lounge and Christmas cake in the dining room if we wanted.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelI4683DR
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

You are kind! Thank you for a lovely review of your Christmas 2016 stay, so glad you enjoyed our mincepies. Any time you are in need of a bolt hole....... Happy New Year! Best wishes Fiona

Bristol
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Heron House is located in Bampton, a village to the southeast of Exmoor and a good base from which to explore that part of the moor. We were there for a short break to do some walking, so found the hearty breakfasts a most suitable way to start the day. These comprised well selected local produce where possible, including bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BristolElephants
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

Hello BristolElephants! Thank you very much for giving Heron House 5 stars with your review, I think you timed your walking break perfectly, good weather, not too cold, children all safely in school and lots of Exmoor ponies to be seen. I really hope you will visit us again next year for another Exmoor challenge. Enjoy Christmas and Happy New...

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Our hostess Fiona made us feel very welcome and our stay there was excellent. A cosy sitting room to relax in, our bedroom was perfect and the bathroom had a large bath to wallow in. All this topped up by a delicious breakfast, combining healthy eating with a cooked English.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moore243
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Moore243 Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay here at Heron House while you travelled around the area to get a feel of the place should you decide to relocate to the West Country. As Churchill once said 'time on reconnaissance is seldom wasted' I hope to welcome you to Heron House again soon. Best...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Stayed two nights in this lovely B & B. A beautiful house with a lovely calm feel. Everything was fresh and clean and Fiona was very welcoming. Nice touches such as torches next to the bed, a small tin of biscuits, fresh milk and proper coffee in the rooms. Breakfast was superb - a huge selection of delicious homemade jams,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicefos26
FionaClifford, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Alicefos26 Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us in Bampton, I am delighted everything here at Heron House was to your liking and the weather was fantastic, you were so lucky. The colour on the trees all over Exmoor is ravishing this year and so far this autumn not too much rain, it will...

Wye Valley of Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Great location, lots to do in the area, very comfortable,lovely food , very relaxing we visited two nation trust properties, Knightshayes, and Arlington Court . We also travelled to Lynmouth & Lynton , learned about the disaster in 1952 . Also good walks on Exmoor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chriseverett7
Fiona C, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

Hello I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Heron House and found your few days in the West Country to be really relaxing. Knightshayes and Arlington Court are two fabulous National Trust properties, I have not had any guest say otherwise. I enrolled on a Christmas Wreath making workshop at Arlington a couple of years ago, so good and...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

When we arrived at Bampton we were a little disappointed with the exterior of the B&B. It could do with a face-lift! We could not check in the room till 5 p.m, which is rather late in the day. But we were then greeted by the lovely lady owner Fiona, who could not have been more friendly. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apkrd
Fiona C, Owner at Heron House B&B, responded to this review

So glad you liked our Breakfasts and comfy bed. There is only one Sunday in the month when the Swan does not serve food, and this is Quiz night, huge fun and well worth taking part. There are other restaurants and pubs in the area, notably in Dulverton and Waterrow, all serving excellent food, so no one will go hungry!...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
21.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
10.8 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
258 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Heron House B&B

Address: Brook Street, Bampton EX16 9LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Price Range: £78 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heron House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Heron House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House B&B Bampton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heron House B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Heron House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back room nice and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles 2016Dorsetlady2016, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only 4 poster room has en suite bath, but being front facing, some road noise from traffic, but not overly obtrusive”
 of 5 bubbles PoppysDadUK, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get down for the fabulous breakfast!”
 of 5 bubbles apkrd, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Baths and shows available”
 of 5 bubbles Gusalexander, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms are quite and have views of the outstanding garden. Back bedroom has an onsuite”
 of 5 bubbles caroly812, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5