We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Inn

537 reviews
Save
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“sausage”(106 reviews)
“dog owners”(22 reviews)
“love dogs”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (537)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
149
146
80
86
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
149
146
80
86
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausagedog ownerslove dogsreal ciderscider festivaldog friendly placejacket potatolulworth covedog loverschicken currydog treatslow beamshuge portionsgreat pubgreat selectionpub grubwhitebait
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I visited here with my Dad and Sister who were visiting from North Yorkshire for the weekend (they know a good country pub when they see one!), we stumbled upon this gem on our way down the jurassic coast, the pub is thatched and in...More

Thank Mrandmrsmcb
Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Mrandmrsmcb, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. The whole team have read your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that the next time you are in the area you call in to see us again.

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Called in on a dinnertime for a spot of early lunch. Now before I complain the guy behind the bar was great so not levelling my moan at him. Right onto my moan the whole pub looks grubby and tired the seats we sat on...More

Thank Telfordmon
Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Telfordmon, I am sorry that your visit to us was obviously a disappointing one. We have only very recently taken over at the Castle and are still very much operating with what we inherited at that time. We are due to close for a...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Saw this place having spent a day walking, we just intended having a quick drink as we had our dog with us but ended up staying for dinner. Our dog was made very welcome. Had a really lovely veggie curry and also free sweets as...More

Thank 7wonderss
Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 30 October 2017

Dear 7 wonders, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments back to the team and also informed chef of the kind feedback which you have provided. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 26 October 2017

I recently found an old photograph of my mother standing outside the Castle Inn with the then landlord and landlady. this was taken approx 42 years ago and i wanted to take a photo of myself standing in the same place my mum once stood.....More

Thank Jayne B
Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Jayne B, I am so pleased that we got to see to see the old photograph, the whole team love seeing old photographs of the Castle and it was lovely to be able to take a new picture for you in the exact same...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We called in here today on our way to Lulworth cove. It’s a very pretty, old pub with low beams etc. The food, which we waited ages for, was sub standard. My 7 year old wouldn’t touch the sausages. And the chips were rotten. The...More

Thank Caroline C
Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Carline C, please accept my sincere apologies for what was obviously a disappointing experience for you and your family. I will share your comments with the team and Chef. I am in the process of organising some form of baby changing facilities which we...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456108
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jennifer M
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Nicola B | Reviewed this property |
12pm I think
1
Vote
Nicola B
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from owain12 | Reviewed this property |
I was told it was sold, let's hope the new owners spend some much needed money on the place. It was very bad & in need of total refurbish & modernization. Can't even begin to describe how bad the place had become.
1
Vote
Nicola B
22 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Pete M | Reviewed this property |
No. I don,t think so.
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Rustic Inn"
Read review
"No.2A is the best room."
Read review
"avoid room 16"
Read review
"Choose a room in another establishment."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing