We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Dabbling Duck

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Dabbling Duck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 363: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Noisiest place I've ever stayed in. Doors Slamming, loud staff all the way up to 10pm and started again 7am in the morning. I was in room 4, next to the office. Neibour had loud TV until 11.30pm and started again at 5am. Staff no help at all. Wafer thin walls Will never stay again. Shame really.

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will admit that the place wasn't quite what I'd pictured after scrolling through the photos, but I wasn't the least bit disappointed. Check-in was a little hectic because there was quite a lively crowd in the pub, and the staff was juggling multiple duties. But they handled it all gracefully, with a smile for everyone. Room and bathroom were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meredith F
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Dabbling Duck. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. After a busy summer we are trying to get a few things improved for the Christmas season that is fast approaching. Hopefully we will see you again soon. More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for family plus dog for 3 nights. Lovely cosy individually decorated and furnished rooms. Dog bed and welcome biscuit provided too. Breakfasts were a perfect start to the day. It was such a nice place to relax with a great menu we came back for dinner there each night. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Pub is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia F
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are pleased you had such a lovely stay with us, as you say the village is beautiful and has some great walks. Hopefully we will see you and your dogs again soon. More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a Garden Room. Very well appointed room with comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Breakfast menu was best I have ever had for choices. Other meals excellent and helpful staff. Will definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Murdoch46
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us here at The Dabbling Duck. We are glad you had such a nice stay with us and enjoyed the popular breakfast, Its a firm favourite with many of the guests that stay due to choice and homemade elements of it all. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Dalyan, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in on Saturday for lunch on the off chance and were accommodated in a back dining area because the bar area was full. We were very well attended to and drinks bought to us. The mussels were delicious as was the curry! Staff were great and I would highly recommend this establishment a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank wilberforce_10
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its great to hear you popped in and your needs were met by the staff and you got a delicious meal too. We hope to see you again. More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub is interesting, about five miles from us it had closed when we first came to Norfolk. It was saved by a consortium of villagers, became successful and has gone from strength to strength. If you are checking out locations, Great Massingham is simply delightful, one of the prettiest villages in this area. We called in recently and chose... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tyketyke
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Its lovely to hear such nice comments and are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us, we will be sure to pass this feedback on to the chefs. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

After a long road trip back to "Gods own North Norfolk" . She who must be obeyed at all times , phoned and got us a table . Hold the front page , we had fish and chips ! Ten out ten fish dish, in a friendly local with a great bunch of guys making you feel welcome .Big shout... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James B
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us a review. We appreciate all comments we receive, its nice to know that you had a great meal with us. We have a lot of regular and local customers and this adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the place, and the welcoming feeling you get. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward... More 

Filleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We was on holiday and was looking for somewhere to eat,came across a sign for The Dabbling Duck so we decided to try,we was not dissappointed situated in a village called great massington with a lovely pond. Once inside we asked if they was still serving food as it was past 2pm as it happen they was and showed us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita T
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and writing us a review. It is great to hear you had a delicious lunch with us, we serve all day so not to disappoint but we do serve a reduced menu between 2.30-6pm. Although this still does have our tasty fish and chips on along with some other classic dishes. We look forward... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Just perfect for a getaway - buzzy village pub. Great rooms - easy service and made to feel welcome. I love mussels and have eaten loads over the years - these are as good as they get. If you like 'em try 'em - you won't be disappointed. I've read the reviews the negative stuff in my opinion is cobblers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of comments and take on board what is said, its really great to know you have had such a wonderful stay with us. The mussels are a great dish so popular this time of year, we are pleased you got to enjoy these whilst you were staying with us. We hope to... More 

Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We've heard that this is a great pub with excellent food that is sympathetic to coeliacs. Tick on all three counts. We arrived to a very busy vibrant bar, lively atmosphere. Well trained, switched on front of house staff were attentive, not intrusive and because the bar was busy, suggested we go straight to our table. Good call. And loads... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank saryharris
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your visit to us. Its really nice to hear such nice comments, we do our best to cater for all needs, including any dietary needs you may have. Our gin shelf is packed with different variety's we are sure to find one to suits, ask our friendly barman for a recommendation. We look... More 

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Massingham
12.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,146 reviews
13.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
684 reviews
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
771 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
497 reviews
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Dabbling Duck

Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Massingham
Price Range: £69 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dabbling Duck 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dabbling Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dabbling Duck Hotel Great Massingham
The Dabbling Duck Great Massingham, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dabbling Duck staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dabbling Duck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only ate here - did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles tyketyke, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are a little bigger and take pets.”
 of 5 bubbles Dilly17, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book into the restaurant before you travel, they kindly sent me an email to advise this.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinL-Kna, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We noted that if you could not do stairs the pub has garden rooms although they are more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamL421, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpysheff, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay