We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dabbling Duck

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dabbling Duck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 378: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Thank you Dabbling Duck - another wonderful stay at your cracking pub. Huge bonus for me - Brancaster Mussels were on!!! Such a treat. I can't fault the experience at all. This is such a buzzy local with a great range of ales and beers - my wife loves the 'gin menu' !! Cheers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate a meal yesterday lunchtime and the food was generally very good but I felt I should complain about the cheese board. Despite mentioning a nut allergy on my booking form the board appeared with some walnuts alongside the cheese. No mention of walnuts was made on the menu. After complaining, the board was replaced but I think this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night for bed and breakfast. The room was no.5 and very small,but this was alright since only using it for a bed for the night. Breakfast was lovely. I had kippers and husband a selection of full English. We both had a slice of granary toast, thick cut and evenly toasted. Lovely. Orange juice tasted of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine B
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, Simple room which lacked nothing , with great en-suite.( it is a country pub after all !) Breakfast to die for , If you're up in N W Norfolk ....STAY HERE.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very stay at the dabbling duck, friendly staff, excellent food and the room was spot on. I'd definitely stay again and have no hesitation in recommending to anyone who's looking for a place to stay or eat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AntToon
Kent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dabbling Duck has a perfect village location. I stayed in one of the newer garden rooms which was very peaceful. A big comfortable bed and very good shower. Breakfast was just right and dinner was excellent with good beers on sale and from what I read a pretty extensive Gin (not for me though) list !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TerryToz
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the garden rooms are becoming more and more popular. The chef's work really hard in the kitchen to produce top quality dishes I will make sure to pass on your kind comments. We hope to see you again, thank...

UK
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely New Years stay here, great service, the most amazing meal on NYE & fantastic walks with the dogs in the local area. Unfortunately some of the relaxation we were enjoying was spoilt at having to query a £200 overcharge on the bill on checkout. It was apparently an extremely tedious ordeal for the woman that I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eniddly
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are really pleased to hear that you had a great New Years Eve with us, The chef worked really hard on the menu and the comments we have had has made all the hard work worth it. I do apologise about the mix up with your bill, we...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This is becoming a regular lunch time venue for me and a few friends. Always totally reliable the food is awesome, good value and innovative. We were a good mix today including vegan and we were all catered for in style. Definitely coming back and would have no qualms recommending this place. Great for families too!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 544louise
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, We are glad that you enjoy coming to visit us, its always nice to meet new people but we love seeing the same friendly faces too. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Spent the night at the pub on xmas eve very busy , and we decided to pre book dinner , which was brilliant, the level of service was outstanding with excellent food. The room with which we was booked in was excellent too, modern with old charm if you get my drift , and I slept soundly. Breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neil m
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are really pleased that you had a lovely stay with us, Its great to know the team still gave a great service even though they were busy, this is what we strive to do. We hope you had a lovely Christmas and hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Went here for my birthday in June and had a fabulous meal with my husband and our parents. All the food we had was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. Friendly staff. We sat outside and had to pay as we ordered which was a bit annoying but apparently it's because people do a runner before paying at the end when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgia G
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review, Its really nice to hear you had a lovely lunch with us, We are sorry about the having to pay when you order part but here at The Dabbling Duck that is our policy with outside tables. Unfortunately in the past we have had a lot of problems so...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Massingham
12.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,213 reviews
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
799 reviews
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
710 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Dabbling Duck

Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Massingham
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dabbling Duck 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Dabbling Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dabbling Duck Hotel Great Massingham
The Dabbling Duck Great Massingham, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dabbling Duck staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Dabbling Duck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If in doubt ask.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonycH9955QN, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only ate here - did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles tyketyke, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are a little bigger and take pets.”
 of 5 bubbles Dilly17, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book into the restaurant before you travel, they kindly sent me an email to advise this.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinL-Kna, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We noted that if you could not do stairs the pub has garden rooms although they are more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamL421, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5