We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dabbling Duck

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Dabbling Duck
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 372: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely New Years stay here, great service, the most amazing meal on NYE & fantastic walks with the dogs in the local area. Unfortunately some of the relaxation we were enjoying was spoilt at having to query a £200 overcharge on the bill on checkout. It was apparently an extremely tedious ordeal for the woman that I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eniddly
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are really pleased to hear that you had a great New Years Eve with us, The chef worked really hard on the menu and the comments we have had has made all the hard work worth it. I do apologise about the mix up with your bill, we...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is becoming a regular lunch time venue for me and a few friends. Always totally reliable the food is awesome, good value and innovative. We were a good mix today including vegan and we were all catered for in style. Definitely coming back and would have no qualms recommending this place. Great for families too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 544louise
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, We are glad that you enjoy coming to visit us, its always nice to meet new people but we love seeing the same friendly faces too. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the night at the pub on xmas eve very busy , and we decided to pre book dinner , which was brilliant, the level of service was outstanding with excellent food. The room with which we was booked in was excellent too, modern with old charm if you get my drift , and I slept soundly. Breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neil m
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are really pleased that you had a lovely stay with us, Its great to know the team still gave a great service even though they were busy, this is what we strive to do. We hope you had a lovely Christmas and hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for my birthday in June and had a fabulous meal with my husband and our parents. All the food we had was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. Friendly staff. We sat outside and had to pay as we ordered which was a bit annoying but apparently it's because people do a runner before paying at the end when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgia G
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review, Its really nice to hear you had a lovely lunch with us, We are sorry about the having to pay when you order part but here at The Dabbling Duck that is our policy with outside tables. Unfortunately in the past we have had a lot of problems so...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here after a long and muddy walk. It was busy but a warm welcome was offered to us. We had the Red Poll burgers and the Chickpea burgers, which we devoured. In fact, they nourished us so well that we didn't have room for pud. A good discovery - we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and got to taste our extremely popular Red Poll burgers. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in between Christmas and New Year. Fabulous food, great atmosphere, friendly staff even though they were busy. The pub looked cozy and inviting, would definitely return and enjoy a leisurely meal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milkyway1954
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Dabbling Duck, We had an exceptional busy Christmas and New Year, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the service and food wasn't compromised. I will pass your kind comments on to the chef and Front of House team. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came here for food for the second time as when we visited just under a year ago we enjoyed our meals very much. The food was very disappointing, my boyfriend ordered the steak which was nearly all fat, not cooked to how he asked and came with a salad which wasn't nice and chips. My meal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Puggles15
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Fantastic!! Impromptu lunch, booked a couple of hours before and took the dog. Food was amazing, the best fish and chips we have had in a very long time. Puddings also different yet delicious, plates scraped clean. There is a dog menu, so ours enjoyed a pigs ear and a doggie ice cream,, kept her quiet!! Fab service, reasonable prices,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sacha428
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review at The Dabbling Duck, We are really pleased you enjoyed you lunch with us, and got to bring your dog along. I will pass your comments on to the chef and front of house team, we hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

After a long dog walk along the Norfolk coast we decided to eat out. We have visited all the usual coastal pubs and wanted something different for a change. I was aware of The Dabbling Duck and we had visited for just a drink a few weeks earlier. We phoned in at 1.45pm and despite it being at short notice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FromTheDale71
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review us here at the Dabbling Duck. I am really pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us, its always nice to receive nice comments and know that our customers had a nice experience. If you come again, which we hope you do. We have various distance walks and maps available at the...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Noisiest place I've ever stayed in. Doors Slamming, loud staff all the way up to 10pm and started again 7am in the morning. I was in room 4, next to the office. Neibour had loud TV until 11.30pm and started again at 5am. Staff no help at all. Wafer thin walls Will never stay again. Shame really.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris T
Mark D, Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, We are sorry you didn't sleep very well whilst visiting us. unfortunately staff are in at 7 to clean the downstairs and set up for breakfast. We are sorry that you found them noisy. We do hope you try us again and your stay is more comfortable for you.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Massingham
12.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,188 reviews
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
733 reviews
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
696 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Great Bircham
406 reviews
10.1 mi away
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Dabbling Duck

Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Massingham
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dabbling Duck 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Dabbling Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dabbling Duck Hotel Great Massingham
The Dabbling Duck Great Massingham, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dabbling Duck staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich, United Kingdom
3 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Dabbling Duck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only ate here - did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles tyketyke, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are a little bigger and take pets.”
 of 5 bubbles Dilly17, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book into the restaurant before you travel, they kindly sent me an email to advise this.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinL-Kna, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We noted that if you could not do stairs the pub has garden rooms although they are more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamL421, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpysheff, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay