Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mazzard Farm

East Hill, Ottery St. Mary EX11 1QQ England
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 2 ranches in Ottery St. Mary
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mazzard Farm is a collection of 6 luxury holiday cottages (VB 4*), situated around a lovely courtyard. Cottages sleep between 2 and 10 each.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
271Reviews1Q+A32Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 30
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Victoria S wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay at Mazzard Farm.

The wonderful welcome started long before we arrived with quick, clear communication and tonnes of useful information about the surrounding area provided ahead of our arrival.

As is to be expected in rural Devon, there was some nervy driving along small country roads to get to the property and the parking was on a dirt layby instead of in a car park but all very manageable and what you would expect from a country location. It is a minimum 15 minute drive to get to much of anything in the way of amenities or attractions. Again, I think this is to be expected when booking a farm stay.

Upon arrival the cottage was clean, quaint and cozy with all amenities that we wanted plus anything we could possibly need for our 18 month old available on request (cot, high chair, baby monitor, baby gates etc). The kitchen, while definitely not packed with brand new appliances, was fully equipped and easy to cook in (and the local Indian Restaurant was delicious and a quick and easy delivery to the property on the night we didn't feel like cooking).

The property is lovely with a big central courtyard and a picnic table for your own private outdoor dining. Our little guy loved visiting the goats and chickens, playing on the climbing frame and making use of the well-stocked toy shed.

We visited during COVID and felt that they were extremely diligent and thorough in their precautionary measures.

We hope to return again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Many thanks for your wonderful review Victoria, and great to read you had such a wonderful time. Pleased to see also that our COVID approach worked for you. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josie6708 wrote a review Aug 2020
11 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a gem of a place in beautiful surroundings. The location is excellent with the beautiful beaches of Beer and Lyme Regis within easy reach as well as the edges of Dartmoor. The hosts are very friendly and helpful without being in anyway intrusive and the small touches like the welcoming cream tea and the handmade soup were icing on the cake.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Thanks for your really kind words Josie. And great to read our 'approach' works. May be worthwhile for the reader of this that I suspect you were referring to 'hand made soap', as we don't make 'soup' for our guests.... Hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom209 contributions104 helpful votes
Managed to secure 3ngts at Mazzard Farm, knowing little about the location or really what i was going to find when I arrived.

On arrival, i discovered a perfect location for switching off your mind and really relaxing. The home away from home had everything that was needed, including freshly baked scones, jam & cream for our first afternoon tea

The cottage had two perfectly sized bedrooms, with comfortable beds & a lounge, kit that was fully stocked with everything that was needed. The joy of the space, was direct access from the cottage to the courtyard garden, a perfect space that allows the living space to be much bigger & meals to be taken outside. The courtyard is perfect, allowing physical distancing interactions & at the same time is so so so peaceful, with the song of bird call being the only distraction.

I think we did the Farm a disservice by not exploring enough & not using the grounds more, but with the time we had and the desire to explore the great area it was difficult to fit in,

Ruud and his family really couldn't do enough for us. Checking we had settled in, offering directions to the nearest chip shop, giving local knowledge of beaches and places to visit.

If you are looking for a busy social scene and nightlife, then i suggest Mazzard Farm isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a place to allow you to stop, unwind and yet is near enough to a town for shopping and takeaways, beaches for walks and sunshine, then this place may be just for you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 22 Jul 2020
Wow, what a lovely and detailed review David. Many thanks. We hope we can welcome you back some time in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samantha byrne wrote a review Aug 2020
Tamworth, United Kingdom6 contributions
+1
So we stayed here last week for 3/4 nights .firstly the location is quite rural, if you have a larger car you may find it hard to get down the very narrow lanes . Then when you arrive parking is very hard no car park just a space at the side of a lane where if your last home you have to squeeze into a space ( only 6 ) And we have a larger car so struggled most days/nights ...
The accommodation is nice but could do with some attention. The fridge where you put milk had masking tape holding it together that was very dirty and didn’t hold the milk and was broken .so was hard to put the milk somewhere.
The rooms were dark and a few missing bulbs so made it dull . I think replacing a bulb isn’t hard .
Lots of cobwebs and seemed as if it was only surfaced cleaned for months .
In the living room there was a small 2 seater very old unloved sofa , ok for me and my husband but our son had to sit on a tub chair , and if my nephew came who didn’t at last minute, there would of been nowhere for him to relax only a dinning room wooden chair !!
When we booked check in was 3pm , but once paid full amount a week before stay the time changed to 5pm ,ok this is only 2 hours but I thought this quite unprofessional.
Also in the court yard we were told we had a allocated picnic bench with our room name on it ( due to Covid ) but the day I went to use it the owner and his friend were sat on it for about a hour having drinks ( how does that work )

We left a day early anyway so that says it all really !!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Thanks for your review Samantha. Needless to say we are disappointed to read we were not to your taste. Please do accept our appologies for not meeting your expectations. We're also sorry that when I said goodbye to you you didn't feel you could share any of these concerns with us. I will respond to you in an e-mail in regards to some of the individual points you are making. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
refinnejks wrote a review Apr 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom43 contributions14 helpful votes
Mazzard Farm was lovely. We stayed in Bramley cottage which is attached to the owner’s house and sleeps up to 4 (double bed and 2 z-beds). The cottage is beautiful and tucked away from the main courtyard with its own outside seating area. We were visiting family so we only really used the cottage as a base so the facilities were a bit wasted on us - but for a week it would be wonderful especially with children or if you rented multiple cottages with friends or family. We said hello to the goats and chickens and the cockerel is a very efficient alarm cloak. We bought the breakfast hamper for £15 which exceeded my expectations - local jersey cow proper gold top milk, proper butter and all sorts! Home made scones are provided as a welcome gift. If we were going to do a longer self catering holiday in Devon we would definitely choose Mazzard Farm. I’ve already been recommending to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 5 May 2021
What a lovely review Refinnejks (love what you did there!). And many thanks for recommending us. This is where almost half of our new business comes from, so much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in future. Maybe for a slightly longer stay?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ash83_12 wrote a review Oct 2020
Esher, United Kingdom23 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed in Medlar cottage for 3 nights with a 2 year old baby. We received a very warm welcome from Ruud. This stay was really for our baby and she enjoyed it very much. Enjoyed seeing the animals, and walking in the farm. There were many toys to keep her busy and dvds to borrow. For those travelling outside of the the countryside its worth nothing there are some very narrow roads (2 way) leading to the cottage and you need to park on the side and can be a bit tricky if you have a big car. Luckily we didn't have any issue as it wasn't that busy when we went. We were a bit worried about going out in the night in case we faced oncoming traffic in the narrow roads, I wouldn't know where to reverse. The cottage itself was a decent size, but there isn't much storage for clothes in the bedrooms (no chest of drawers in main bedroom). Some of the kitchenware was quite old, we found it difficult to make eggs for example as they stuck to the pan a lot. A few light bulbs were not working (but to be fair, I didn't raise this issue during our stay). All in all the hosts were welcoming and were happy to help when required.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Many thanks for your review Ash, and great to read you and your daughter enjoyed it a lot. Apologies if some of the things in the kitchen weren't up to scratch. For any future stays - where ever they may be - do raise it during your stay as we have tonnes of replacements. Frying pans 'go bad' at the rate of notts, especially in cottages with a dishwasher (the coating really doesn't like dishwashers), so we always keep spares just in case. As to the narrow lanes.... We hope we can welcome you back some time in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam wrote a review Nov 2022
Messery, France1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay at Mazzard farm. The cottage was clean and cozy and we arrived with a high quality breakfast hamper with delicious sausages and other local produce, including farm eggs and homemade apple juice from the farm orchard. We were very well looked after by Jacqueline who also provides the onsite massages. They were able to offer babysitting at very short notice. Our 2 children had lots of fun playing with bikes and scooters from their children's play garage, playing on the outdoor play park and feeding the animals.
Our only feedback would be that it would be good to have some storage space in the bedrooms.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for your lovely words Sam. Much appreciated. You certainly made the most of your short break with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheHumes1 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We had an amazing weeks holiday at Mazzard Farm. We loved the location, cottage and the facilities were perfect for a much needed break.
We stayed in Medlar Cottage which was wonderful as the doors from downstairs go straight out into the courtyard- our son loved this as he could ride his scooter as we sat outside!
The cottage felt very homely with great facilities. The location of farm is idilic, so peaceful - we enjoyed walks around the farm, the farms own apple orchard and the goats!
Credit to the owners - Mazzard Farm reflects the owners kindness and warmth. We will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 10 Nov 2020
What a lovely review Hume family. Many thanks. So pleased to read you had a great holiday, and that you enjoyed what we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevedmhsmith wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
We have stayed at Mazzard Farm probably around a dozen times and each time we have had an outstanding time. The location is bang in the middle of many of the places you'd want to visit, plus it's great for local country walks. The cottages themselves are at a high standard throughout (plus you know your carbon footprint is going to be low too!). We've really enjoyed the private woodland adjacent to the cottages, and you may even get to see the local badgers if you're quiet enough! Local farm shops and independent retailers are close by in Ottery, plus the beaches and coastal towns and villages are only a short drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud Jansen Venneboer, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thanks for your kind review Steve. We look forward to welcome you back to what must be stay number 13 very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicky sim wrote a review Feb 2020
12 contributions7 helpful votes
We had a great stay in these cottages. Especially good as the interconnecting ones meant we could babysit for both cottages as we had small children. The cottages were warm and comfortable with everything you need. There was plenty of garden to play in and outdoor toys for the children to use. We were also treated to a cream tea on arrival with warm scones and clotted cream and jam. We also tried the apple juice very tasty.A very enjoyable week well done mazzard farm!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ruud J, Owner at Mazzard Farm
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Many thanks for your lovely review Simlaneinc. Great you had such a wonderful time, and many thanks for highlighting our home-made apple juice! We look forward to welcoming you back some time, either as a couple or extended family.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mazzard Farm
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom728 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Matthew, thanks for your question. I would of course say 'yes', but it all depends really on what you are after. We have happy guests in all segments (couples, families, groups), but maybe drop us a quick message via e-mail and tell us your requirements, both in terms of what sort of stay you are looking for, and when. We can also e-mail you our popular 30-page Guide to East Devon to help inspire. Look forward to hearing from you. Regards,
Show all answers
ScullyFX wrote a tip Oct 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom42 contributions58 helpful votes
"There is Wifi provided but it is pretty sketchy service so if you are someone who needs to be online a lot this isn't the spot for you."
Read full review
Chris B wrote a tip Feb 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
"From 2 - 10 people when two interlocking units are available."
Read full review
Tanzi B wrote a tip Jun 2021
Chamonix, France10 contributions3 helpful votes
"Damson Cottage has pretty views over the orchard"
Read full review
Tanzi B wrote a tip Jun 2020
Chamonix, France10 contributions3 helpful votes
"Bramely Cottage is tucked away so really nice and private"
Read full review
LisaP wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution
"All the cottages are beautiful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottery St. Mary area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonOttery St. Mary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Mazzard Farm Ranch Reviews, Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Frequently Asked Questions about Mazzard Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Mazzard Farm?
Nearby attractions include Peak Hill Llamas (2.8 miles), Devon Activity Centre (3.1 miles), and The Donkey Sanctuary (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mazzard Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Mazzard Farm?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mazzard Farm?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mazzard Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mazzard Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include King Of Spice, Someday Something, and The Courtyard.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mazzard Farm?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Mazzard Farm?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cadhay (2.1 miles) and Blackbury Camp (4.5 miles).