We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thornton Manor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thornton Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Thornton Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Some of the info on various websites is misleading .This is not a hotel but a series of self catering rooms in what were outbuildings. There is no bar,no restaurant and no proper reception. No TV and no Wi Fi. The entrance is through the trades men's entrance and our room was up 21 steps and furnished with horrendous green...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DHB57
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear DHB57, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you found the information with regards to our accommodation misleading. Both the website and booking.com, were the reservation was made, state all of the facilities available at the property. However, we will review our content to ensure the information stated is easy to interpret. We do hope...

Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

No hot water, room had previous person items in, poor views, no telephone to contact main building, cases turned up at 2.20 am in the morning, only got into room at 1.30am in the morning having asked for lodge key at approx 2.30 in the afternoon. Hence one star accommodation

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jakki K
CraigRobsonTMEL, Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Jakki K, Thank you for your review. As discussed hot water was checked prior to your arrival and upon check out with your husband and we both found the water hot. The items in the bedroom where of your families, as we discovered. We pride ourselves on delivering a great customer experience, all necessary points have been raised with...

cheshire united kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

In January we stayed in The Housekeeper's Cottage for two weeks. It was very well equipped and best of all had a lovely open fire. The beds were extremely comfortable and the showers were great. The cottage was kept well supplied with breakfast foods throughout our stay. We thoroughly explored the grounds which, even at what was the most dismal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear h0lly28, Thank you for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and that the team went above and beyond to show you how we aim to deliver the very best in guest experiences. The team and I hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Craig Robson General Manager

England
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 16 nights in a cottage due to having treatment in a nearby hospital. From the first telephone enquiry to check out the office staff were very helpful and really did a good job to make us feel welcome. We stayed in the Thatched Cottage which is just what we needed for us and our family, with two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilynavy
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Lilynavy, Thank you for your fabulous review. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, we are blessed with a beautiful property and a fantastic team. The team and I hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Craig Robson General Manager

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Me & my partner Stacey got married in the lakeside marquee on valentines day, I couldn't fault a thing. The weather was beautiful, the venue even more amazing than what we remember when we booked. All of the staff from the day were fantastic & your recommendation for using Chapman Holmes as our caterers couldn't have been more perfect. Since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Stu C, Thank you for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that you and Stacey had the perfect wedding day. It is important for us to execute each process with conviction, from initial enquiry through to the running of the perfect wedding. I will be sure to pass on your delightful messages to the team and I...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganhayespip
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnyr1987
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank KathC1967
CraigRobsonTMEL, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Christine B

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,115 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#3 of 3 in Ledsham
729 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
268 reviews
15.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Price Range: £67 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornton Manor staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Thornton Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another nearby hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sickbag7, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For a Wedding - Bedrooms on the first floor are magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles WirralGabby, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“family run as well as professional staff - all rooms are unusual, have a look and see!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose the Housekeeper's annexe.”
 of 5 bubbles Manxie52, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the Mews”
 of 5 bubbles Geoffy, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5