We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre

Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre Fen Road, Pidley, Huntingdon PE28 3DF England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (57)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Pidley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A stunning Golf & Leisure facility situated in heart of the Cambridgeshire countryside offering a charming escape with 65 ensuite bedrooms. Guest rooms can be overlooking our courtyard, putting green, and 18-hole golf course, or for larger groups, within our serene lodges surrounding our fish-filled pond and island. Residents enjoy complimentary access to our Par 3 pitch and putt course and Healthclub facilities, providing leisure opportunities. Our beloved Tenpin Bowling alley remains a popular choice for entertainment among guests and locals alike. After a day of activities, unwind in our Clubhouse with delightful culinary offerings and refreshing beverages. Retreat to our comfortable accommodations for a peaceful night's rest, within in the tranquility of the countryside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Golf course
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
183Reviews0Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 53
  • 17
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Graham S wrote a review Jan 2024
Nottingham, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 evening as a stop over between locations. Very friendly staff, welcoming at reception and friendly in the bar and restaurant. The room itself was very spacious in a block of approx 10 rooms around a small courtyard. Room wass a chalet style with all the requirements needed although the TV was a little small as the room was so large. The food in the bar was very good (meat pie and veg) and breakfast freshly cooked on request. The golf course was open but as this was a work trip I didn't get to play but will be back in the months ahead to try one of the courses.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Lodge, Owner at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stopover. Our team is delighted that you found our staff friendly and the room spacious. We apologise for the TV size—we'll consider this for improvement. We're glad you enjoyed the food and breakfast. Sorry to hear you couldn't enjoy the golf this time, but we look forward to welcoming you back for a round soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anon wrote a review Sept 2023
3 contributions
Venue was great. Stayed in a lodge with some nice guys and a couple of absolute wrong’uns.. surprised you had to pay extra each day for the kitchen , unless you knew someone who had a crowbar with them. COURSE: Great layout, terrible tee boxes and greens. They were cutting new holes in the middle of our groups rounds which was strange. FOOD: Food was ok. Lots of choice but some of the meals were average. Service was poor and staff seemed a bit lazy. Drinks were pretty expensive. Could have maybe done a discount of 10% with such a large group staying there. LODGE: they were very hot, some rooms were tiny. Could have done with some bug killers installed. And maybe a dress policy could be applied where men over 50 cannot take their tops off..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hampster wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution5 helpful votes
The course layout is good but greens and bunkers very very poor and need a lot of work. Also what we found, there was some golfers dressed up in fancy dress, which you don’t expect, one was dressed up as a zoo keeper which we found strange. Just a real shame about the greens and bunkers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
supersnooper44 wrote a review Jul 2023
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom146 contributions55 helpful votes
Stayed in a lodge with a group of golf buddies on a sunday night, two rounds of golf, dinner b&b package. The negative bits.Walnut lodge small bedroom 2, thin walls, tiny bathroom with a strange opening shower door.The shower was perfectic and the hot water came out of the basin tap at a dribble. The pine doors all had 5-10 mm gaps between frame and door letting in light and noise. It was just a one night stay so didn't make a fuss. The golf course had lush fairways, Tee's were in a terrible state, buckers were poor. Greens looked very bad, especially around the holes which in many cases were badly damaged and could not have been moved for ages.However the greens were fast and true. The BEST BITS. Dinner was excellent. Choice, quantity, presentation. Drinks at the bar very reasonable for a hotel. Breakfast buffet was again plentiful, Rachael and the team along with those in the kitchen looked after us brilliantly and made sure we had a super breakfast. Overall a good experience, and good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take advantage of the fridge in the lodges.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PhilWM wrote a review Jul 2023
4 contributions
Held our Seniors Golf Away Weekend at Lakeside Lodge this year. The food and service were exceptional and the accommodation very comfortable. Our members enjoyed two days' golf in splendid weather. The course is easy walking but has plenty of challenges that demand thoughtful play. As others have noted, the greens really need improvement to avoid letting down what is otherwise a very good venue.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Getaway31094225317 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
I tried out the Clubhouse restaurant for evening meal and couldn’t stomach the meal with the amount of flies that kept landing in my food. I politely asked the assistant manager for a refund or even a partial refund and he came over and said “it’s not actually their problem”. Top class customer service! It honestly has to be one of the most vile experiences I’ve ever had at a restaurant. I can safely say that I will never be dining at this facility again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Lodge, Owner at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Responded 7 Jul 2023
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the customer service you received regarding your complaint about the number of flies in our restaurant. We sincerely apologise for this. Unfortunately due to our rural location and the recent hot weather, it can be a bit of a problem. We are trying various pest control methods to reduce the number of flies in our facility and hope that by refunding your meal in full, this has helped reduce your disappointment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nigel G wrote a review Jun 2023
Felbridge, United Kingdom44 contributions56 helpful votes
A group of 20 golfers stayed and played on the 16th, 17th, and 18th June. This is the second year we have visited. The positives were great lodges, good food, friendly staff, intersecting golf courses, and good outside seating for warm sunny days and evenings. The negatives are. Poor WIFI at the lodges, the tables tops at the outside seating area are sticky and need to be continually wiped clean. The greens were poor last year, this year, they are shocking. The green staff should be ashamed of how they are presented.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sandra S wrote a review Jun 2023
6 contributions
We had a fantastic time at Lakeside lodge. Fifteen ladies staying in two lodges . The staff are excellent and always willing to help. The customer service before we arrived was excellent with the office staff helping us every step of the way. This year Caroline looked after us and was always helpful and obliging The food was excellent and plenty of choice thanks to their chef. The resturant staff are very helpful each and every one of them looked after us every step of the way . A special thanks to Sarah who always goes the extra mile. She has a great talent when it comes to customers We enjoyed our golf at the course too , with a game of bowling in the evening A great place to stay , the lodges are excellent too We will be back next year
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jason N wrote a review May 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
If I could leave zero stars I would. Played golf here on 27th May, fairways okay, greens terrible but that’s the good bits, we were out after a 16 strong society all drinking alcohol, slow play is an understatement, spending 10 minutes plus to look for lost balls, hitting balls 20 yards off the tee and running up to get it and bring it back and hit it again, on the 13th tee we had four groups including us waiting to tee off. Phoned the pro shop to see if there was a course Marshall who could come out and speed things up a bit and was told he went home at 14:00, on a sunny Saturday in May?? Pro shop cashier came out by which time we’d had enough and was walking back in, 3 hours 45 minutes to complete 13 holes! I was told I should of expected it with a midday tee time on a Saturday! A few words were exchanged and I was told ‘you can fu*k off! Very professional. If you’re looking for somewhere to go that doesn’t have very good greens and will take you probably the best part of 5 1/2 hours to get round because you’re following 16 pi**heads (one carrying a blow up sheep) then this is the place for you, however, if you looking for somewhere to have a relaxed nice game of golf then stay well clear, there are far better quality and better managed golf courses in the area. This place just seems intent on getting groups in to stay in the lodges who for the majority of them golf is something that just have to get through to get back on the lash Paid £96 for three of us to play 18 holes, it’s not even worth £9.60 One good thing, the bacon sandwiches and the staff in the restaurant are fantastic, they should put one of them in the pro shop, teenagers who had far better customer service skills and manners than a grown middle aged man!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Lodge, Owner at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Responded 31 May 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your golf round, we are extremely sorry that you were held up by golfers who had teed off before you. Our Managing Director has investigated this matter extensively and spoken to members of staff and guests who were here over the weekend. Your tee time was booked online and as such the booking system does not allow us to show who has booked tee times prior to yourself. Similarly, and we know it is in hindsight, if you were pressed for time a phone call to the pro-shop to enquire as to how busy we were with societies may have forewarned you of possible delays. Additionally, checking-in with the pro-shop upon arrival is a pre-requisite at all clubs but this was not done, and the pro-shop staff only became aware of your arrival when you were spotted on the first tee. You would have been warned about a possible slow round when checking-in. Whilst we do everything possible to discourage slow play there is a limit to what can be done. We need to rely upon the integrity of all players that they have an obligation not to be unnecessarily slow and hold other players up. Again, it’s hindsight, but had you called the pro-shop earlier then a staff member would have been dispatched to investigate the hold up. In any event, as soon as the second shift began and another staff member arrived to man the pro-shop the manager came out, but by then you were walking off the 13th hole stating that you had been held up for long enough. It was a Bank Holiday weekend, and the weather was bright and sunny. The golf course was very busy and there were two golf societies in front of you. Unfortunately, it is a fact of life that societies are generally slow with their play, despite all the reminders that are given about ‘keeping up with the game in front’. As regards the ‘who said what’ subject, we do not propose to get into an exchange over it other than to say that the pro-shop manager invited you to discuss an acceptable settlement with him. He was going to suggest a voucher for a free round for yourself and your guests at some future date, but the offer was refused with some ‘colourful’ language being used that provoked the response that was given. We are glad that you found the food and the clubhouse staff amenable. We try to satisfy all our customers but sometimes things go a little awry and this is nearly always caused by factors beyond our control. In conclusion, we would like to add that as a goodwill gesture we can offer a free round of golf for yourself and the other two players who were with you last weekend, should you wish to revisit. We cannot think of any alternative offer that might rectify the situation. We thank you once again for your comments and hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
raymond c wrote a review May 2023
Rayleigh, United Kingdom254 contributions227 helpful votes
First of all,the food is probably the best i have had at any golf hotel i have been to,and i have probably been to around 15 in total.Also the staff are excellent,especially NUT NUT Sarah.Now this where the problem is.The actual golf course is in a shocking state.The fairways are like rough or semi rough at best.2 of my friends lost theres on the fairaway.The bunkers are like grounded mud.This is the worst bit,the greens are the WORST i have played on anywhere.There is evidence of some kind of disease on them,bumpy and full of pot holes.I have never seen greens so bad.Apparently this place has been taken over by a new company,looks like they need to spend a lot of money on it because they will lose lots of customers.Its a shame really because i was in a society of 36 blokes for this golf of 1 night and 2 rounds,and loads of us was shocked at the state of the course.Shame really because we have used this place for the last few years and alot of people said they wouldnt come back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakeside Lodge, Owner at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Responded 31 May 2023
Thank you for your review. We are grateful that you found the food and service good but are extremely sorry that you found the course in poor condition. A number of factors have contributed to this. Firstly, we were not satisfied with the maintenance that was carried out during the winter months and subsequently replaced our green keepers. Secondly, we experienced the wettest March and April in living memory which prevented the implementation of the program of work that had been organised. This is now well under way and we hope that we shall see the benefits of it in the weeks to come. You will appreciate that these things do not happen over night and a lot of money has been invested in new equipment and materials to facilitate these improvements. We are sure that you will find the course much changed upon your return. We thank you for rebooking for next year and look forward to seeing you again and hope that your golf experience is much better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pidley area.
PRICE RANGE
£127 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireHuntingdonPidley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKESIDE LODGE GOLF CENTRE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Pidley)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Nearby attractions include Raptor Foundation (2.2 miles), Johnsons Of Old Hurst (2.6 miles), and Ramsey Rural Museum (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Crown Inn, The Queen's Head, and Johnsons of Old Hurst.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Pidley.
Does Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Mary's Church with St Benedict (1.5 miles).
Does Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.