We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Old Stables Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beattock
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Stables Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
England
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Favourable reviews led us to The Old Stables Inn, and for perhaps the first time ever, TripAdvisor reviews misguided us. I must emphasise that we didn't use the accommodation, just the restaurant. The staff were delightful and friendly but the food was unfortunately bland, ordinary and uninspiring. It's near to the main north/south arterial route, and handy for the motorway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheWTandNBTT
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

got holiday home in area.went for meal this was a excellent meal freshly cooked lovely and hot .nice variety of food on menu better than many five star hotels .owners very nice and friendly also this place is dog friendly for well behaved dogs.if you are on m74and looking for nice meal call in at beattock get 5 star meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your meal. We are of course dog friendly with doggy snacks for sale behind the bar and free fresh bowls of water are available. The Old Stables Inn can be easily reached from the M74 at junction 15. We look forward to being of further assistance in the future.

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here overnight in our motorhome on our way to a tour of Scotland. The staff and customers made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent. They are also very dog friendly and everyone made a fuss of our dog, buzz. This meant a lot to us. Will be back soon. Paul, Mel and Buzz

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Mel & Buz, it was great to meet you and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stopover. Looking forward to meeting you again kindest regards Hazel & Peter

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped here today on our way home, easy to find straight off the motorway. The food was excellent, especially the homemade burger! Very fast and friendly service. We will try to come here again as we travel to Scotland a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockhopper_Jap
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Old Stables Inn and we look forward to being of future assistance.

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

My friend lives in the village and suggested I stay here when I visit. Very easy to find with a pleasant front to sit and have a drink. All of the locals we met were very inviting and friendly. We ate here both on the night and in the morning, the food was reasonably priced for their size. The accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thomas ,Thank you for the review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and a pleasure to meet you, look forward to meeting up again in the future Kind regards Hazel & Peter

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We came here at 7:45 on a Saturday night and told that there was a table but that they were a little busy. So we sat down and it took 1HOUR to have our order taken!! Because there was a "backlog" in the kitchen... We were amongst 3 other tables getting food... Hmm. The food then proceeded to take another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LucyGreen5
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

It never ceases to amaze me how people can exaggerate a situation where someone has gone out off their way to assist. Every meal and timing is monitored by our family business offering quality home made food and not fast food that a lot of people are now becoming accustomed to . Lets look at the true facts. A family...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Called in on way back home from Glasgow as I found it on Sat nav and just off M74. Host and locals very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. Only had the one drink so didn't stop to long but would definitely call in again when passing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Only stopped briefly for lunch, but the food was basic, straightforward pub food at extremely sensible prices. Not a big selection of beers, but, again, good basic stuff. Friendly and helpful staff and, above all, the place had soul! Don't know about accommodation, but if you like the atmosphere of a friendly local village pub, I suspect it could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajarnhenry
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Most unfriendly. My 7 year old daughter desperately needed to go to the bathroom enroute and she held on until we found somewhere for her to go. When we went in to this place, we asked could she use the washroom. The owner (lady) told us that only if she purchased something she could then use the washroom. My poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We would like to confirm we are NOT public toilets and as a public house we can refuse anyone entry without reason. The business is not part of a large chain and is solely owed by my wife and I. There is a clear sign at the entrance to our pub stating we only...

North East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Called in here last minute for a bite to eat on our way north. Lovely warm welcome from the bar staff and Peter - the owner. We had the steak and ale pie which was delicious as was the gammon and egg. Traditional pub food very well done. Really tasty and very good value for money. It's a really convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireoldlass
Peter D, Owner at The Old Stables Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and very pleased you enjoyed your experience at The Old Stables Inn. Hope you had an enjoyable time north and a safe journey home. Kind regards Hazel & Peter

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beattock
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.0 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marchbankwood House
Marchbankwood House
#2 of 4 in Beattock
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cauldholm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Stables is a family owned business offering clean comfortable en-suite rooms and a fully stocked bar and restaurant. We are open every day of the year offering freshly made bar snacks from 12.00am and home cooked restaurant meals weekdays from 6.00pm and weekends from 12.00am. we have a large covered, alfresco, tabled area for customers use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Stables Inn

Address: The Old Stables Main Street, Beattock DG10 9QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Beattock
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Stables Inn Beattock, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Stables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i suppose any room.”
 of 5 bubbles B5022VQmargaretm, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay in the Inn, we only stopped off for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles FiE_12, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Book before hand to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles tedqueensland, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
“They are all good!”
 of 5 bubbles HKandAB, 29 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Dont be so bloody fussy!”
 of 5 bubbles NorthernIrishFamily, 10 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5