We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kelvin Grove Guest House

10 reviews
Save
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good30%
  • Average0%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible10%
11 Oct 2016
“Back to nature”
23 Feb 2016
“very rustic place”
Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (10)Write a Review
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
2
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
3
2
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I found this gem when I received a voucher from a friend to stay here. I am amazed by the bad reviews they are receiving. It is rustic and 'basic' accommodation but that is made clear by the owners/website. The unit was spotlessly clean. The...More

Thank MandyBPortElizabeth
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We stayed there - on a working citrus farm - for 5 nights in river cabin 2. The friendly host melissa offert us to use the swimming pool - it was deep green from algae! The cabin gave us a nice view to the sunday...More

1  Thank Bergroos
Response from Melissa V, Manager at Kelvin Grove Guest HouseResponded 26 February 2016

Dear Mr. Wilhelm; Thank you very much for you review, we really appreciate your honesty. It's just sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us at all. For the road we can't do anything about, so I can't comment on that. As for...More

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the self catering accommodation. Advertised rustic and with solar. Have to be honest and say that it was not what I expected and I personally think too expensive for what we got compared to the other places we stayed at....More

Thank Zaan1
Response from Melissa V, Manager at Kelvin Grove Guest HouseResponded 28 May 2015

Good day Zaan; Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. Have a lovely day further. Kind regards

Reviewed 13 January 2015

We stayed in one of the river cabins. Melissa was very accommodating to us by giving us another mattress, since we needed room for 5, not 4. Difficult to find, often. Our teenage girls were fine up in the loft and the straight up ladder...More

Thank Holly C
Response from Melissa V, Manager at Kelvin Grove Guest HouseResponded 16 January 2015

Dear Holly; Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate it. Hope to welcome you all back in the future. Kind regards Melissa van der Westhuizen

Reviewed 5 December 2014

We booked for 3 nights but left after 1 night, so terrible was the accommodation. Just the kitchen was OK. The sticks, of which the wall was build, came down; the matrasses were too bad, even to offer to children; the stairs are impossible to...More

Thank Jan S
Response from Melissa V, Manager at Kelvin Grove Guest HouseResponded 11 December 2014

Dear Jan S What a pity you had to write an review without all the information. Please allow me as co-owner of the facility to also reply to your review. R10.00 for matches, well this will also make me upset but there was an firelighter...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kelvin Grove Guest House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Take a cabin,...it's a retreat!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing