We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast

Hightrees at Cockhill Renmure, Inverkeilor, Arbroath DD11 4RZ Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs in Inverkeilor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sitting high in the Angus countryside with panoramic views of Lunan Bay to St Andrews. Close to Montrose, Berchin, Angus Glens and only 15 minutes from the A90. A serviced bed and breakfast apartment with 3 double bedrooms all with televisions either ensuite or with private bathroom or shower room. Large guests lounge / dining room with television and DVD. Kenelling available for dogs
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Fishing
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
108Reviews1Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 28
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
D John wrote a review May 2023
Bathgate, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely clean bedroom (no.3) with balcony. Generously-sized en-suite with complimentary toiletries. Delicious freshly-cooked breakfast. Evening meal option. Gail and Barrie welcoming and helpful. Peaceful surroundings and plenty to see and do locally as well as further afield in Angus. We would be happy to return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
stewpot444 wrote a review Feb 2023
Forfar, United Kingdom350 contributions73 helpful votes
Came here for lunch having heard rave reviews from many friends. Location stunning and general ambiance good. Well supported by local customers- wonderful views! The daily soup was Moroccan Lentil - okay but had an overwhelming taste of cumin. This arrived 1st - not the drinks! The cheese scones were brilliant though. Then can an underwhelming Brie toastie - with excellent chips. My husband was somewhat disappointed with his ploughman’s platter. Eventually after much prompting & trying to find service through in the shop - we got our cold drinks - but lack of drinks for most of the meal rather spoiled the experience for me. A large party of ladies were in the adjoining sun lounge enjoying a group afternoon tea or lunch - VERY noisy - perhaps the doors through might have been closed to give them privacy or to allow other diners a quieter visit. If I were to go back I would not time it for lunch - maybe stick to the scones & cakes next time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eleanor Hockin, General Manager at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 Mar 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. Our staff are very honest with us and we had been informed about the drinks being forgotten as soon as the mistake had been fixed and an apology made to yourselves. I was also working that day and at no point did you prompt any of the other staff members or myself for drinks. Neither did you enter the shop looking for staff. I appreciate that your drinks not coming out at the right time is frustrating, and can lessen your experience. It’s disappointing however that these other issues had not been raised at the time of your visit so we could come up with some sort of resolve, instead of this back and forth on the internet. We don’t normally respond to comments on these platforms however I felt I needed to defend our business and our hard working team. Regarding a potential future visit, it’s maybe best that your first visit be your only visit. We understand that we won’t be to everyone’s taste, and it seems that our establishment is not for you or your husband. Kind regards Kescoweth Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Your Scotland Tour wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Been stopping at Kescoweth for a fair while now. Popped in wife family late last week. Our 20 month old enjoyed his soup and bread and wife and I enjoyed ours with the cheese scones… Service was good and friendly and we were in and out quickly which we needed on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Colliefullife wrote a review Feb 2023
Brechin, United Kingdom155 contributions85 helpful votes
Lovely dog-friendly coffee shop. Delicious home-made cakes including vegan options (my mum is lactose intolerant) among them vegan scones. Friendly, relaxed service and spotlessly clean. There is a three bark rule for dogs which is fair and not something we've fallen foul of yet. There is seating with a view outside and looking forward to being able to sit outside in the summer - if it isn't too windy!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Forfarian2013 wrote a review Feb 2023
Angus, United Kingdom120 contributions50 helpful votes
Heard so much about this café from friends, but after visiting came away rather disappointed. Soup of the day Moroccan spiced soup - a brown slurry with an overpowering taste and smell of Cumin! the three scone that came with it were delicious. Main - Ploughman's platter- poor ploughman would have died of starvation, three small pieces of cheese, a shredded lettuce leaf Four doorsteps of bread and spoonful of bought coleslaw, add to this loud screaming "laughter" from a private room full of ladies (door open). Dog barking - slow service = drinks forgotten about until reminded Bill just short of £40 for two, thanks , but no thanks, much better places locally.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eleanor Hockin, General Manager at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 Mar 2023
Feedback whether it be critical or complementary is always welcome. We know that we will not be everyones cup of tea but reviews like this for a small business are very disheartening, especially when nothing was raised during your visit. We were not made aware of your dislike for the soup that we had been serving all day with no other complaints, and you also did not make us aware that you were unimpressed with your ploughman’s. I’d like to address some of your other points, one in particular that is bothering us the most… our coleslaw is in fact homemade, and NOT bought in as you have said. We are a dog friendly Coffee Shop, we do have strict rules that our customer abide by. The dog that barked in this instance was very quickly taken to the car by it’s responsible owner, they also apologised for the short disruption to other patrons. The “noise” from the party of 12 in the next room was minimal, unless you’d like to pay to hire out the whole venue then I think you should expect some background noise. I understand that your drinks had been forgotten, this was quickly fixed and an apology was made. I’d also like to add, that being kind to your server takes nothing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert S wrote a review Nov 2022
Carnoustie, United Kingdom505 contributions147 helpful votes
We were invited by a friend to have a pre-Christmas light lunch at Kescoweth. On arrival we were immediately shown to our table which had been previously reserved. The normal menu and a Christmas menu were already on the table, so we immediately perused them. Three of us chose Haggis Toasties on brown bread, which were delicious. They were accompanied by a small salad. Our other friend chose the Christmas Toastie with Turkey, Stuffing, Mozzarella cheese and Cranberry on brown bread. It too was accompanied by the small salad. Again it was delicious and very filling. To accompany these we had soft drinks, followed by coffees. One of our friends hadn't been before and was very impressed especially with the tasteful decorations for Christmas. We had a quick look at the gift shop and were very impressed with the selection and the prices.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Doreen A wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
From the moment you arrive Gail and Barry make you feel so welcome. The room we stopped in was very clean ,spacious and tastefully decorated. It had a balcony leading from it with a wooden bench that you could sit and relax after a day of sightseeing, and absorb the peace and quiet and wonderful views of the countryside. The bathroom was large, with a lovely big shower cubicle. Toiletries were ample, and good size large bath towels. Breakfast was first class, perfectly cooked by Gail and served at your table by Barry. I have stopped in quite a lot of B&B’s in my time , but this is the best one by far in my view. Gail and Barry are the perfect hosts and go that extra mile to make sure you have the perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robert S wrote a review Mar 2022
Carnoustie, United Kingdom505 contributions147 helpful votes
We decided to meet friends from Brechin at Keskoweth for coffee and sample the home baking. Having been there several times we were met by a member of staff who recognised us and was pleased to see us again. She gave us the menus and after a few minutes came back to take our order. Three of us had the Fruit Loaf and the other had Carrot Cake. All as usual were delicious. We also had teas and coffees. The service was excellent and we didn't have long to wait. It's a good half way house between our houses and an excellent place to meet up and have a chat without being rushed . We'll be back very soon. As we were only there for coffee etc., we cannot comment on the hotel amenities!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diane C wrote a review Mar 2022
24 contributions17 helpful votes
Food was lovely but kept waiting for 35 minutes after waitress told us she would be back in a minute to clear our plates and take our coffee orders. We decided to go elsewhere for coffee eventually. When we went to pay the waitress admitted she had forgotten about us. The place wasn't even busy. Used to be a family favourite of ours but certainly won't be rushing back. Extremely disappointed 😞
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robert S wrote a review Nov 2021
Carnoustie, United Kingdom505 contributions147 helpful votes
On a short trip round Angus along with my cousin on a short break from England and my wife, we called in at Kescoweth for a lunch-time snack .He was very impressed by it's situation on the top of the hill and the views. He selected the Black pudding and Plum Chutney Toastie, I had a Bacon & Brie Sandwich, my wife had the Cheese, Chutney & Tomato sandwich. All were served with salad, crisps, and coleslaw. All were very nicely presented. To accompany these we had soft drinks and tea. He was pleasantly surprised with the prices compared to England! As usual everywhere was spotless. The gift shop was very well stocked for Christmas. He remarked that it was so nice to be served by pleasant staff- as they always are. Certainly a hit with us all. There is also ample car parking. As we were not staying, we can't comment on the accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Inverkeilor area.
PRICE RANGE
£85 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAngusArbroathInverkeilor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KESCOWETH BED AND BREAKFAST - Updated 2024 Prices (Inverkeilor)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include House of Dun (4.8 miles), Lunan Bay (3.1 miles), and Montrose Basin Visitor Centre, Scottish Wildlife Trust (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gordon's Restaurant with Rooms, Imrie's Bar & Grill, and The Whistle Stop.
Are pets allowed at Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House of Dun (4.8 miles).