We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium

Traveller (960)
Pool & Beach (217)
Video
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lagoon View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Rate:From $256 p/n
1,279Reviews
1,060Photos
23Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 295
  • 386
  • 256
  • 164
  • 178
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Well after reading the reviews of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium we were pretty open minded on what to expect. We were there for 10 days and immediately were blown away by the location of the resort. We did have one issue with the room which was very quickly resolved
Read more
Response from Guide728154, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium, we do appreciate all the reviews that we receive. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the warm hospitality from our staff and will pass your comments onto our team. The resort enjoys a prime tranquil location directly on Aroa Lagoon Marine Sanctuary with beautiful white sand beaches and the island’s best snorkelling with abundant tropical fish and occasionally turtles and eagle rays as well as stunning sunsets. Guests can explore the marine sanctuary with complimentary kayaks, paddle boards, snorkels & masks, etc. There are numerous, easily accessible walks and hikes in the local area where guests can enjoy the island’s flora and fauna. Rarotonga is 32 kilometers or 14 miles in circumference, so all the island’s attractions are easily accessible from the resort by walking, cycling, bus, taxi or rental motor scooters or cars including the busy hotel strip at Muri Beach, Avarua township or the Rarotonga International Airport. Our meals and drink prices are in line with what you pay at other similar outlets around the island, which are more like Australia and New Zealand than Bali or Thailand, and cheaper than Fiji. Please note that as we are a small tropical island in the middle of the South Pacific, apart from locally grown fruit and vegetables as well as Game Fish, we need to import many items. Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates guaranteed as a returnee guest, for your next visit to Rarotonga. Kia Manuia, Samantha Johnson – Resort Manager
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
I absolutely fell in love with the resort, the food, and of course the island people! What a wonderful visit from start to finish!! Don't forget to feed the fish, what fun that was. I turned sixty on this trip and it was the best vacation I've ever had.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Responded 18 Jun 2018
Kia Orana, Thank you for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that you chose our resort to celebrate your milestone birthday. It sounds like it was truly memorable, and we are delighted to be a part of your special memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rarotonga and wish you all the best for 2018. Kia Manuia, Haimona Browne, Resort Manager
Read more
The location is nice and the beach and reef are wonderful. The cleanliness of the property is really poor, and dangerous in some locations. There was mold all over our bathroom, not like a little but the entire windows. We were there over the holidays and they don't clean on
Read more
Response from Guide728154, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium. We are sorry that your experience at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium did not meet your expectations, which we have addressed at the resort and since directly with you via email and all the other social media platforms you have posted on. On checking your booking with Expedia.com the room rate you paid was $CAD288 per night not $400 as you have stated in your review. Our housekeeping staff entered your room to find your sleeping baby alone in a cot in the bathroom. It is a surprise to us that a baby would be left alone in a room but in any event, it is completely unreasonable to expect our housekeeping staff to clean a room with a baby left alone yet alone enter a room with a baby left alone. On arrival all guests are presented with a Welcome/Information letter which provides guests with information about the resort including “Sunday and Public Holiday Housekeeping Service” In order to facilitate our housekeeping staff to fulfil various religious, community, cultural and family obligations, on Sundays and Public Holidays we provide a light housekeeping service which includes the replenishment of amenities, provision of fresh towels and removal of rubbish. If you require a more thorough service, please call our Front Desk on 0 to arrange. This information is also provided on our Housekeeping Service Cards which are placed on all beds at check-in, along with the Housekeeping Rebate Card. According to our records and interviews with staff, which were corresponded to you prior to your reviews being posted, at the time of leaving the sheets that you requested, our staff were advised to “just leave them”. When you later requested for our housekeeping staff to return, they did so, and made your bed and serviced the room. On Rarotonga the government water supply is not treated. However, our onsite water filtration and UV treatment plant treats all water distributed throughout the resort, including the guest rooms. However, some guests do not react well to changes in their diet and / or water supply, therefore it is suggested that if a guest has such a sensitivity, they purchase bottled water from the bar or gift shop. Accordingly, only bottled water is available for purchase in the restaurant. Further, as most guests take the opportunity to enjoy meals and drinks at the large number of establishments around the island, it is suggested that guests are mindful that water treatment is the responsibility of the individual establishment and do vary. Accordingly, bottled water may be a good choice while in Rarotonga. Due to being a small tropical island in the middle of the vast South Pacific Ocean with only one telecommunications company, Wi-Fi is considerably more expensive than in a large metropolitan country with a competitive telecommunications market. However, we do price match the local monopoly telecommunications company and have the best Wi-Fi service available in the Cook Islands. We do offer special rate plans that include free Wi-Fi. We are currently undertaking a progressive resort-wide refurbishment program including all guest rooms, public areas, equipment and amenities. One of our Duty Managers spoke with you personally during your stay and they arranged for your room to be cleaned and then again on departure one of our Resort Managers responded to you with a detailed report. If there is anything further you require, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. Kia Manuia, Samantha Johnson – Resort Manager
Read more
+1
We chose The Rarotongan for its proximity to the Aroa Marine Reaerve. We had a beachfront family bungalow which was small but adequate with a double bed and two rollaways for our daughters. The rooms are somewhat dated and the bathroom had some water stains and was basic but
Read more
Response from Guide728154, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and will pass your comments on to our staff. Our complimentary continental tropical buffet includes seasonal fresh island fruits, fresh fruit salad, home-stewed fruits, Bircher muesli, homemade yogurt, fresh-baked breads, pastries, muffins & croissants, cereals, toast, spreads, fruit juices, tea & coffee. Other hot breakfast options are available from our a la carte menu for a small additional charge. The resort enjoys a prime tranquil location directly on Aroa Lagoon Marine Sanctuary with beautiful white sand beaches and the island’s best snorkeling with abundant tropical fish and occasionally turtles and eagle rays as well as stunning sunsets. Guests can explore the marine sanctuary with complimentary kayaks, paddle boards, snorkels & masks, etc. There are numerous, easily accessible walks and hikes in the local area where guests can enjoy the island’s flora and fauna. Rarotonga is 32 kilometers or 14 miles in circumference, so all the island’s attractions are easily accessible from the resort by walking, cycling, bus, taxi or rental motor scooters or cars including the busy hotel strip at Muri Beach, Avarua township or the Rarotonga International Airport. The latest 360-degree virtual tours are available online as well as photographs, room layout maps, and detailed descriptions to assist guests to identify the best accommodation option for their holiday. There are several higher category accommodation options which may have been preferable, and which can be viewed during our daily 2pm site inspection tour (subject to room categories being available). Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates guaranteed as a returnee guest, for your next visit to Rarotonga. Kia Manuia, Samantha Johnson – Resort Manager
Read more
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa was an excellent choice to spend a well deserved holiday. From the staff to daily breakfast as well as the room was an awesome experience, well worth the trip. The local market wasn't too far from the resort so it was great to taste some
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Guide728154, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Orana, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and will pass your comments on to our staff. Our complimentary continental tropical buffet includes seasonal fresh island fruits, fresh fruit salad, home-stewed fruits, Bircher muesli, homemade yogurt, fresh-baked breads, pastries, muffins & croissants, cereals, toast, spreads, fruit juices, tea & coffee. Other hot breakfast options are available from our a la carte menu for a small additional charge. The resort enjoys a prime tranquil location directly on Aroa Lagoon Marine Sanctuary with beautiful white sand beaches and the island’s best snorkeling with abundant tropical fish and occasionally turtles and eagle rays as well as stunning sunsets. Guests can explore the marine sanctuary with complimentary kayaks, paddle boards, snorkels & masks, etc. There are numerous, easily accessible walks and hikes in the local area where guests can enjoy the island’s flora and fauna. Rarotonga is 32 kilometers or 14 miles in circumference, so all the island’s attractions are easily accessible from the resort by walking, cycling, bus, taxi or rental motor scooters or cars including the busy hotel strip at Muri Beach, Avarua township or the Rarotonga International Airport. The latest 360-degree virtual tours are available online as well as photographs, room layout maps, and detailed descriptions to assist guests to identify the best accommodation option for their holiday. There are several higher category accommodation options which may have been preferable, and which can be viewed during our daily 2pm site inspection tour (subject to room categories being available). Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates guaranteed as a returnee guest, for your next visit to Rarotonga. Kia Manuia, Samantha Johnson – Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
room 214 beachside suit
View from our room - own cam.
Photo provided by managementThe Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Suite
View from beachfront room
PreviousNext
12345640
Hotel can arrange pickup
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi are there any stores to buy food/drinks close to the Rarotongan?
Yes. If you take a left out of the resort, there are a couple of convenient stores within walking distance. The farther store sells ice cream by the scoop - CITC Kavera Store google and there is a news article about the store
1 vote
Hi are there any stores to buy food/drinks close to the Rarotongan?
Sorry only just saw this post. Not really within walking distance but a local bus goes directly by the foyer regularly so there's no problem getting about. My advice stay elsewhere. This resort is extremely run down. Even the locals comment on it.
0 votes
Does anyone know what the fitness centre is like and have any pictures?
The fitness center is small but has what you need there is a fabulous range of weights. There is so much to do in or on the water you most probably won't use it
1 vote
Show all answers
Rarotonga is well known for this, along with its relaxed and friendly culture....YES you can go to other resorts and use their services if you're not a staying guest. In saying this there may be some exceptions regarding use when it comes to the more exclusive resorts
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"Beach front rooms are probably the best and make good use of the air con"
"The beach view are the best."
"book a bigger room than you need so you have the space, especially if more than 3 nights."
"Rooms are always quiter especially the beach front have the best sunset view and the best sound of the waves breaking on the reef."
"Western side rooms with sea view"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rarotongan beach hotel aroa beachthe rarotongan beach resort and spararotongan beach resort spa
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaAroa Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing