We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,017 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,002: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have recently returned back from the Rarotongan Beach Resort and stayed as a family of 3 Adults and 3 children in 2 x Beachfront rooms. After reading through the many negative comments and reviews made by past guests, we were totally prepared for the worst and flew out to Rarotonga with the lowest of expectations, however this actually served...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amanda P
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana AmandaP Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write your great review!!! It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your brief sojourn with us in Rarotonga with your family. Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit to The Rarotongan and as always we loved it. The staff were so welcoming and we felt like we were returning family. We renewed our wedding vows and celebrated 3 birthdays while we were there and at all times the staff were wonderful. My only negative was that the Hibiscus Hut was closed for most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelingmacs4
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Travelingmacs4 Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Firstly, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your return to the resort. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you and your family back to your very own Rarotongan family. We were absolutely thrilled to have you...

Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Once again we had a great stay here at the Rarotongan, We were here in December and again in August, from that short time it was great to see the upgrades they had added, swimming pool looked great and the new beach huts at the restaurant were all new and seating on the deck, also the upgrades of the flat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel466
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rachel466 Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your return visit to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in August 2013. It was our absolute pleasure to be able to host you and your family once again in our small slice of paradise. The Rarotongan offers some of the best Kids Club facilities in the South...

Reviewed 3 September 2013

A very inviting atmosphere with all facilities and equipment needed for swimming snorkeling and relaxing provided. Great outlook,helpful and informative staff available 24/7. Rooms clean and serviced daily

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 52noddy
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana 52noddy Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are very happy that you had a wonderful holiday and have enjoyed the stunning Aroa Lagoon – a traditional marine reserve offering a wide variety of marine life...

Moeraki
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at The Rarotongan in late August 2013 and it was an absolute delight. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was small but ideally located for access to the services. The lagoon provided the best snorkeling experience I have ever had, and it was just a short walk away. The gear provided could have been better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie G
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rosalie Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Our Two Bedroom Beachside Suites are located at ground-level in our 100 and 200 villages, and are in close proximity to the beach and lagoon, but without direct sea...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed a week in an upstairs garden room which was very tired and actually dingy, but comfortable enough and the overall setting fabulous for a family get together for my nephews wedding. The wedding setting on the beach was beautiful and the reception very nice in the upstairs venue. We enjoyed meeting up for meals and fabulous cocktails, also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kreachee
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Kreachee” Thank you for your review in regards to your August 2013 stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are happy that you found your accommodation comfortable and can assure you that we conduct an annual maintenance and refurbishment on all our rooms and we have taken you comments into consideration. We are pleased...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at The Rarotongan in late July / early August 2013 and it was an absolute delight. We were based at Sanctuary at the resort but spent time in all areas. The room was lovely and listening to the ocean at night was blissful. The lagoon provided the best snorkelling experience I have ever had - the number and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo R
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jo & Gary Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach and The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the stunning location of our resorts The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and our...

tauranga
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just stayed at the Rarotongan Beach Resort for 9 nights in one of the two 2 bedroom options. Was really disappointed - the unit was tiny, especially the toilet and bathroom and was dark and dingy with hardly any natural light able to come in. The second bedroom didn't even have a window. Really not good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyviewsTauranga
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “familyviewsTauranga “ Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Resorts have a comprehensive and regular maintenance and refurbishment program in place that focuses in particular on building upgrades and renovations. We are saddened to hear that you did not feel the Two Bedroom Beachside Suites met your expectations. They are located at ground-level in...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Went for a swim and lunch. Beach amazing. Late lunch at 3:30PM. Not busy we were the only people getting a meal. Took more than an hour for toasted sandwiches for two hungry children. Difficulty with the salad in that my daughter does not like onions, asked for none, got another salad with onions again. On paying the bill (expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen007_12
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Eileen007_12 Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our resort. We apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service did not meet your expectations during your visit. We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family and I recently visited Rarotonga and although we were staying at another property I was keen to take the children to the location where I had married their father 15 years earlier. To be blunt, I was very disappointed with what we encountered. The property appears to have morphed in to an over populated theme park.. the once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joplatt
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Joplatt” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent visit with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns you have raised. We are disappointed that you felt the resort had morphed into an “over populated theme park” and feel that this is a personal preference. We...

816 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (755)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (252)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Balclutha, New Zealand

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't worry about view room. Sleep in room, short walk to beach.”
 of 5 bubbles sdouglas2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid staying in any of the rooms here - I could have paid $700 for a week in 2 star accommodation that would be better than this.”
 of 5 bubbles BluesTraveller82, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden View room was close to beach, not far from Pool & restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles adio904, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get transport and eat elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles X7596VEnicolep, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all very run down and shabby.”
 of 5 bubbles carolcN2123BZ, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5