We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Hotwire.comUS$114*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,103: English reviews
Start your review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have seen so very obscure , arrogant and insipid reviews about this hotel, and those people really need to get a life, because they are obviously expecting the Ritz, but paying Travel lodge prices. Well then they will be stupidly disappointed. I have just returned from two weeks, and the hotel is one of the first hotels built in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antigua J
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resort team would like to thank for sharing your vacation review on trip advsior. We are delighted that we were able to satisfy your expectations with our friendly and efficient service team; our comfy bungalow type accommodations only a few steps from one of our four beaches and our international cuisine is very much comparable to...

Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at Hawksbill and after some of the negative reviews we had read we were somewhat apprehensive about what we would find. Upon arrival we found that we had been upgraded and even as we were walking to our bungalow we felt our fears disappearing. We were not disappointed by our initial feelings. The bungalow was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNorM
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are pleased to know that you really enjoyed your first stay with us. The tranquil environment allows one to truly relax, rejuvenate and enjoy the 'highlights' of Hawksbill such as our comfy bungalow type accommodations only a few steps from...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

At first we thought we has arrived on the set of 'Dirty Dancing' with the wooden cabins and walkways between. There was even a little bridge like the one she practiced dancing on and of course, we had to try a few steps each time it was crossed , especially after a couple of rum punches in the evening. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandy s
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed 'our slice of paradise' through our comfy bungalow type accommodations only a few steps from one of our four beaches. Our tasty international cuisine and our genuinely friendly & efficient service team. Thank you again for...

Neston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ignore the negative reviews. Whilst it is true that this is a cheaper resort, it is very significant that many of the guests are repeat visitors - as we were. The staff are just great and very attentive to all our needs. Yes the rooms are a bit tired, but they are clean and very well serviced. Some improvements have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Moonraker95
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are very much pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us. Hawksbill offers one the true Caribbean experience with a tranquil environment that keeps you in touch with nature. (forestry, animals, sounds & scenery). With the highest ratio...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading some of the negative comments on this hotel I was pleasantly surprised upon checking in. We were upgraded to a sea view bungalow which was basic but clean, a good shower with plenty of hot water and a very spacious, comfortable bed, the room also had tea and coffee making facilities. The sockets in the rooms are of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Travelingsilkman
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are delighted that you were pleased with our comfy n clean bungalow type accommodations; the quality and selection of our cuisine; our four 'vendor harassment free' beaches and last but no way least the genuinely friendliness of our service staff....

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my third visit to Hawksbill. And it won't be my last! This place is amazing. The setting is lovely, the beaches are wonderful and the sea is always warm. The staff here are really welcoming. Always cheerful and willing to make your time at Hawksbill as good as possible. Yes, it's a quirky resort. The rooms are basic--well...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank guypettigrew
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank your for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. It's great that you had an enjoyable stay with us and definitely planning a fourth visit hopefully soon. As you so accurately stated, our location with the beaches and the genuinely friendly service team are what makes your authentic Caribbean vacation...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2017

First, the staff were so amazing and friendly and willing to help you out in any way possible! The property was beautiful, very quiet with 4 beaches to choose from. Excellent swimming and the ability to snorkel on one of the beaches, the water was so clear you could see tropical fish without a mask! We stayed in a small...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank alowing
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resort team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found our Resort to be beautiful and our service staff to be amazing. The ideal location featuring the four beaches and genuinely friendliness of the service team are our main highlights that will certainly make you vacation...

Dartford
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Under no circumstances is it worth paying the extra £12 per night to upgrade to the so called superior seaview rooms. Our room had limited view of the sea, was very dark, no glass in windows, just shutters and wire meshing to keep out the bugs, therefore it was very noisy at night as it also had outside decking in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SunnyDartford
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. Hawksbill offers four different room category-the superior garden view rooms; the superior seaview rooms housed in two-two storey blocks; the superior seaview bungalows and the beachfront club rooms at Honeymoon Cove and Royal Palm area. All room categories just a few...

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Don't be fooled by the pictures they are years out of date. The whole place is extremely run down. The staff haven't a clue and the buffet food is not good. Hygiene in the dining area is poor with cats wandering everywhere even near the food. The food choice is disgusting not at all Caribbean. If you like cats on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Emlyn W
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

Your review on trip advisor has been acknowledged. Based on your negative comments it is rather unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations. During your stay were any of your concerns reported to Management?? Fortunately, the majority of our guests are very much pleased with the overall service product which we offer and any concerns or issues experienced...

Merrimac, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Would not recommend it. The only good part.... Jesse was the best staff member and always took care of us. Plan on keeping in touch with him! Super guy! Christabelle was also wonderful and always smiling. Beautiful beaches and views and proximity to the water! Love the sound of crashing waves. But.... Rooms are substandard (rms 111, 112), dirty, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MKMerrimac
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team acknowledges your review on trip advisor. It's rather unfortunate that our Resort was not to your liking and we were unable to meet your expectations. However thank you for the positive comment pertaining to our service staff. Sincerely, John St. Luce General Manager Hawksbill by rex resorts

1,551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1079)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (205)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (248)
Viewed
View from Room (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
3:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (302)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (462)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (53)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Honeymoon Cove Room (64)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Room (53)
Viewed
Garden View Bungalow (41)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Sea View Bungalow (49)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,683 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Price Range: £81 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawksbill by Rex Resorts staff and other travellers.
92 questions
Ask a question
Lanzarote, Spain

See all questions (92)

Questions? Get answers from Hawksbill by Rex Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach View Room was the best by far.”
antiguaj2017, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“beach bungalow was just perfect”
553mandys, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view bungalows on the main beach are our favourite”
Moonraker95, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Beach front has better views”
suekeating, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior garden view rooms are NOT superior”
  • Very grotty shower
IanWDronfield, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$125
Orbitz.comUS$125
Bookit.comUS$125
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates