Plas Morfa Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Plas Morfa Hotel

Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (4)
how near to sea your located
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Llanon
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our hotel offers a choice of 7 individually designed rooms from standard rooms with twin or double beds , a family room sleeping max 4 and 2 premium rooms. All are centrally heated and have colour television, tea and coffee making facilities and en-suite bathroom or shower room. Go to sleep to the sound of waves and wake up to see the Red Kite circling overhead! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast, cereals and toast, freshly brewed coffee and tea, in our beautifully appointed dinning room, with stunning views out over Cardigan bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
73Reviews0Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 27
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
shaunsouthern wrote a review Feb 2013
Oswestry, United Kingdom1,464 contribution1,458 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just returned from a night at Plas Morfa and we had an excellent break. We arrived after a long walk in the hills and were shown to our room. We could have seen other rooms, as we were the only guests that night. In the summer, the places is packed out, but this time of year its quiet, and that was perfect for us. We were also the only people eating there that night, so we had the chef's undivided attention.

The food was wonderful, good portoins and interesting dishes, I had Rabbit pasta and a cypriot infuenced beef stew, both were hot and tasty, my wige had a special Vegetaran dish cooked for her with couscous and aubergines. Plus a perfectly cooked assortment of vegetables, and a reasonable bottle of Shiraz. Excellent, all of it, as was breakfast which was included. the dining room is lovely too.

The rooms are much bigger than they look on the website, there would be enough room at the bottom of the big double bed for another one, plus an area with chairs and a TV beyone that. The windows opened out onto the sea and beach, maybe thirty yards away, and we slept with them open listening to the waves. Spotlessly clean and up-to-date furnishings and shower

The beach itself is pebbles, and we didn't go in the sea, being February, but the sound of the waves crashing was so relaxing, as was everythign else about our stay.

Above all the welcome and attention we received from the staff made it even more perfect. We were the only people there, but I'm sure even with the place full, you would feel like a special guest. We would love to come back, maybe with the whole family !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view, our was no 6 and was perfect.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gill P wrote a review Sept 2015
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom285 contributions167 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
In theory this hotel is in a wonderful position but it overlooks the flat and uninteresting section of the Ceredigion coastline between Llanrhystud and New Quay so actually it's quite bleak. Coupled with a rather untidy exterior and gardens our hearts sank when we approached it. The room was a good size and comfortable though there was a whistling wind through the draughty French doors all day and night. We enjoyed a well cooked dinner and nice wine. However the breakfast was poor - variety pack cereals, grapefruit segments and the cheapest bacon and sausages available. Very overpriced at £85 for bed & breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Plasmorfa, Owner at Plas Morfa Hotel
Responded 20 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. We were very unhappy reading this review as we have no way to correct the problems you experienced. I remember the day that you were here, the wind was howling, it was more like December with the north wind blowing on the front of the building. It is a shame you didn't mention the draft as we could have closed them properly for you and solved the problem. Your comments re the breakfast came as quite a shock as our customer feedback for the breakfast element has so far been excellent. We have done a fundamental review of the breakfast and will be upgrading. We have taken on-board some of your critique, and I hope we will be providing a breakfast (full cooked to order) that would meet your expectations. As to price, I cannot agree with you, and i think that you underestimate the expense of running a place such as ours. (compared to a smaller BnB) At £85.00 for two people inclusive of a full cooked breakfast at high season. Less 20% commission Less 20% VAT less 5 % credit card = Not a lot left to service the room and make a profit! Once again thank you for your review Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Supplier wrote a review Sept 2014
Preston56 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Could't better the location. Just stopped overnight with our dogs to break the journey to Cardigan from Preston. The hotel is perhaps in need of a little TLC outside but clean warm & welcoming inside. The owners are especially pleasant. Rooms are very clean and with superb views of the coast being within 25 metres of the sea. Dinner was more than good as was breakfast. an excellent place tp break the journey. Tried booking again a week later on our return north but fully booked. Not surprised but will stay again for sure
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sea Facing on west side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline W wrote a review Oct 2016
5 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately it won't let me give no stars
Worst place I've ever stayed it was cold. No one else was available to speak too room 7 went in to our cupboard. Breakfast OMG the sugar bowl was solid had to break the surface with a dirty spoon. Didn't have juice as all the glasses were dirty. The peaches on offer in the fruit bowl were as wrinkly as prunes and had 20 fruit flies eating them. If that was front of house I'd hate to see the kitchen. The bar was empty not a drink or glass in sight not even a taxi company would come to pick us up save money and don't bother
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emmybum wrote a review Sept 2013
1 contribution5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Was pre booked for 2nights did genuinely have a family emergency but was turn away on leniency. Was ordered to pay the full amount. I was told they could have booked out the room to someone else even though they had seven rooms available. So one night missed and one room one night £170.00. The man who served us at the end was rather rude and told us plane black and white thats the price. The room was nice from the off but later the cracks began to show like the terrible draft that shook the door to point it woke our daughter up many times through the night. The bed was hard and uncomfortable which has left me with backache. I feel very disappointed with the surrounding you are unable to access the beach is 4 star rating are very over rated and would rather see this as a respectful 2 star
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Plasmorfa, Owner at Plas Morfa Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2013
Oh dear how did it all go so wrong for you? "Poor communication" , well try answering your phone, we tried to contact you several times when you failed to show up! As for the rest of your review well, I leave it to all the rest of our very happy customers reviews to tell the real story of this happy wonderful place. I think that you need to reflect on the ethics of posting such waffle. Now I don't know the nature of your family crisis, as you never expanded on it, but if you fail to show up for a hotel booking you will be charged! That is an industry wide reality. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy this beautiful place, all the rest of our guests this year did! The fact that use trip advisor as a form of retribution reflects far more on you as a person than it does us as an accommodation provider. You made no complaints at the time to us, merely bemoaning the fact that you had to pay for the night you failed to show up for. The room you stayed in has received a five star review on our website since your stay, and is still booked out every weekend, mostly to repeat customers. If your criticism had been in any way constructive, I would thank you. I am a polite person, but I will not tolerate lies and abuse of a website which is purporting to give an insight to fellow travelers. Owner and manager Plas Morfa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
731lady42 wrote a review May 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom56 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We ate a meal in the restaurant,which we were looking forward to,but what a let down.The food
was unattractively arranged on the plates and were cold to begin with,what we ate did not taste
particularly pleasant.The cutlery looked very worn and not shiny.In fact a very exspensive meal.
As there were only four other people in the restaurant,it being a Saturday night,that says it all.!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alunejdwards wrote a review Feb 2013
Aberaeron, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband had a special birthday this month . We decided that the best way to celebrate was to have a family lunch and 23 of us gathered together at the Plas Morfa hotel Llanon Ceredigion West Wales where George and Rae ,the owners ,made us all feel very welcome . We had a splendid meal in the very attractive dining room overlooking Cardigan Bay . Would we go again? most certainly .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RossandChris wrote a review Sept 2011
Abergavenny36 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Normally, we would reserve 5 stars for somewhere luxurious with meticulous attention to detail and outstanding service. Plas Morfa doesn't tick any of these boxes, so why the 5 stars?? From the outside, the hotel lacks any real character, sitting isolated in its unremarkable grounds looking out across the Irish Sea. We reached it along the coastpath from Aberaeron and were moved to wonder what on earth it was doing there, just a few meters from the shingle beach with scarcely another building in sight. Finding the front entrance was something of a challenge - it's not that obvious! But once inside, we were greeted warmly by the only member of staff we ever saw - she was room service, cook, waitress, barmaid - and we it seemed, were the only guests. So, despite arriving 3 hours before we were due, our multi-talented host showed us to our spacious bedroom and left us to enjoy the peace and quiet of 'our' hotel. The room was huge - not especially luxurious or clean for that matter (not dirty, but just not clinically spotless), but the views out of the many windows were magnificent. The bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom perfectly adequate.
Later that evening, we drank in the bar (alone) and then went through to the restaurant (tastefully fitted and decorated) and ate (alone). The food was excellent. It's not often that the cook takes the order and serves up the food, but she has to be complimented on top-quality cuisine.
We left the bedroom windows open so we could hear the rhythmic sounds of the waves breaking on the shore. That ensured a perfect night's sleep. And to round off our stay, a perfect breakfast prepared and served once again by our versatile host.
So why 5 stars? Simply because we had walked 4 long days along the Ceredigion coastpath and needed somewhere to stay that gave us good food, peace and quiet, a long and undisturbed night's sleep away from the hustle and bustle of coastal tourism. And that is exactly what Plas Morfa provided. It's not luxurious, and yes it is in need of a major overhaul, but none of that mattered one bit. We loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trish wrote a review Sept 2019
Dartford, United Kingdom71 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow loved the location of this hotel . The views were to die for our room had a good view of the sea . Loved the sound ,smell and the freshness of the sea. Paul was very friendly and has good knowledge of places to visits and nearby restaurants. Breakfast was enough for us and fresh bread was yummy. Would definitely go back we love Wales anyway.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 8 has the best views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelexpert11 wrote a review Sept 2018
London, United Kingdom46 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Would thoroughly recommend staying here. So peaceful and quiet. No traffic noises only the waves crashing on the shore.
Fantastic breakfast.
Comfy beds with a clean and warm room ( yes the heat was turned on in August as it turned very chilly.
Paul is a very friendly guy, very helpful.
I visit the area once a year and will definitely be heading back.
Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Trish wrote a tip Sept 2019
Dartford, United Kingdom71 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 8 has the best views"
Read full review
Peter M wrote a tip Jul 2018
Tuerong15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 6 or 8"
Read full review
hebdenwalker2016 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom33 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room 5 had good views"
Read full review
lesh1327 wrote a tip Jun 2017
Derbyshire, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can recommend room 8 for views."
Read full review
alikavner wrote a tip Apr 2017
Coventry, United Kingdom58 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 6 had a lovely sea view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Llanon area.
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionLlanon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLAS MORFA HOTEL - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Plas Morfa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Plas Morfa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Llanerchaeron (4.4 miles), Fantasy Farm Park (2.6 miles), and Curlew Weavers (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Plas Morfa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Plas Morfa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Plas Morfa Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Plas Morfa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Stubborn Duckling, Y Seler, and Naturally Scrumptious.
Is Plas Morfa Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Llanon.
Are pets allowed at Plas Morfa Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Plas Morfa Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Llanerchaeron (4.4 miles).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire