We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Habana Riviera

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Habana Riviera
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic ocean views, across the street from the Malecon. Only 7 km to old Havana. Love the staff. Rooms are large and clean, shows some wear and tear (hotel built in the 1950's. Interesting history...take the free hotel tour). Renovations were in progress on some of the floors when we were there. Breakfast buffet nice, fresh fruit, juices, breads, cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very historic and walking into the lobby takes you back to the 50s. Staff are all great...very helpful. My room was old but super clean and everything worked. There are always an abundance of taxis outside including really old ones if you are looking for those. Also, the hop on hop off bus stops right outside. Pool area is really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Don B
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear you learned a little bit about our history. We apologize for the inconveniences, we are moving forwards in this aspect. We will check the problems that you mentioned. I’m sure next time you visit, you will be pleased with our services. My best regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel at the start and end of a Peregrine Cuba tour. If possible choose another hotel. Cuban Hotels are pretty much hit and miss and this is definitely a miss! When we arrived they checked us in on an upper floor - 17 I think, then they told us none of the lifts were working!! A week...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catswhiskers57
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Sorry to hear your stay in our hotel was not what you were hoping for. Regarding the problems that you mentioned, we will work on them, we hope no-one else suffers the same. Thanks for your comments, they will definitely help to improve services in the Habana Riviera hotel. My best regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales Director Hotel...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Never have I ever felt so unwelcomed in my life. The customer service at this hotel is the worst I have ever come across in all the hotels I have stayed at across the world. From the front counter to the bar staff and even the tour desk operator, not one person at this hotel I believe new how to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1987-Tam
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Tam, Sorry to hear you had such a bad time in our hotel. You can be certain proper measure will be taken with those responsible. Next time, please make a written complain, directly to the Public relations Department so action can be taken faster. We will work on all the issues you mentioned. Thank you for your comments. My...

Ciudad de México, México
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Moved from another hotel but also no hot water, service good, close to the city and miramar. Rooms are being renewed but lobby remains the same . TV control was not working and never received another one. No hot water during my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeColoniale
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Sorry to hear your stay in our hotel was not what you were hoping for. We are relieved to inform the hot water is working again, the problem is fixed. Regarding the other problems you encountered, we will work on them, we hope no-one else suffers the same. Thanks for your comments, they will definitely help to improve...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Located towards the west end of the Malecon about 5 km from the old town. Ginger Rogers inaugurated the hotel in December ’57, playing the legendary Copa Room (now closed) of this seafront hotel built by mobster Meyer Lansky. The rooms are large and musty. The Hotel rooms are under renovation (half of each floor closed) which is really needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oakville89
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for your comments, I am happy to hear you learned a little bit about our history. We apologize if the repair works cause trouble, we are moving forwards in this aspect. We will check on the MOST problem you mention. I’m sure next time you visit, you will be pleased with our services. My best regards,...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights this August .. There is no a/c in the lobby neither at the very nice restaurant , so it was empty. Breakfast was served in -1 floor. The room was terrible.. On the ceiling was mud all over, you can see it and you can smell it... The air condition was really strong , but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dimitrisathens77
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, I am sorry to hear you had a bad time in our hotel. Hot water is fixed however, too bad you could not enjoyed. We keep working on the a/c of the lobby, but elsewhere works fine. The hotel was designed in the 50s, and we have been declared National Monument, so repair works are a complex matter....

Oranjestad, Aruba
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We booked this hotel because of the history and good reviews. Gala hotels offered free transfer. We assumed that it was transfer to the hotel and back to the airport. Apparently it was only to the hotel and we had to take a taxi to go back to the airport. This was never mentioned. The rooms were clean, spacious, bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Koemarie R
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for all your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed some services in our Hotel. We apologize if the repair works caused you trouble, we are moving forward in that aspect. Sorry to hear about the taxi problem, however, there is a Tourist’s Bus that pass by the hotel every 45 minutes, straight downtown. We...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We arrived to the hotel after a long day of travelling to be told we didn't have a room and were being moved to another hotel despite booking through the hotel's website!!! We were sent to the Hotel Victoria and not given any transport as the hotel accepted no fault! Very upsetting after a long journey and a confirmed booking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah K
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Sincerely apologize for the negative experience that you had in our hotel. And we also regret not being able to have you as guests. We were in the plight of divert it to another hotel due to last minute difficulties. We reiterate our sincere apologies. My Best Regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales Director Hotel Habana Riviera Email: comercial@gcrivie.gca.tur.cu...

Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 6 August 2016

By US standards the Riviera would be unacceptable. However, US standard really shouldn't apply. There is a whole lot of "make do" at this hotel. The beds are comfortable, there is TV in the rooms, included breakfast was adequate. Each room has a safe. On a few floors only 6 rooms were being used. What used to be a sliding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gary e
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Gary: We sincerely appreciate your comments even though they are negative, our mission is to meet the expectations of our customers, and where appropriate, we care about your opinion and we will do special efforts to improve on those negative aspects to which it refers. Let us share with you that the hotel is undergoing renovations and is already...

555 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (477)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Habana Riviera, located front to the impetuous Caribbean Sea, with its romantic Malecon and in the heart of Havana City is imposed by the special atmosphere that offers its environment. Its architecture offers an eastern atmosphere of rare exoticism and novelty. The 16-storey Habana Riviera looks like something out of 1950s Las Vegas or Miami, an airbrushed postcard taking one back to a very different time and world. Stylishly modernist, the building's 50s look (and feel) carries past the revolving door entrance over to the grand lobby, whose original structure, furnishings and décor have been very well preserved. The spacious lobby bar is set next to a row of large glass panels that place one almost literally next to the water, and the Mirador de la Habana restaurant has very nice views of the littoral and city. A less publicized detail is the modern artwork that graces the lobby and entrance to the hotel, which includes pieces by renowned Cuban sculptor Florencio Gelabert - a fact that could prove of interest to anyone with an eye for modernist art. Through the years, the Habana Riviera has been able to maintain its refinement. Sculptures by artist Florencio Gelabert and suggestive and valuable wooden works and other artistic jewels reinforce the building's seductive flavour. Prestigious symbol of Havana City, its beauty, its Caribbean captivation, its cozy environment convert it into the most wanted hotel by the visitors: poets, dancers, painters, actors, Premiums Nobel writers, artists of all kind, ambassadors, officials, presidents and famous world figures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Habana Riviera

Address: Paseo No-1 e/ 1ra and Malecon | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: £150 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Habana Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Also Known As:
Habana Riviera Havana
Habana Riviera Hotel Havana
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Habana Riviera staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
4 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Habana Riviera staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a higher room with an oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles Oakville89, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms from XX11 to XX14 numbers. The Riviera hotel you have full Atlantic Ocean view (The Straits of Florida) fro any room.”
  • Copa Room Cabaret at Habana Riviera Hotel. Cuba.
 of 5 bubbles robertopH147AV, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best view of sunserts are looking toward the pool. For the Malecon, it is on the Entrance side.”
 of 5 bubbles SunsetCliff40, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher the better, traffic on the Malecon is fairly noisy. All rooms face east.”
  • Nice view east from 1206 looking east, although the dirty windows obscure the view a bit.
 of 5 bubbles 640jonc, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask high floor (up to 19) so the sea view is endless”
 of 5 bubbles Axeletsharon, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5