We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Habana Riviera

2.2 miles from Havana centre
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Paseo No-1 e/ 1ra and Malecon | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

632 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Unreliable elevators, lumpy mattresses, hallway stacked up with wrapped mattresses, carpet that has not met a vacuum cleaner since Castro took over, cockroaches in the room and exit stairwell. The staff however, were polite and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bradleeflorist
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week at an historic boutique hotel in Havana Vieja, followed by several nights at La Moka, in Las Terrazas. We ended our trip with a one-night stay at the Habana Riviera, to get yet another perspective on Havana. Our room and bath had been fully renovated and was cool and cohesive with the authentic mid-century modern public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Marianne, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The pool was being renovated at that time but now it is ready, and more beautiful than ever. We hope to have you back soon. And since you are interested in the architecture and style of the 50's, we can give...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't know where to start - I've travelled for years and spent my travels in pretty average hostels, camp grounds etc but never have I seen such a filthy, unservice-minded, poorly loooked-aftter establishment. I am still waiting to hear from the 'public relations' officer. We paid on-line so it's been impossible to get any money refunded. We stayed fro...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa G
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for your comments. We will certainly analyze the causes of the incidents you mentioned. Personally, I will take care of analyzing your situation, and make sure it never happens again. My best regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales Director Hotel Habana Riviera Email: comercial@gcrivie.gca.tur.cu Tlf. (537) 836-4051, ext. 238

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

OK looking hotel downstairs nice sunset bar. The rooms are a different experience all together. Our room had been freshly decorated and painted, that took care of the walls and bedding. Pillows were from another era, I wouldn't use the extra pillows or blankets too much mould in the cupboard for my liking. Steep bath, breakfast reasonable for Cuba. Way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Sorry to hear you had such a bad time in our hotel. You can be certain proper measure will be taken with those responsible. Next time, please make a written complain, directly to the Public relations Department so action can be taken faster. We will work on all the issues you mentioned. Thank you for your comments. My...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At first sight you can see right away that the hotel has lived better days: painting is ruined and it looked old. But then you get to the charming lobby and it feels more encouraging... DON'T BE MISTAKEN: the hotel is old and far from good. Linens and blankets smell like mold, carpets are dirty inside the rooms and on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol F
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Sorry to hear you had such a bad time in our hotel. As you said, it is an aged hotel, we are making a lot of repair works, we apologize for the trouble that might have caused. Hopefully, all the problems you mentioned will be solved soon. Thanks for writing, opinions always help to improve. My best regards,...

Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not stay at the hotel and cannot comment on the rooms, but came here regularly for a drink in the bar, and to enjoy the unspoilt 1950's atmosphere. The bar and the Aiglon restaurant, as well as the pool are areas well worth experiencing. At some point the hotel will receive a major overhaul and hopefully it will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arcoman
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, It is nice to hear you enjoyed our lobby bar. You are welcomed to come back any time. We are restoring a lot in the hotel, but the style will never change as we are National Monument. We will keep working on our weaknesses. Thanks for your comments. My best regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales Director Hotel Habana...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has seen better days. The room had mold issues on the ceiling. Most of the furniture in the lobby needs reupholstered. The carpet and pillow cases were badly stained. Only one of the three elevators was working at any given time, resulting in waits of 15 to 30 minutes. The staff was fantastic. They were kind, generous and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for writing, opinions always help us improve. The hotel is going through a restoration process, sorry for the troubles that might have caused you. Next time, we assure you every single detail will be in optimal conditions. I will transmit to the staff your opinion about them. This is always encouraging. My best regards, Roxana Prieto...

Havana
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Terrible management. I need to help for translete my request with travel agency but hotel Publics Relationships doesn’t do anything my request. In the loby all furniture very old. Pool area need to restore.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KOCAL
Roxana R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, We are very concerned about what you wrote. We are not sure if you still are in our hotel, if you are let us know what to do to make it better. If you are not in the hotel, we would like to know when did you stay in the hotel, and who was the person in the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Classic Mafia-built hotel(1958) Probably a 2 1/2 star hotel with serious mold and mildew issues. But you have to give credit to any hotel with the coffin shaped swimming pool and The logo of the coaster nostrum on the lower level floor. The staff is friendly not very helpful but friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steinski1
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Thanks for writing. Our hotel is going through a process of renovation, we are working hard to meet the required standards. Next time, I can assure you, there won’t be any trouble. My Best Regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales Director Hotel Habana Riviera Email: comercial@gcrivie.gca.tur.cu Tlf. (537) 836-4051, ext. 238

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Riviera as part of a small group tour for one night at the beginning and end of our tour of Cuba. It was a last minute change to our itinerary by the tour company. The good - Restaurant, bar and concierge staff were friendly. The room maid who noticed how long we had been waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nimontroy
Roxana R, Director Comercial at Habana Riviera, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the troubles you encounter in our hotel. Some of the mentioned issues are solved already, like lifts and hot water. We will take your opinions into consideration so we can improve and better please our guests. My best regards, Roxana Prieto González Sales Director Hotel Habana Riviera Email: comercial@gcrivie.gca.tur.cu Tlf....

580 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (502)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
1.3 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#46 of 78 in Havana
118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#34 of 78 in Havana
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Habana Riviera, located front to the impetuous Caribbean Sea, with its romantic Malecon and in the heart of Havana City is imposed by the special atmosphere that offers its environment. Its architecture offers an eastern atmosphere of rare exoticism and novelty. The 16-storey Habana Riviera looks like something out of 1950s Las Vegas or Miami, an airbrushed postcard taking one back to a very different time and world. Stylishly modernist, the building's 50s look (and feel) carries past the revolving door entrance over to the grand lobby, whose original structure, furnishings and décor have been very well preserved. The spacious lobby bar is set next to a row of large glass panels that place one almost literally next to the water, and the Mirador de la Habana restaurant has very nice views of the littoral and city. A less publicized detail is the modern artwork that graces the lobby and entrance to the hotel, which includes pieces by renowned Cuban sculptor Florencio Gelabert - a fact that could prove of interest to anyone with an eye for modernist art. Through the years, the Habana Riviera has been able to maintain its refinement. Sculptures by artist Florencio Gelabert and suggestive and valuable wooden works and other artistic jewels reinforce the building's seductive flavour. Prestigious symbol of Havana City, its beauty, its Caribbean captivation, its cozy environment convert it into the most wanted hotel by the visitors: poets, dancers, painters, actors, Premiums Nobel writers, artists of all kind, ambassadors, officials, presidents and famous world figures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Habana Riviera

Address: Paseo No-1 e/ 1ra and Malecon | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: £134 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Habana Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Also Known As:
Habana Riviera Havana
Habana Riviera Hotel Havana
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Habana Riviera staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Habana Riviera staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that has been renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles mariannem391, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose one of the top floors for amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineR90, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a higher room with an oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles Oakville89, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms from XX11 to XX14 numbers. The Riviera hotel you have full Atlantic Ocean view (The Straits of Florida) fro any room.”
  • Copa Room Cabaret at Habana Riviera Hotel. Cuba.
 of 5 bubbles robertopH147AV, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best view of sunserts are looking toward the pool. For the Malecon, it is on the Entrance side.”
 of 5 bubbles SunsetCliff40, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5