We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Melia Peninsula Varadero

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Melia Peninsula Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,015: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went in a group of 40 for a wedding but this is our 3rd time in Cuba so we knee what to expect. We arrived late at night and checking in was easy. The hard part was due to the lack of lighting and signs we had alot of trouble finding our rooms. We were tired and this resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Melissa L: Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and husband visited for a 2wk holiday and i have to say worse hotel we have ever been to. The 1st room we were in was damp , no lock in door, moved next day to block 13 over other end, block had just been decorated, well we were on 3rd floor had 3flights to go down with no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula L
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and myself and our two daughters ages 20 and 22 years stayed at this hotel from Nov 7-14th. We arrived at around 6pm and had a quick check in as only a few people got off the transfer bus from the airport. We had two rooms in building 21 next to each other which was perfect as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were there from NOV. 12 to 19. It's our 3rd time in Cuba, 2 times in Varadero and once in Cayo Coco. First of all, this Melia used to be a Tryp hotel. The grounds are magnificient. Beautiful mature coconut trees, trimmed bushes and flower plants everywhere.The grounds are very well kept. Large sidewalks (not well...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denis2755
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Now I arrived at the hotel around 11pm or so... check in was fast but as you can see by my pics I had a very large surprise in my room:.. now I was not expecting to see a roach this size... the hotel accommodated me and gave me one of the newer rooms which was a bit calming for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dirlayne
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good resort,staff top notch, food pretty good,beach beautiful, pool nice, great swim up bar. The best cappacino made by Youosy pool bar do not miss Japanese resteraunt. I would definatly return, grounds well kept

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CINDIUSA
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear CINDIUSA: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We are deeply sorry that during your stay you had problems like the lack of...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned Friday from the resort, this being my 14th trip to Cuba I knew what to expect. Would not recommend this resort. We paid for Elegance Club upgrade and were not given that, it was not until the three day that we got the upgrade. The resort is dated and clearly you can tell is was not a Melia...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank missmarta2015
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear missmarta2015: Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with the...

Portoroz, Slovenia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 11 nights and had a great time. The hotel is somewhat tired, but nevertheless still good. The staff was excellent, the food (incl. SHOW COOKING) was interesting and very tasteful. The maids, the cooks, the waiters... all maid up for the signs of ageing this hotel is showing. Don't get me wrong, the hotel and whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenetkeCom
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear BenetkeCom: Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero! It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We appreciate everyone of the reference in your review, and we are happy to know you enjoyed the location, facilities, the beautiful beach, the animation activities, cleanness, and the big variety...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We spent 5 nights at this hotel at the end of October and were disappointed by the standard of the hotel, food and staff. Especially considering the amount of money that we had paid to stay here. Food - When advertised it was made out that there were multiple restaurants on site that you could dine at freely. However on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank matt19913126
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Reception is not that great, very rude when we checked in and I for one was worried about how this first trip to Cuba was gonna go. However the amazing staff turned that experience around especially the staff at the bar and pool. Tips if you are traveling here : 1. Food - Not that great, what I mean by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry M
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Larry M: Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with...

4,665 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4634)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1033)
Viewed
Room/Suite (419)
Viewed
Dining (441)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (850)
Viewed
View from Room (129)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (142)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1475)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: £109 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#26 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and other travellers.
319 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (319)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Poolside ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles CINDIUSA, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Villa 25 was a great central location.”
 of 5 bubbles missmarta2015, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good as far as i know”
 of 5 bubbles westlea0012, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 1700's numbers was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles tey592015, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“great beach, great staff”
 of 5 bubbles RochyH, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5