We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Playa de Oro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mercure Playa de Oro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,014 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 522: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

After a lovely stay in the Mercure Sevilla in La Habana, and travelling to the beauty of Trinidad to stay in a Paladares (local house/B&B) myself and my friend travelled to finish off our trip with a 'reputable' hotel to relax for a few days on the beach. As a gold member of the L'Accor hotel group I'm looking forward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesTFletcher
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My hubby and I stayed here last week (from November 24th to December 1st). It was a last minute "cheap" vacation for us. WHILE WE WERE THERE my complaints were minimal. It's an older hotel in need of some pretty major TLC, but go in with an open mind, realizing you're in a different country, with different standards and you'll...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ashley P
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for mentioning the quality, price ratio as this is really very important. Know that we are doing a lot of efforts to improve the quality of our food and many of our habitual customers already notice and congratulate us. We reviewed your room and confirm that there is no trace of bed bugs but after you mention...

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My compliments to all the hardworking staff at this resort ... so obliging ... was travelling on my own with group of 9 family and friends ... a slight mixup on arrival and was put into a different building from everyone else ... spoke to front desk staff and ended up in a 2 storey suite complete with huge Jacuzzi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martindaleshedden
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For some odd reason, I look forward to returning here. Like others have said, "DON'T ACCEPT A ROOM ON THE FIRST FLOOR"!!!! That's what I got, first floor...smelled terrible, moldy, so gross. I don't think higher floors would be much better, still will have some sort of disgusting growth on the lamp shades and chairs, but will most likely smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ec33currie
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay in our hotel, I'm very sorry I did not have a chance to meet with you and know about this situations while you were in the hotel, solutions can be found this way. Your comments will help us to know what we need to do in order to do it better next...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We passed 10 days in Mercure Playa de Oro. It's wonderful place with nice green garden and colorful flowers, fruits( bananas, coconut, goyave) also tropical birds and colibri. One of the best beach in the world with a white sand and clear water. Nice and clean hotel, the room was very good cleaned all the time when we came back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Natalia C
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Bonjour, Next time do not hesitate to contact me directly before your arrival. Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward...

Sarnia Ontario
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really happy with this resort. Third visit to Cuba and this resort was very clean.....friendly and the food was not too bad. My only complaint was the bar staff. We found that they were not as friendly as the rest of the resort and their smiles seemed to be absent. BUT it was a great resort to stay at. Met...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim5080
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, nothing fancy but clean. Very nice pool area and The beach is beautiful. Front desk staff tend to be very businesslike - not very welcoming as you'd expect. Enriquez, the porter, was the exception. Odalys at the lobby bar is a pure gem. She mixed us our 1st cocktail & our last. We'd go back just to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieK_14
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE...

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good value for a vacation booked last minute. It needs upgrading but my impression was that staff was doing the best they could with what they had. Our maid was a little sweetheart, and the rest of the staff were pleasant to deal with (except for one neo-nazi woman working the front desk). The beach BBQ was really good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lightnin2016
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Varadero has by far the nicest beaches you will ever see! The staff at Playa de Oro are extremely kind and welcoming. They are sure to enhance your stay in Cuba! My sister and I loved seeing staff member, Yamil, everyday! He's involved with the entertainment at the resort and does a phenomenal job. He's such a positive and fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca_warwick11
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your good comments about our hotel, in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price for all of our guest, all the team will be happy to know that you had a good time with us We all are looking forward to soon have a chance to serve you again Cordialmente, Jean-Luc GROSSIN-GM MERCURE...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week in November. Check in was great, exchanging money was easy and fast. Room was comfy, two single beds, updated bathroom, nice balcony which faced the road. Beer was good and always cold. Dancing lesson were fun. Beach BBQ was very good, served everyday at 12:30. Buffet was the same each day, but always found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunburntcheeks
Mercure Playa d... V, Manager at Mercure Playa de Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recent stay in our Hotel; in Mercure Playa de Oro we strive to deliver the best Quality-Price relation to all of our guest Your comments will help us to know what we need to do in order to do it better next time, accept my sincere apologies for not cover all of your...

1,324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1299)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (270)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (178)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Other (566)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the renowned Varadero resort, on a magnificient beach with crytal waters and white sands, 8km from the town centre and 35 min from the airport. The Mercure Playa de Oro offers modern architecture and decor and features an all inclusive formula, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, 1 night club, sea and sports activities and daily evening shows. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Playa de Oro

Address: Carretera Las Morlas Km 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Coralia Club Playa de Oro)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: £101 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Playa de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Also Known As:
Coralia Club Playa De Oro Varadero Hotel Varadero
Playa De Oro Varadero
Coralia Playa De Oro
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#19 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Playa de Oro staff and other travellers.
419 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (419)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Playa de Oro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 1406 - during the week of November 24th to December 1st, 2016 we got bed bug bites”
 of 5 bubbles R8846PTashleyp, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request anything but a first floor room....trust me !!!”
 of 5 bubbles ec33currie, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Poolside as there was always something going on and the grounds are nice to see everyday”
 of 5 bubbles Kim5080, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles acflores30, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not facing the pool, it is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles amberg392, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5