Tyn Cornel Camping
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tyn Cornel Camping

A4212, Frongoch, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park, Bala LL23 7NU Wales
Recreation field
Traveller (147)
River Tryweryn
Pool & Beach (16)
Camping field view of conservation area
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Frongoch
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
If you're looking for a campsite with easy access to the best Snowdonia National Park has to offer, Tyn Cornel Camping fits the bill. On the banks of the river Tryweryn, we cater for everyone - whether you're after level hardstanding for your caravan or motorhome, electric hook-up for your family tent with space for the kids to play, or a peaceful grassy spot with a picnic bench and firepit. Wifi is free and dogs are welcome . If you're after some river action - kayaking, canoeing or whitewater rafting - Tyn Cornel Camping gives you access to white water just a few metres from your pitch and it's a short riverside walk to the National White Water Centre. If you like hill walking, mountain biking, road cycling or rock climbing the fun is close by. The market town of Bala, with its beautiful lake, is only 4 miles away. The North Wales coastline, with its award-winning beaches, is also nearby and you'll find it hard to choose which castle or narrow-gauge railway to visit first........
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

A4212, Frongoch, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park, Bala LL23 7NU Wales
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Chester Airport
33.9 mi
See all flights
Liverpool John Lennon Airport
42.2 mi
See all flights
223Reviews6Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 20
  • 8
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
katerade94 wrote a review Jun 2021
Somerset, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We picked this campsite as it was close to Zip World that we were visiting. Its the most perfect campsite ever. I cannot fault it. Stu met us on arrival and kindly brought me a box of chocolates for my birthday, he informed us of lots of local things we could do and was so welcoming.
The site itself is really well kept and location is perfect, right by a river which we loved might not be for everyone as can be loud but I found it soothing and had no trouble sleeping through it. Very close to lots of things Bala is just down the road.
Covid 19- the camp site has made the right amount of changes for covid 19, reduce the amount of people who can stay, reduced the amount of people who can shower and they clean at certain times.

I hope we come back to this area of Wales again because I would love to have another stay here and have recommend it to many of my VW camper friends.

Stay here for yourself and see how beautiful it is.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isi and Stu , Owner at Tyn Cornel Camping
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Hello Kate! Many thanks for writing this kind review, we're so pleased your birthday trip was a success. Thank you for choosing us as your place to stay. It was an absolute pleasure to have you, and we look forward to welcoming you again, and any of your VW camper friends! Thanks and best wishes Isi & Stu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma R wrote a review Aug 2021
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our stay here and wish we had stayed for much longer, we will definitely be back again! Upon arrival we were given the warmest welcome from the friendliest hosts ever who were very helpful and told us we could borrow one of their brilliant fire pits and buy a pack of fire starters, matches, kindling and logs for £5.50. They gave us a decent amount which kept us going all evening!

We were able to pitch up wherever we liked (which we love!), plenty of spaces to choose from so we weren’t uncomfortably close to anyone else and we had enough space to make a “back garden” behind our tent for some privacy. They have picnic benches dotted around which is a great addition and some have shelters on too!

We pitched up next to the river which was lovely to listen to at night/first thing in the morning and we had our breakfast and coffee watching kayakers go by! The pitches were flat, pegs went in easily and trees were close by so we never felt any wind!

Only feedback I can give is for the showers - they were verging on being a bit too hot. My partner has suffered with eczema in the past so the hot water aggravated his skin a bit as there was no temperature option. We were still grateful for a warm shower after our rainy hike up Snowdon though!

Overall we really loved our stay here and will definitely come back to explore more of the beautiful walks surrounding the campsite. Thanks so much both! 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LondonLover99 wrote a review May 2022
Essex, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights for paddling next door at Canolfan Tryweryn (CT).

The site itself was immaculate, and very pretty with a few fairy lights etc.

I didn't try the onsite pizza, but the sausage sandwich in a morning was very welcome and very tasty.

The other guests were quiet, and there was no late night noise etc.

Showers & toilets were clean, only two issues:
1) the showers are BOILING hot and there is no ability to regulate the temperature. Had I been staying there with my child, she would have been unable to shower, as it was far too hot.
2) There is no curtain or door dividing the shower area from the dressing area, so unless you are super-careful, your dry clothes get wet.

All in all, it was a lovely site.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: grass pitches are nicer than the hardstanding. And try the breakfast!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Henderson wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn’t have asked for better hosts… They were so accommodating and friendly. After my friend forgot to pack almost everything we needed for our trip including our tent, camp chairs and gas for the stove the hosts provided us with absolutely everything we needed. Nothing was too much they were amazing!

The site itself was lovely, the facilities were really clean and the campsite was very well laid out and easy to navigate. It is also in a great location near to the town of Bala and with lots to do right on the doorstep including like the lake and white water rafting. Would 100% recommend to everyone and I will definitely be returning here in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LandJ wrote a review May 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Lotus Belle Tent for 3 nights. Despite the poor weather, we had an incredible time. The tent has everything you need , all cooking utensils etc, comfy bed , log burner, cool box complete with ice packs for all your bbq food ! You really only need to bring yourselves , food and clothes! Definitely my style of more luxury camping whilst still maintaining the feel of being at one with the great outdoors ! We made use of the log burner everyday to stay warm, and the fire pit in the evening was lovely. The hosts were so warm and friendly, providing us with plenty of fire wood, filling our water can up on arrival etc. They also offered such helpful information on the surrounding area and things to do, both before our arrival and during. All of their recommendations for places to eat and visit were spot on. The facilities were great, including nice hot showers and the whole area is spotlessly clean !
Really do not have a single negative comment! Just so glad we chose a nice unique experience like this over a hotel for our first trip in months. It was wonderful to feel so free , and not too close to other people. They also only operating at 50% capacity right now given the covid restrictions which is kind of a perk !
If you are on the fence or worried about the weather , just do it, you won’t be disappointed! We will be going back for sure.
Thanks, Yolande and Dave
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isi and Stu , Owner at Tyn Cornel Camping
Responded 29 May 2021
What a kind review - this really means a lot to us, thank you so much Yolande & Dave. We love the pictures too! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and we are really chuffed that you enjoyed our cosy Lotus Belle tents - we look forward to seeing you again and when you return we will order perfect climbing weather! Thanks and very best wishes Isi & Stu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary wrote a review Aug 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this site judging by the “limited” pictures and great review we were expecting a nice time.

Things didn’t start off great after we called to confirm our booking and ensure that our tent would fit on the pitch with the appropriate safety distance mentioned on the website. The response was being shouted at they: “weren’t doing any admin, because of the jubilee weekend”

So that was left until a better time.

On the day we arrived the site was full and after a brief check in and being pointed in the direction of our pitch we drove over there.

6 meters between pitches? More like 6 inches!
Harding standing to park your car as mentioned on the website? Nope!

Our tent would have only just fit on the pitch (even though we checked) and if we had put it up the entrance would have opened up directly into the entrance of the neighbouring tent. All the tents were packed in, a fire would have taken a number of tents before being controlled. The website clearly states that you can’t have one of their hired fire pits in the electric hook up field.. but I was offered one anyway.

We decided that we didn’t wish to stay there, so we didn’t unpack and went to reception. I explained my concerns and was promptly told (before i could ask for one) that I couldn’t have a refund. I said that I would like one but again was told no because it has already been booked. I said that I wouldn’t have booked if I had known about the pitch but again as told no.

I was then offered another pitch, (fair enough) but I saw this pitch on the way back up to reception (the only empty pitch in the electric hook up field) which was no better than the one I just left. So I turned this down.

At this point I was told “well we’ve offered you an alternative pitch, you’ve declined so you can’t have a refund”

I thanked staff for their time and left rather disappointed.

One reason I was told that I couldn’t have a refund was due to me booking up the pitch and thus is could not be reused. However I live in the area and now how popular camping sites are and the demand for them, if i had returned later or the following day, would I have found the pitch occupied I wonder?

Would not even entertain the idea of staying there again. It is however a lovely spot, and the demand is high for camping sites. The management would do better reducing the amount of pitches and charge more for them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah T wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a week after the schools had gone back. Was lovely, so quiet, got busy on the weekend as is right next to the white water centre but it never felt too busy or over crowded. Hot showers, clean toilets, walks by the river, dog friendly, laundry facilities, fridge and freezer use, fire pit hire, and even ice cream vending machine with everything in it inc vegan and dog friendly choices. Lovely owners too always available for any issues. They even have lizards that live somewhere outside the toilet block. Saw them on several occasions 😍.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Davies wrote a review May 2021
Meliden, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
just come back from a 2 night stay at this campsite, and even though the weather was horrendous, it did not spoil our 2 days away, the grass area is well kept and flat, the log burners are great to use, the facilities are lovely and clean and well kept, i noticed that they were constantly being cleaned for use. if you love kayaking this is the place to come and you are right on the river. Bala town is only down the road but you would need to drive there, if you fancied walking it probably take you about 1 hour.
its very sign posted from bala and found it quite easy to find. obviously this is not just a campsite there is caravans, Glamping pods and Teepee for hire, or right back to basics with tenting.

my only criticism is one the family next to us were constantly smoking weed all day and night, ( which I need to remind is illegal) and i am sure people who choose to break the law and smoke weed think no one else can smell it, this is a family site (but then again the person smoking it had children with them)

and 2nd you can not take your own fire wood to burn, you have to buy on the site which is very reasonable but it smokes like anything and it spits, so i don't know who your supplier is but this is not the wood I personally would choose to burn, as the risk of it spitting could end up with a tent on fire. I think you should re look at this rule of fire wood and not bringing your own, as i know the stuff i buy doesn't smoke and doesn't spit and i am a responsibly adult and i would have been more than happy to sign something or pay a deposit incase of an accident.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: great Family location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isi and Stu , Owner at Tyn Cornel Camping
Responded 28 May 2021
Hello Hannah Thank you so much for this review, it was really nice to meet you all and we're so pleased the interesting weather didn't put you off! We're so sorry about your neighbours, we would happily have spoken to them if you had let us know, we are always here to help. Please also accept our apologies for your bag of logs, it sounds like it got wet somehow in one of the downpours. We would gladly have refunded you and given you another bag for free had we known it was not burning well. Our kiln-dried logs are regularly tested for moisture content and it is not a case of thinking our lovely guests are not responsible adults, it is just a condition of our insurance that wood we source is burnt in our fire pits. In the unlikely event of an accident happening when a guest was burning their own wood, we may not be covered, so we do have to ask this of guests I'm afraid. If you would like to return we would be very happy to see you, and pleased to provide you with free wood for your stay. Apologies and best wishes Isi & Stu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Resort04836938339 wrote a review Aug 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to our dog becoming suddenly very ill and needing surgery we had to cancel the day before. We asked if there was anyway of moving the booking to a different date but were told no. We had paid in full in advance and for extras but were told that none of it would be refunded even though we could send evidence from the vets of what we were going through. Make sure you book travel insurance if you go here. Our friends were still able to go and told us that the wifi on site was poor and that they wish they had known to pack plenty of midge repellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pack Midge Repellent. Get travel insurance. Don't rely on Wifi.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights recently. 3 nights in a campervan at a pitch with electrical hookup then a night at a pitch that allowed a fire pit. We were given a Lovely warm welcome on our arrival by Stu who continued to be lovely, helpful and friendly for our whole stay any time we spoke with him.
The campsite was clean and tidy and well maintained. Same applied to facilities.
We walked and cycled using routes thoughtfully supplied by the campsite.
The one thing I would bring with me next time I come here though is a mosquito net for my face as the river is right next to the site and there were tonnes of midges and not even a nice open fire at your fire pit will deter them!!!!
I look forward to coming back soon I hope 😃
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isi and Stu , Owner at Tyn Cornel Camping
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Hello Yvonne! Thank you very much for this lovely review, we are so glad you had a relaxing break here. It was a pleasure to meet you and to have you to stay. Do come back soon - you will always be very welcome here. Thanks and very best wishes Isi & Stu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from katerade94
Somerset, United Kingdom197 contributions55 helpful votes
No there aren't any beaches
Answer from Graham W
5 contributions
Pop and see the guys in reception, they have some laminated maps with local walks from the campsite. They’re mega helpful and friendly. Enjoy your stay.
Answer from hevjoy
Blackpool, United Kingdom7 contributions
Most of the pubs in the local town Bala allow dogs into their premises and the meals were quite nice. There is a lovely walk around Bala lake which is Ideal for a dog walk and I let her off so she could run into the water and play in the lake. Also Bala lake do all sorts of water sports where you can hire the equipment. I think they also did lessons for beginners.
Answer from Isi_and_Stu
Bala, North Wales1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi Rebecca We don't have a plug socket in the shower/toilet block but we do have a coin operated hairdryer (it takes 20 pence pieces) that you can use. We look forward to welcoming you to the campsite. Best Wishes Stu
Familylife79 wrote a tip Aug 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very small shop, go prepared. Can get very muddy. Push button showers."
Read full review
Resort04836938339 wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack Midge Repellent. Get travel insurance. Don't rely on Wifi."
Read full review
JennyRoutley88 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Hartland, United Kingdom45 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The junction is a sharp turn in, with a narrow bridge- go slow and take care for people walking over the bridge."
Read full review
Angela J wrote a tip Sept 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get there by 2pm for your choice of pitch."
Read full review
Gerald Hobbs wrote a tip Aug 2022
England, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just avoid this campsite at all costs, it's very expensive for low quality stay. A patch of grass at the end of the day? Rude and unhelpful staff..."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Frongoch area.
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia-Eryri National ParkBalaFrongoch
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TYN CORNEL CAMPING - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Tyn Cornel Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Tyn Cornel Camping?
Nearby attractions include Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake) (3.4 miles), Capel Clay (3.1 miles), and Stori Beer and Wine CYF (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tyn Cornel Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Tyn Cornel Camping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tyn Cornel Camping?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Wives' Tales, Cyfnod Cafe Bistro, and Plas-Yn-Dre.
Is Tyn Cornel Camping located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Frongoch.
Are pets allowed at Tyn Cornel Camping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Tyn Cornel Camping?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Capel Celyn Memorial Chapel (2.9 miles), Tomen y Bala Castle (3.1 miles), and Castell Carndochan (4.6 miles).
Is Tyn Cornel Camping accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire