The Chancellor Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Chancellor Hotel

a poor shot of the birds - but you get the drift!
Traveller (47)
Breakfast
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£144
Get rewarded with One Key
£144
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#9 of 16 hotels in Port of Spain
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to The Chancellor Hotel, your Port of Spain “home away from home.” The Chancellor Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as The Red House (1.0 mi) and Holy Trinity Cathedral (1.6 mi), guests of The Chancellor Hotel can easily experience some of Port of Spain's most well known attractions.

The Chancellor Hotel is a hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service, express check-in and check-out, and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Port of Spain. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While visiting Port of Spain, you may want to try some lobster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Chaud, Angelo's, or Texas de Brazil.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Queen's Park Savannah (0.3 mi), Royal Botanical Gardens (0.4 mi), and Queen's Hall (0.3 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

The Chancellor Hotel puts the best of Port of Spain at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming

Location

5 St Ann's Avenue, Port of Spain Trinidad
71Reviews2Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 17
  • 13
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
intervale wrote a review Feb 2021
Intervale, New Hampshire252 contributions138 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Chancellors in a second story de luxe room (en suite bedroom plus separate lounge), currently designated as a specific hotel for quarantine guests only for the seven days mandated under government protocols for exempt arrivals into Trinidad(note all air and seaports have been closed since March2020 with a personal exemption secured from the Min. of Nat. Security to arrive or leave a mandatory requirement).
The hotel , normally on the budget end of the scale has had to substantially increase its B&B rates to cover it’s lower occupancy and increased costs but is better suited to this use than mixed use and higher level properties where guests are confined to their rooms.
The air conditioned room was spotlessly clean, freshly painted and extremely large with access to a gallery veranda and outside chairs and table. Furnishings are basic locally manufactured units and the only bed was a double even though there was more than enough room for a king.
Guests are obliged to make their own beds and clean rooms, the excellent staff were not permitted close contact and willingly brought cleaning supplies , linen changes, ice etc.on request.
Based on the adequate , but not particularly good, breakfast which was included, we did not order lunch or dinner from the hotel restaurant but had friends and relations bring in food
and leave it on the courtyard table for collection.
The room has a small fridge freezer and microwave .
The paved courtyard, is large and doubles as a parking area and could be used for exercise.
The only major negative was the virtually non existent internet which the owner is aware of and trying to remedy.
Minor issues were the lack of an elevator to the second floor as suitcases had to be carried up by guests in the absence of a porter.
Overall, if required to comply with the government quarantine protocols this property is one of the better choices, however in normal circumstances we would choose elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Shandilya, Owner at The Chancellor Hotel
Responded 18 May 2021
Thank you for sharing your perspectives on your stay .I am delighted you notices the teak furniture made by a local manufacturer, which does really great pieces. We have changes the bed size to queen in the room and included a little more variety to our breakfast. We also know due to our protocols we do not offer porter services as we have to reduce as much contact, this goes for lifts etc.. These are protocols we are guided by. However we always take note of areas where we can control
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kenneth J wrote a review Feb 2020
Bergen, Norway412 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Simple and secure hotel located outside Port of Spain. The hotel is old and the bathroom have seen its better days. I stayed here during the carnival celebration so the price for one night was very high compared to what you get. There are WiFi, however almost only work in public area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Shandilya, Owner at The Chancellor Hotel
Responded 18 May 2021
Hi , Thank you for your response.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GYanez wrote a review Jun 2004
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida12 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second visit to Port of Spain on business and I stayed at the Chancellor. The first time I ever encountered RUDENESS in Trinidad was at the Chancellor. The Chancellor's kitchen and room service staff were RUDE. You could tell that they did not enjoy their job. But the bartender & front desk staff were always polite. The bathroom was not air conditioned but it was huge and had a great shower with good water pressure. They did not have blow dryers, I am glad I brought my own. The room was clean and the beds were okay. The room did not have a refrigerator and no phone book could be found. Good thing I new where to get good food. Jenny's on the Boulevard is my favorite restaurant. But if you are visiting Port of Spain for the first time, you may not have a choice but to eat at the Chancellor. BEWARE. One of my business partners ordered a hamburger and it took the restaurant 1.5 hours to make it. I am not exaggerating. I asked how long it would take them to make me a hamburger and they told me at least one hour. There was only one other couple in the restaurant, so I can't understand why it took so long. I decide to call my driver and have him take me to Trotter's for a good burger. But Trotter's ran out of hamburgers. The best part of my visit was the tour I got from Osie Night Owl Taxis Service. I hired Osie for the week and he was always a phone call away. He even took me on business appointments and waited on me. Very reasonalble rate...about $ 50 per day. He took me to have Rotti and Pholouries, wonderful local food you must try. And of course, Bake and Shark at Richard's on Maracas Beach. Osie even stood in the rain and filled up my empty bottle of water with fresh coconut water while I waited in the taxis. Excellent service. Excellent driver. If you are interested in getting in touch with Osie, just contact any hotel and ask them for Osie Night Owl Taxis service. Or just send me an email.

By the way, I checked out the Crown Plaza in downtown Port of Spain. I will definately stay there next time. Be sure to ask for a balcony with the Woodbrook view. You won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2005
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jen W wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This very pleasant and quaint Caribbean style Hotel is conveniently located in the northern region of Trinidad with serene mountain views. Excellent customer service was provided with very clean and cozy rooms that have the basic amenities for you to enjoy. A lovely breakfast is included with a beverage of your choosing. A coffee and tea station is available to you 24/7. You can feel reassured and secure with the security presence felt on the compound making your stay a safe one. There is a feeling of being in the countryside without ever leaving the city. Strategically placed tables and chairs are placed for you to sit and relax right outside your room while having your meals. I must say, I thoroughly enjoyed my 7 day quarantine stay at this hotel. It was refreshing and open. It felt more like a retreat than an obligated government approved quarantine stay. Recommended for an enjoyable stay given the present circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Shandilya, Owner at The Chancellor Hotel
Responded 18 May 2021
Thank you for your recommendation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K. Trini wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I contacted Chancellor Hotel on 11/17/22 and was delighted to learn that they had an available queen sized room for Carnival 2023. I ordered an extra small bed for my four year old child, paid via my credit card, and received a confirmation of my booking. The confirmation states for myself, another adult, and child. The next day, the hotel contacted me to inform that due to the size and location of the room (corner room) it could not hold another bed and asked me if I wanted to upgrade to a suite. They sent a few pictures of the room, which was an adequate size, so I thanked them and informed them that we would keep the room, as I could not afford the increased cost of $550/day. A few days later I received another email informing me that the room was not for a queen sized bed, but a full sized bed. Confused and concerned, I called the hotel and asked to speak to the manager. She confirmed that the room was for a full sized bed and asked me again to upgrade. Given their staff errors, I asked if she would consider lowering the price of the suite to $500/day, which I could afford, but she declined and said she could give me a refund. I told her that it was just a few days and we will keep the room. She said the room was for a couple, and I explained that we would be comfortable in the space, as I saw the pictures. Also, at this timeframe now, it was doubtful that rooms were available nearby. I received an email the next day from the hotel detailing the refund from the hotel. When I called and spoke with the front desk, they said the manager was not available; it was the manager's decision because I would not be comfortable and there were concerns because i asked if there was a desk in the room. I explained that I did not cancel the room and all I did was confirm the items in the room; we are petite and can fit in the bed. She said she would need time to contact her manager. I never heard from them again, despite my additional attempts to reach out. Desperate, i contacted other hotels- even the one that I turned down before- but everywhere in POS was sold out. I ended up booking at the Marriot for double the price, which I could not I afford, but had no choice.

I think when hotels make errors or false advertising, the client should be compensated. I felt pushed to order the larger room and when I said no, they cancelled my original reservation. I was forced to purchase another room that is way out of my price point.

I submitted a complaint report to Tourism Trinidad and although they sympathized with my situation, they only dealt with larger hotels. They advised me to leave a review.

The hotel's actions were unethical. I suspect they had another offer for the room and cancelled my reservation to accommodate another guest, while trying to make me upgrade to a pricier room.

Please be careful if you book with this hotel, especially during peak times, such as Carnival.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Shandilya, Owner at The Chancellor Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2023
Ms Greenidge, Thank you for your feedback. Before I respond to your complaint, it is my respectful view that customers provide all the necessary information prior to making a reservation so that you get the best room option for your stay. As discussed at length with you, when you made your first request you asked for double occupancy, then you called again requesting a single bed to be placed in the room, at which point you said you were bringing your child. Another request was made for a table to be placed in the room for your child to do his/her activities. When you requested the additions, we knew the room would have been cramped to facilitate you comfortably for your stay. Despite the fact you said you would agree, this was not at all comfortable for the safety for occupants with all three persons in a standard room. It was based on this you were immediately refunded. We would not comprise safety in this matter. You were given the option of a larger room that could have facilitated your request, but you admitted that the price point was not one you were comfortable with. I knew you were unhappy with the decision we made but we were not prepared to compromise. Again, refer to your reservation, it clearly states 2 adults only. I hope your Carnival was great despite us being unable to host you at the hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jet802508 wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There are lots of lovely places to stay close the Savannah and downtown Port of Spain. The Chancellor Hotel is not one of those places anymore (I've stayed here several times, but things have changed!). After agreeing to terms for booking my room for a future stay, the hotel changed the terms after receiving my deposit (a very large deposit over $2500 USD), and refused to give me a refund. I've been coming to Trinidad for years now, and am truly appalled by the management at this hotel. Don't risk staying here, the Normandie is right down the street, the rooms, pool and food are nicer and the staff is amazing. The Hilton is also right there and is a very nice hotel and they just reopened a fancier hotel in the area called The Brix. There are other small guest houses in this area as well. Go to one of these spots instead, you will not regret it. But this hotel has changed and I would not risk it if I were you. They kept my deposit, released my room, rented it out to someone and else and stole my money. Also please note, I do not make it a practice to write negative reviews and always give people the benefit of the doubt. After months of trying to resolve this issue, the only thing left that I can do is help protect my fellow travelers, which I am now determined to do. #ChancellorHotel #Stayatchancellor #hotelintrinidad #chancellorcare #hotelinportofspain
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Shandilya, Owner at The Chancellor Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2023
Hi Melissa, Thank-you for sharing your views however I do not recall any hostility on our part with you. You were fully aware of our policy which via all correspondence have been noted even with your bank as well. As you know the bank have agreed not to return the deposit. The release of the room was very close to Carnival which made it difficult for us to sell the room. You were also given the option for reinstatement if you were coming to Trinidad despite all that occurred. Our policy is not different from an International one and therefore there is no need to try to change a narrative. Hope this helps with future reservations at any hotel especially during peak time. I am happy you shared as I can now use your sentiments in training staff. Thank you, Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandria S wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A simple little hotel with basic amenities and topped off service of breakast on a morning ! It was a great experience, with access to the pool (once received a negative Covid result) and highlights of a chair and table in front of unit, with microwave and coffee utiilities on the side. There was also a very spacious courtyard where family, friends and loved ones can visit and drop off specific items. A very Caribbean-oriented villa with a simple style and engaging customer service!

Thank you - my experience was amazing !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Shandilya, Owner at The Chancellor Hotel
Responded 18 May 2021
Thank You for your comment. Please stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrice V wrote a review Aug 2023
Trinidad1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
no. Where is the person I spoke to at 730am, they couldn't answer. I calmly walked out whilst the manager followed me out into the car park telling me let her see what she could do. And she cant go lower that is trouble. And if she can call me another hotel. The audacity of these people is beyond me.
I told her this isn't going to remain between us. I am going to highlight this for others to be aware. Imagine I am a Trinidadian and getting this kinda is treatment. Imagine what you do to foreigners. Shame on you. Am sure I am not the 1st person you have done this too. You know exactly what you doing. I called another hotel and went there after.

I strongly suggest boycotting the Chancellor Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for the person name when making a booking. And please offer to pay with cash. As you get one...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JIM J wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quaint hotel nestled in the foothills of Northern Trinidad this hotel is lovely. Clean rooms, friendly staff and excellent amenities ,it certainly provides bang for the buck. As security is always an issue, I was pleasantly surprised by the constant presence of guards on the compound. An overall excellent experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms with an outside table and chairs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover15394 wrote a review Jun 2005
New York, NY4 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place and great people make any traveling experience enjoyable ... and this is how I could summarize my few days/nights stay at the Chancellor Hotel ... the manager, people at the front desk and staff in the restaurant/bar are not only pleasant, helpful and friendly but also full of the information, not found in the tourist guides, on 'what to do in Port-of-Spain' ... the fact that the Botanical Garden is just about around the corner only adds to the charm of the hotel and its location ... I am certain that I will be back - not only to Trinidad but also to the Chancellor Hotel ...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from serginh027
Fortaleza, CE1 contribution
Concordo. Não recomendo pra ninguém. Os mosquitos e os ratos tomam conta. A piscina não é feita a manutenção e limpeza. As sobras das refeiçoes ficam nas mesas por até 2 ou mais dias sem ser limpadas. Lamentável.
Patrice V wrote a tip Aug 2023
Trinidad1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the person name when making a booking. And please offer to pay with cash. As you get one price over the phone and another upon arrival"
Read full review
JIM J wrote a tip Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the ground floor rooms with an outside table and chairs."
Read full review
Lenny wrote a tip Mar 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good location for Trinidad carnival"
Read full review
rphamel1615 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Southborough, Massachusetts1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If internet is important ask for a room closer to the pool."
Read full review
Eugene080275 wrote a tip Apr 2018
Leduc, Canada9 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay at this hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port of Spain area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chancellor hotel port of spain
LOCATION
CaribbeanTrinidad and TobagoTrinidadPort of Spain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CHANCELLOR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Chancellor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Chancellor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Royal Botanical Gardens (0.4 miles), Emperor Valley Zoo (0.5 miles), and Queen's Hall (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chancellor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Chancellor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chancellor Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chancellor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Exchange Restaurant, Apsara Restaurant, and Tiki Village at Kapok Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Chancellor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Chancellor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chancellor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort George (2.3 miles) and Woodford Square (1.7 miles).
Is The Chancellor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Port of Spain HotelsPort of Spain Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Port of Spain
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire