We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chaconia Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Chaconia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chaconia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The room was extremely filthy, coated in dust and the windows were dirt covered. There were bits of cement on the bed covers, and the room smelled musty, as if it hadn't been aired out on weeks. It was so bad we had to leave immediately for a different hotel. The hotel staff was very rude, and at one point...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kmuffins7
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

The management of the hotel prides it's self on offering the best available comfort in terms of product and services to its guest and clearly we did not do this in your case, and for this, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort caused. However, I would like to assure you this is not what we ascribe to, because...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at the Chaconia for 11 days, arriving a few days before Carnival. We chose it because we could not find a better one in Port of Spain offering two beds: some hotels still had vacancies for rooms with just one bed, but we don't like to fight over the sheets at night... The Chaconia is about 6km north...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walter1945
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

It seemed obvious that we did not impact positively on your stay at Chaconia Hotel. Some of the events which took place during your stay are unfortunate, however, it must be noted that these are remote from what are our established standards, which are obviously highlighted in other reviews. I would like to apologize for the shortcoming and we will...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I am an American living in Trinidad and stayed at the hotel with a friend who came in while we were doing some renovations to our home. I chose Chaconia Hotel because of price. Firstly the staff is incredible! Trinidadians can be harsh and everyone we encountered were friendly: the maintenance man who turned on the waterfall for my 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trinidadGRITS
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff for choosing the Chaconia Hotel for your family holiday. It is always a pleasure to hear and know that my staff have impacted positively on the guest that patronize the product and services we offer. We are a work in progress in terms of improving the standard of...

San Fernando, Trinidad
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night and really enjoyed our experience. The hotel is very reasonably priced, compared to others in the Port of Spain area-less than $100 US. The room we got was on the second floor and was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was the best part, being fully updated. We spent...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AventuraChica
Westbury, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed at the Chaconia for 2 nights when I was in Trinidad for my brother's wedding. The first two rooms that we were given the AC units did not work. The front desk clerk was happy to assisting us with a room that had a working unit. The room was clean and basic. I can't say I spent much...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trinionli
Trinidad
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I spent my wedding night at the hotel and first off, they could not find out reservation. Then upon checking the reciept book, the front desk agent saw that the room was paid for but no reservation in the system. Getting to the room was a long walk but to add to the night of desaster, we were given a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcelena1
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 11 July 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and my wife and I loved the place. We were looking for a hotel with a decent price and nice room and that is what we got. The room was large and spacious and the bathroom was just the right size. The Chaconia was recently renovated and it shows when you pull...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Integra24
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewed 6 July 2007

I stayed at Chaconia for 3 nights in June/July 2007. I went for a high school reunion which would be held on-site, so I decided to stay in the same place for convenience purposes. The hotel is not handicap accessible because all the rooms are on the upper floors and there is no elevator. I normally avoid stairs and try...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trinigirlmd
caribbean
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Stayed at this hotel back in 2005 came here and a totally diffrent hotel, refurbished rooms newly painted hotel inside and outside. My room was really caribbean touch with a professional service to back it up. The front desk staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you especially Neisha. Being back here on business expected...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JJhome
Houston, Texas USA
Reviewed 14 November 2006

Asked four times in four days to please have my bedside and only lamp repaired or replaced. Someone came up to the room after the second request. Disassembled the lamp and left the parts and tools on the bed and never returned. Front desk personnel never followed up on repeated repair requests. There is no refrigerator in room. Came back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tropicalspeed

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maraval
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
826 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
33.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Chaconia Hotel

Address: Saddle Road 106 | Port of Spain, Maraval, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Maraval
Price Range: £106 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chaconia Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chaconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaconia Hotel Maraval
Chaconia Hotel Trinidad/Maraval
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chaconia Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chaconia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room facing the pool that way you have something to look at generally there are no views.”
 of 5 bubbles sparks2015, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“just ask for what you want and you will have it”
 of 5 bubbles WendyE184, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“There are no elevators or bellmen so if you cannot walk upstairs make sure you request a room on a low floor.”
 of 5 bubbles jtbmom, 27 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Bring your own linens and air fresheners.”
 of 5 bubbles 755siang, 15 Jan 2014 | Read review
“They usually give you the kind of room you require once you request it.”
 of 5 bubbles AshleyW722, 27 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5