We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn on Strand Street

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Inn on Strand Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Very clean room . Very Friendly staff ... nice renovated room with all you need . Beautiful view to the beach . Awesome housekeeping . Good breakfast downstairs. No complaints! Will recommend anytime ! Thanks !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabriel S
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I spent two nights here in March '16 and was quite happy about it. Yes, the hotel could use some updating, but I found it to be clean and more than adequate. I was pretty happy about my ocean front room on the fourth floor. I had my own little balcony and a pretty nice view of the front (Strand)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitly37
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our team took over the hotel in April of this year and we have been remodeling the rooms since then and we recently renamed the hotel The Inn on Strand Street. Please check out our new website at www.innonstrandstreet.com. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on the 2nd floor to be exact now u have no kind of privacy when your on your balcony there is a camera seeing everything you do no kind of.privacy that's not cool how can you be comfortable and know that someone or people are watching you not cool all you smell in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5starqueens
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

Thank you for this somewhat confusing and mixed review. -We are a non smoking hotel, so we are interested to know where you smelled cigarette smoke. -We are glad that you found the housekeepers and office staff helpful! -We apologize that you felt unsafe with our security cameras, but they are actually there for your safety. -We are happy that...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Came to the hotel not only to see that there under renovation but i put that aside and got a room but when night falls what I saw was just a complete turn off a well known thief, drug addict and prostitute in the hotel and it was brought to my attention when my.boyfriend when he saw some white boy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ParadiseFlower01
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

We would like to state openly that this is a harsh and untrue review. Please come to the hotel and show us the people smoking crack, the prostitutes, and the white boy with tattoos that you seemed to not like. We can apologize that you did not like your shower head, so if you let us know the room you...

Cruz Bay, St. John
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to find that is been remodeled. The room was dusty, floors dirty and above all room will not accommodate a family of 4. The receptionist was of not help, saying the hotel has a new owner and there was nothing that she could do. We had to move to another hotel. I am sure the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johana P
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

We are thrilled with the much needed remodeling taking place at our establishment and we apologize that you found your floors dusty and dirty. We also apologize that you found the front desk staff to not be helpful. As far as the room not accommodating 4 people, it is up to you to choose a room that will accommodate your...

Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewed 2 May 2016

It was clean. Is that a good review? No one at the desk to check us in but a note to call a number that didn't work. Coffee maker in the room but no filters and no dish soap or cloth if you did use the kitchen. Booked this room on booking.com and were quoted a cost on CDN dollars...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheila S
RockieFox21, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

Our sincerest apologies for Booking.Com leading you to believe there was a pool. We cannot find where it says that, but we will check into that for you. Keep in mind that booking.com is an online travel agency so we do not have 100% control of the information on their site. We took over the management of the Frederiksted Hotel...

Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a decent hotel for a budget traveler. Very close to the Frederiksted docks. Plenty of scenic and quite beaches within walking distance. Fredericksted itself is pretty dead unless there is a cruise ship around. Hotel's Breakfast is pretty good. The area around the hotel can look very shady at night, but the view and the breeze in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WanderingClicker
Lancaster, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We stayed four weeks in 2016 at the Fredricksted Hotel. The people were great, room was spotless and the breakfast at the hotel was served hot, tasted delicious. Ester is a great cook, we remind her pancakes. Nieves, manager, very helpful and accommodating. We recommend this hotel to anyone. Wonderful place to stay. J & D Peterson, Lancaster MN

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Snowbirds856
Northborough, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Frederiksted Hotel is downtown on the main drag. Older facility than advertises a one week minimum but you can stay for fewer nights, 3 night minimum would be more like it. Our ocean view room is overlooking main street and was fine. Not noisy. Good breakfast. WiFi in public areas and sometimes in room.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Maurice T
Navarre
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Not fancy but clean and the manager bends over backwards to make sure you have everything you need. Great place for divers and it is walking distance from the pier and a dive shop right there. I plan to visit again next year

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FASJR

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
12.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
463 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
11.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 14 in Christiansted
111 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,062 reviews
4.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Inn on Strand Street

Address: 442 Strand St, Frederiksted 00840-3531, St. Croix (Formerly Frederiksted Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Price Range: £95 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on Strand Street 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on Strand Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Frederiksted
The Inn On Strand Street St. Croix/Frederiksted, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on Strand Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Christiansted, St. Croix
over a year ago
Hartford, Connecticut
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
6 months ago
Austin, Texas
9 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on Strand Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on Strand St; high up”
 of 5 bubbles whitly37, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wi-fy works best closest to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles Snowbirds856, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Second floor and above overlooking the sea, the balcony is great in the evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles 989jimmyj, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ocean side luxury is the way to go.”
 of 5 bubbles 365scottp, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Higher floors have a better view of the ocean, and less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles M6496FBjamesb, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay