We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windward Passage Hotel

Booking.comUS$155*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windward Passage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

When it came to checking in keep in mine I booked it weeks ahead room wasn't ready sent us on a goose hunt room to room with people in them already not a good start our view was a baseball field O it gets better mouse was in our room A/C stopped blowing cold air on our last day on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Noe A
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time in submitting your review. Your comments have been forward to the Management Staff which they take very seriously. Sorry for any inconveniences you endured during your stay and hope that one day you will give us another chance, Regards, Guest Relations

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 16 March 2015

just a one night stopover underway to BVI and it was ok for that purpose. Hotel probably was great x years ago, but now appears a little worn. Not much smiles and friendliness to see from the staff. Price-wise ok.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christian N
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time in submitting your review. Your comments have been forward to the Management Staff which they take very seriously. Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Was in town just one night for business. The pics online look very nice but it is not the same when you arrive. Linens, towels and bathroom were of average cleanliness. My room view looked out to a baseball field with a game in progress and it was noisy! The restaurant has no view whatsoever. You can choose to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaptainPC12
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to the Management staff which they take very seriously. Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here overnight before our weeklong sailing trip and one overnight as we returned before our flight back home. I'm very disappointed in the service (or lack thereof) and also the price you pay for a bed made in the 1980's (squeaky and sunken in middle) and a room that is very noisy to the outside. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CEY41
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in submitting your review. Your comments have been forward to the Management Staff. Regards, Guest Relations

Urbana, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 14 March 2015

We stayed here on a recent trip to St. John. We needed an extra night and the location was great to the downtown shopping district. The room on the water front was ok, the toilet would not flush properly we had to use the waste can and fill with water to get it to flush. Check in time was 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KeyWestJunkie_62
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time for submitting your review. Your comments have been forwarded to the Management staff which they take very seriously. Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed at sugar bay for three days and then added a fourth so we had to go someplace else, what a mistake, this place is way down the scale.but the party in the alley out side with the loud music was it.We had to pay $40.00 extra for a ocean view room to get away from the party noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duke606
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Sorry for any inconveniences you endured, your comments have been forward to the Hotel Management Staff. Regards, Pam

British Virgin Islands
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We stayed there for a weekend, and the only positive thing to say was its location. Walking distance from Downtown shopping and Cafe's. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very unpleasant. We were checked in by Sophie ( also did pre-check in, which survey for no purpose at all) and she was very rude and not welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carola M
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Management Staff which they take very seriously. Regards, Pam

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 1 March 2015

We were lucky to get a room in the middle of the tourists high season, so that was good. The room was average, the beds were ok. The room was clean and well kept. A bit run down even though the website said recently renovated rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marisol_LJ
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 February 2015

*****We are traveling- Aug 2015. Site wouldn't allow me to put a review without putting in a time.***** We contacted the Windward Passage to obtain a group rate for a baseball team we are taking down to participate in a tournament and was given a rate. We had been in contact with the Director of Sales the entire time and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dee A
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been received and forwarded to the Hotel Management Staff. We hope you enjoy your stay on the Island! Regards, GRM

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We stayed at this hotel for one night due to a flight cancelation. We would have moved but room was non refundable. Our room was on the fourth floor and faced the back of the property. It was very noisy from the neighborhood behind. Car alarms, yelling and people in the streets directly behind the property. The courtyard bar is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatMSU
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to submit your review. Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel managment staff which they take very seriously. Regards Pam

459 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.2 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: £104 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Falmouth, Massachusetts
5 months ago
18 days ago
Granada Hills ,California
Charleston, South Carolina
5 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the ocean view”
751stevenm, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Get an interior room”
788stephenm788, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you request a bay view room. The views are worth the extra cost.”
justpop56, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor was quiet and over looks the ocean.”
vont2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is what you want.”
MamieKelley, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$155* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$431
Bookit.comUS$415
Expedia.comUS$169
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates