We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 249: English reviews
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Slept on a put me up bed in a family room and I'm still looking for my spine! The beds were so uncomfortable I think it's a form of torture to make a child's sleep on a bed like this. We were in room two on the ground floor, the room itself seemed too small for a family room. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S5Maddock
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very basic room , clean . Lacking furniture i.e armchair, to sit in, you have to sit on bed. no draws for small clothing , no bedside table & no wardrobe just hangers on a small rail. Ok for one night Friendly & helpful staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiesF8318CI
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We're sincerely sorry to learn that you were not positively impressed with the set-up of your accommodation. However, we're pleased you encountered friendly, helpful staff members. We will most certainly pass a copy of your feedback onto the relevant teams and thank you again for taking the time to leave us your experience.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night in November 2016 as I had an early business meeting in Merthyr - this seemed the best of a poor selection of hotels in the town. It was a case of 'needs must' and I can't really say it exceeded expectations... The receptionist - when they arrived - promised to put me in a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jebndelorus
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low however we understand your frustrations. Your...

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking was a nightmare with a warning from staff you will get £100 fine if you park in the wrong bay or in a white line and the car par had local cars booming out music until 2am ish we all paid different rates for rooms?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrCustomer216
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and we will notify the hotel of your comments.Thank you once again and we do hope you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I normally stay here when working in the area, however a mate and myself decided to stay here for bike park wales, on autopilot mode I booked a double room, when we got to the hotel, the guy said double room for 2 nights, and I went red, and explained id booked it by mistake, he offered to move us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkGa1971
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel great location with a gastro pub next door as well as Asian buffet and a franky and bennys nearby. Beware that they can be busy and have waits of 40/50 minutes for food. Vue cinema opposite. Car park by hotel gets packed so you have to park in another part of of the retail park. The car park and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and we would like to thank you for the time...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our room 120 was on first floor at the back of hotel. Front of hotel overlooks busy leisure park with restaurants. It has a lift to first and second floors. The male receptionist was very welcoming. Iron and hairdryer available on request. Nearby you are spoiled for choice for eats in the evening. 2 pubs, (Harvester and Dragonfly), Oriental (Chinese),...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marg B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

When I heard that my friend had booked us into a travelodge I was horrified. Having stayed in some shockers before I really wasn't looking forward to it. The reception team member was fairly welcoming if a bit distracted, however later she was warm and friendly (I'll let her off). This is not a 5 star hotel, this is cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark E
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel manager so we can ensure...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

One of the better travellodges. It is on a Leisure Park with a swimming pool, cinema, bowling alley and various places to eat. Easy to get to, clean and good staff. It would be better with more comfortable beds for the children and larger tvs.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sihirst
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Merthyr Tydfil Travelodge. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

A very clean room with lots of space even with four of us in it. Lots of different food options around and really helpful staff. All of this at a great rate. Couldn't recommend highly enough and will certainly visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chrisO3223GU

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
107 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
117 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
666 reviews
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Address: Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil 1.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor if with a bike (although there is a lift)”
 of 5 bubbles MarkGa1971, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at the back. When we were there the leisure park was not too busy, so not sure what rooms would be like at front.”
 of 5 bubbles 685margb, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles weloveholidays007, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are suitable - only 2 floors.”
 of 5 bubbles dizziebabe, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on front.”
 of 5 bubbles Bridgehill68, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay