We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mill Farmhouse

Overview
Fron Oleu Farm, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UN Wales See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Free Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star accommodation
About
Description
17th century farmhouse with attractive lounge and dining room. Seven en-suite bedrooms located in the Old Haybarn and the Old Stables, sleep a maximun of 19 people. The buildings have been converted retaining More oak beams and exposed stone walls. Garden, with pool, waterfall feature, attractive Japanese garden and garden railway, overlooks Trawsfynydd Lake. Bedrooms are level access, ideal for disabled/less ambulant. Generous breakfasts. Excellent for small cycling and walking groups. Secure bike storage. Beautiful area for photographers. Owners are keen photographers, producing Audio Visual sequences. Bring your sequences and entertain us all! Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
7
Price range
US$85 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Old Mill Farmhouse Trawsfynydd, Wales
Location
United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel
27 reviews
6.04 miles away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
146 reviews
6.88 miles away
Castell Deudraeth
513 reviews
7.65 miles away
Hotel Portmeirion
1,667 reviews
7.65 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Canolfan Prysor Centre
58 reviews
2.25 miles away
Bryn Arms
70 reviews
3.28 miles away
The Grapes Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
221 reviews
4.50 miles away
The Rhiw Goch Inn
147 reviews
2.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Yr Ysgwrn
56 reviews
.77 miles away
Llyn Trawsfynydd
25 reviews
2.22 miles away
Coed y Brenin Forest Park
255 reviews
6.07 miles away
Oriel Brondanw
5 reviews
7.41 miles away
Reviews & more
45Reviews
15Photos
0Q+A
6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 8
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Had a lovely stay here, room was very clean and tidy, owners were very friendly, sadly had to leave before breakfast but would 100% stay here again, lovely location and easy to get to from all over. Thanks again
Read more
My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay in poppy fields morning breakfast was brilliant and u made us both feel welcome while we stayed there we hopefully be there again next year after my boyfriend saw your advertisement in heritage railway many thanks to u both x
Read more
I absolutely cannot recommend this place unless your car is broke down In the middle of the road and must stay there for some reason. This place is ran by polite but heartless people who shockingly in our case let our child go hungry one evening without any apparent reason.

This
Read more
Response from OldMillFarmhouse, Owner at Old Mill Farmhouse
Responded 26 Aug 2018
It seems there were shocks all round in this situation! Fourteen of our sixteen guests were happily settled in their rooms and we were waiting for the last two to arrive so we could complete the breakfast prep. This was an online booking made for two adults in the small twin room. There was no ETA given on the booking form and we had not received any communication to say they would be late. When they did arrive at 9.15pm, I was shocked to find – not the two adults I was expecting, but a family of four – and it soon became apparent that he was expecting to only pay for the adults. The following evening we had shock number two when the husband came to ask if his wife could use our cooker to prepare food for the children. Our kitchen is very narrow and we can easily get in each other’s way. We were busy doing the breakfast prep for eighteen people and we were also about to cook our own evening meal. Besides, we are, as he said, “just bed and breakfast” and are not registered for self-catering. I’ve no doubt he may well have found hotels – with large kitchens, more facilities and staff on duty 24/7 – more able to fulfil his requests. We are NOT a hotel. We are not heartless people either, as a glance over our reviews will, I believe, reveal. We care very much about our guests and we always do our best, as far as we are able, to help with special requests or emergencies but when the lady appeared with her saucepan, it was obvious this was a regular occurrence, not an emergency. Three times I offered to help by cooking the food myself in the microwave but she refused my help. It would have been more appropriate if they had stayed either in a hotel or in a self-catering establishment. They also need to be more honest in disclosing how many people are in their party. I am sincerely sorry that this family did not enjoy their stay with us and I hope the rest of their holiday was more successful.
Read more
I stayed here last weekend. Can not believe how fantastic it was for the money. We stayed in the blue lagoon. The mattresses where so comfy and soft. The room was spotless and the shower room was great.
Breakfast was truly British! Beautifully presented and tasted fantastic.
The
Read more
Response from OldMillFarmhouse, Owner at Old Mill Farmhouse
Responded 26 Aug 2018
I'm glad you enjoyed Blue Lagoon family room. After the refurb, with the re-build of the bunks and the wardrobe, it's brighter, warmer and altogether more cheerful. Re check-in: I think we'd better look at putting up some directional notices for next year.Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Beautifully situated on the outskirts of Trawsfynydd village, it has everything you need. The rooms are lovely, you can park right outside and Margaret and Penny are the perfect hosts. You are made very welcome. The Welsh breakfasts set you up for the day. Nothing is too much
Read more
Response from OldMillFarmhouse, Owner at Old Mill Farmhouse
Responded 26 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind comments, Gill. It's true, you can get to lots of the tourist attractions quickly and easily from here. We are very fortunate to be so well situated. We are pleased that you had such a good holiday here and we will look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Previous
1234569
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
The old stables
"Best views and not far from coast pubs and steam trains good for young families to"
"Go alone as too small for 2 people"
"I was allocated a room and didn't have the opportunity to view others"
"Repent your sins...... Perhaps the experience is good for the soul.... Another example of inhospitable people."
"any room will be good, no traffic noise, but check for the size of room you want they are all different."
Previous
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing