We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southerness Holiday Park

Save
Share
Off Sandy Lane, Southerness Dumfries, Scotland, Southerness DG2 8AZ Scotland
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (508)
Room & Suite (131)
Pool & Beach (43)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Southerness Holiday Park
Updated 16/04/20

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in a wonderful location, Southerness Holiday Park is right on the edge of the beach, offering lovely sea views across the Solway Firth. Take a stroll on the sands or head into the local area to explore pretty market towns.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Shops
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
831Reviews91Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 273
  • 268
  • 139
  • 76
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sarah wrote a review Nov 2020
Grangemouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Brilliant service and amenities. The caravans are always clean, a fab size and reception/check in staff are so helpful with all questions. Our first choice for a weekend away now and it never disappoints!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at Southerness Holiday Park
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are delighted that you had a brilliant time with us. Thank you for your positive feedback on our reception team. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back on park for your next weekend away! Kind regards, ^LA
Read more
Atanas Blagov wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions
When we arrived at the caravan everything was ok , even Ive paid extra for early checked inn . The caravan was ok (not very Clean) .About 5pm next to our caravan arrived 3 cars and they start having a party to at least 3am in the morning.Ive phoned 3 times the security and about 11pm they came to check but the people next to as didnt bother to stop (even they are not allowed to meet so many people at the same place especially small 2 bed caravan ,security didnt bother to go and check again and stop them. Out family evening was completely down .My wee boy wake up 3 times and was crying :( Went in the morning to the reception and the explain to the girl and she said will speak with the manager but the manager is not there at the moment . About 11am they offered me another caravan which was old ,smell of dampness and no heating , sink was blocked with old food,Discusting. We have to wait till 1pm to be moved ,finally get as on simillar one, but very dirty, they just made the beds and that all, toilet was stinking , very dirty and Filthy . Ive asked for refund for my 1 day which was gone with a lot of stress and theyve refused to do it. Very Very DISAPOINTED .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not go there, poor service and not clean enough
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at Southerness Holiday Park
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Hello, It is unfortunate that on any large holiday park, there will be a small minority of people who are not respectful of other guests. As a business, we do take this very seriously. Anybody having any issue on our park can be assured it will be dealt with accordingly – as long as we are made aware. We would like to apologise on the behalf of the disruptive guests, and for any disruption caused to you. We are glad that our park team were able to offer you alternative accommodation as our park teams are always there to help as much as possible. We are sorry to hear that you felt the cleanliness of your accommodation could have been improved. This certainly is not the usual feedback we receive here at Parkdean Resorts, as we aim to clean all of our accommodations to an exceptionally high standard. We do hope that you took the time to report this to a member of our helpful team, so that we could address and rectify this accordingly. As stated always here to help you during your stay with us. Kind Regards, LA^
Read more
davidhouston2 wrote a review Nov 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at Parkdean Resort Southerness Holiday Park from 5th - 9th October 2020 with my husband and our dog. On arrival at The Plaza 9 Caravan, I could not believe my eyes, especially just now with COVID-19. The caravan was filthy in very poor condition, broken wall panels, dirty worktops, dirty table, and kitchen cabinets all having to be cleaned, that's before I checked the cupboards, which contained all the crockery, again all needing to be cleaned. But don't get me started I wouldn't even let my dog into the caravan due to the hair, sand and dust on all the floors. I didn't expect to start my holiday having to clean my holiday accommodation, but putting that aside, when I complained at the reception and via email on returning home, I was met with lies, whereby they stated that they offered to clean the caravan, which was not true, they didn't even attend at our caravan at all during our stay, they also stated that they offered us vouchers for the restaurant at the resort, again all lies, I've even got an email apologising for not getting a cleaning team to our caravan and that I wan not offered any form of voucher. What a joke, I would expect during this current pandemic that all caravans to be deep cleaned, but one thing the people going into the caravan after us are going into a cleaner caravan. 1st and last time staying in a caravan, thanks to Stacey and Leanne at Parkdean Resorts Southerness.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: don't accept The Plaza 9 Caravan
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at Southerness Holiday Park
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Hello, Thank you for providing us with your feedback today, we are saddened to hear that you would not return to Southerness again in the future. Our guests’ feedback is invaluable to us, and we rely heavily on our guests recommendations. This helps us to continually improve and refine the park, and the service that we provide. We aim to deliver the highest level of customer care where we can, with excellent service being at the forefront of everything that we do. We are concerned to hear your feedback today. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the on-park Management Team for review. Thank you for highlighting this with us today. We are sorry for any disappointment caused and we would like to thank you once again for taking time to raise feedback with us. Kind regards, ^LA
Read more
Sarah Fowlis wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions
Myself and my family are not long back from a week stay in Southerness and we stayed in the Eden caravan, overlooking the sea, it was beautiful!! 1st time we have been to Southerness and will definitely be back!! Aside from the Covid restrictions in place we had the best time in the swimming pool and kids had fun at the arcades, aswell as walks on the beach, staff were very friendly and so accommodating (they did a fab job with the restrictions) and want to especially give a big shout out to Chloe from the entertainment crew who was fab during our fun times at Bingo!! I also won on two occasions (which adds to the best bits of the trip) Food was excellent on the nights we did click and collect and our caravan was perfect for our family of 4 size (a bit tired looking and could do with a wee uplift) but not a complaint by any means - can’t wait to go back from Sarah x
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at Southerness Holiday Park
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Hi there, Thank you for completing this review, and for providing us with your feedback. It is great to see Chloe mentioned and she will be delighted to hear of this. We will make sure she is aware of your fantastic feedback you have provided. We are happy to hear that you had such a great time on holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on-park soon. Kind regards ^LA
Read more
Bryan millar wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Unfortunately a good family break away was Ruined by an absolutely filthy caravan. Without a doubt the most disgusting place I've stayed resulting in us leaving a day early. When we arrived we immediately noticed that the caravan we were staying in was completely different to one advertised but we were ok with this. What we weren't ok with was when we started looking around. When we opened the fridge and freezer there were still.crumbs and food stains inside showing it hadn't even been wiped never mind anything else. The plates were still dirty with food on them, the floors were absolutely disgusting, the worktops covered in crumbs, the shelf's, cupboards broke, the couch was absolutely bogin, covered in stains. One of the worst surprises we got was when we took the frying pan which still had fat and grease in it!!! By the first night I had decided we were leaving but our kids were upset so myself and my partner spent the first night cleaning the place. Handles and doors were covered in grime which showed it hadn't been sanitised. When I told a friend about this and showed him the pictures, he made a good point "imagine if there wasn't a global pandemic" WiFi never worked once that we were there. Food in the cafe horrendously expensive and the shop on site stocked more bleach and cleaning equipment than a Tesco superstore, must be there biggest seller, funny that. Can confidently say, me or my family will never return .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at Southerness Holiday Park
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Hello Bryan, We are sorry to hear that you felt the cleanliness of your accommodation could have been improved. This certainly is not the usual feedback we receive here at Parkdean Resorts, as we aim to clean all of our accommodations to an exceptionally high standard. We do hope that you took the time to report this to a member of our helpful team, so that we could address and rectify this accordingly. We are always here to help you during your stay with us. Kind Regards, LA^
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
southerness holiday park hotel southerness
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDumfries and GallowaySoutherness
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Southerness Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Southerness Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Dalscone Farm Fun (1.6 miles), Dumfries Museum and Camera Obscura (3.2 miles), and Dumfries and Galloway Aviation Museum (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Southerness Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Southerness Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Southerness Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Southerness Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Southerness Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Home, Mrs Green's Tea Lounge, and Casa Mia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Southerness Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Southerness Holiday Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Southerness Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Southerness Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Robert Burns House (3.1 miles), Ellisland Farm (4.5 miles), and Old Bridge House Museum (3.1 miles).