We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stair Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stair Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Stair Inn
 Click to rate
Crossford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

we paid 95 per night for a double room . the room was really smelly with a sewage smell as well as very dated. cracks on the walls and the owner closed the bar at 10pm on new years eve and 01st jan 17 as well as locked the door to locals from 9pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidesweeney
YDB20, Owner at Stair Inn, responded to this review

Apologies for the delay in replying , I was only just made aware of these reviews yesterday . I can see that you and your partner wrote your reviews at the same time so I will answer them together if that is ok ? I spoke with Mr Peacock who made the initial reservations . He had a nice time...

Crossford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We were quoted £85 per night B&B but on departure we were charged £95 per night although on the website it said current prices £85 for twin and double. I did not want to question it because I was with friends. It was the worst room I've ever stayed in, it had a damp smell in it ( the owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgeg1976
YDB20, Owner at Stair Inn, responded to this review

Continued from your partners review ... As I said ....would you invite an inhospitable host to join your party which was pre planned to take place upstairs in the bedrooms . To say I forced you out is simply not true, if you had planned to celebrate New Year in the bar why did someone say you had brought your...

ayrshire scotland
Reviewed 30 November 2016

After giving this place a big miss due to poor food on a Sunday some 3 years ago I decided to give it another try for lunch on the 30th November ( wed ) 2016. BIG MISTAKE at 1 pm we arrived and in real term looking for a lunch only to be presented with the evening meal and GENERAL...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frank g
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely overnight stay here. We loved the bar area very cosy and the food was excellent and fantastic value for money. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The owner is also a lovely chap too and extremely hands on. The only reason we didn't give it 5 is because the bed was very soft and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 129cape
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Always a pleasure to return to the Stair Inn and enjoy its distinctive and enjoyable atmosphere. This visit we were able to enjoy the evening sunshine outside over drinks and a meal. Comfortable, clean accommodation, good cask beer, and a peaceful location makes this one of the best if not the best pub in Ayrshire. Great breakfast rolls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
UK
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed after a visit to Ayr races. Loved the hotel, everyone was friendly and we were comfortable. Food was delicious and we enjoyed our stay I'd reccemmend for a stop over when visiting the area, there's free parking and wifi although wifi was a little temperamental which is only to be expected in this sort of area. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandmoz
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We were attending a wedding at Enterkine House and booked a room at the Stair Inn given the reviews and also the lovely photos they had. Our room did not reflect the photos that were on the Booking.com website. The room was over two floors as it was a family room but the room was basic. The bed clothes were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank doodledeedee
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Made a visit to the Stair inn on sat 23rd July, passed this place on week of open and thought must visit. We were not disappointed food was great, staff very pleasant and such lovely surroundings, really nice atmosphere on our visit can't wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqui O
scotland
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Was looking for a countryside pub to stop while out for a drive, The Stair Inn was perfect. Approx 7 miles from Ayr (20 minutes drive) and a good stop for anyone walking the River Ayr Way. Nice décor and really cosy atmosphere inside as the log burning stove was on. Plenty choice from the pub style menu. King prawn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank di73
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Four of us enjoyed a really good meal, I was really surprised to see chicken curry pie on the menu so I decided to try it. Very good dish although I did find the vegetables slightly too al de te for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haggisreid

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Stair Inn

Address: Stair KA5 5HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Stair
Price Range: £60 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stair Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Stair Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stair Inn Ayrshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stair Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book elsewere”
 of 5 bubbles Davidesweeney, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the south side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles J5493KEalexm, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 was really lovely”
 of 5 bubbles jandmoz, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room is not so comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles doodledeedee, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“pay the extra for the king size room. Well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffWestMidlands, 14 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5