Ardeonaig Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ardeonaig Hotel

South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU Scotland
Traveller (359)
Room & Suite (82)
The most stunning 3 course breakfast
Dining (43)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Ardeonaig
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled on the south shore of Loch Tay, approximately halfway between Killin and Kenmore, the Ardeonaig Hotel & Restaurant is a delightful property in a peaceful, rural setting. Escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life and immerse yourself in our charming surroundings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet

Location

South Loch Tay Side, Ardeonaig, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SU Scotland
621Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 413
  • 111
  • 44
  • 26
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sue B wrote a review Jun 2022
Midhurst, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely boutique hotel in a quiet rural spot on Loch Tay, 7 miles from Killin. Great spot for walking and cycling. They are building some self-catering units at the rear but there was no disruption at all. Lovely bar with tables outside on the lawn by the river and at the front in the sun. Cosy restaurant with a good local menu with some South African dishes for variety & wine list. The food on the whole was good but some of the dishes were a bit too oily for us. We’d booked 4 nights but on day 2 we tested positive for Covid. No!!! The staff we just amazing. They brought meals up to the room and housekeeping knocked on the door every morning to see if we needed fresh supplies. The rooms are exactly as in the photos - spotlessly clean with a comfortable King bed (thank goodness!) ; comp refreshments, hanging space, drawers, a safe and a hairdryer Smart TV etc. The bathroom was huge, modern, the obligatory white fluffy towels, large basin and big walk-in shower, skylight with Velux blind. Big shout out to Kerstin the Duty Manager who went above & beyond to look after us. They were even able to accommodate us for 3 extra nights until we tested negative and felt well enough to carry on with our trip. It wasn’t what we had planned but there are far worse places to have to isolate for a week!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Good morning Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you are feeling better and in a position to continue your trip. Thank you for also being respectful to other guests and making it easy for us to look after you. I will pass your comments on to everyone, enjoy the rest of your trip and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Alan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thediscerner wrote a review Sept 2021
Lichfield, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been fans of the Ardeonaig going back many many years and have seen it change hands and go through quiet and busy times. Over the last few years we have been sad to see the restaurant closed and obviously the last 18mths has been a nightmare.
So
Latest visit to the area and they're open with relatively new owners. And they are maintaining the quality of old. We had a quail starter, chicken and 'surf and turf' mains and deserts together with a really good Merlot and coffees and all for less than £100. The cooking was confident and accurate and the service quietly professional.
We managed 2 weeks up here (from Staffs) this year and of all the places we've eaten this would be the highest recommendedation for quality and location.
The hotel is still undergoing finishing touches and the kitchen's not up to full speed but this is a place to watch as it gets to where the new owners want it. It's an old love in good hands and heartily recommended. We look forward to returning on our next trip north or maybe even staying a while.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's a long drive along the south shore of Loch Tay. Depending on the time of year the trip is...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Good afternoon, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as dinner in our restaurant. High praise indeed that you rate us highest of all the hotels you stayed at on your 2 week visit to Scotland - thank you! We very much hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela O wrote a review Jun 2023
Denny, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved everything about the hotel and our weekend away, we stayed 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights, the location was perfect for walking and cycling the Rob Roy Way. The rooms were of a great standard with comfy beds and I loved the fact they used locally produced Scottish toiletries from Siabann. The food was delicious and I'd recommend the fish and chips and the seabass. Although we were lucky with the gorgeous sunny weather, it's useful to know that the hotel is well-catered with lots of comfy places to relax.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Good morning Thank you for your lovely words and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Yes, the weather has certainly made a difference, but rain or shine, there is always a cozy nook to relax, have a drink and enjoy yourself. I will pass your comments on to all staff and we hope to see you back here soon. Regards Alan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OlneyJane wrote a review May 2022
Swaffham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location and views of loch,although the road is not for the faint hearted considering how narrow it is and the number of large trucks and farm traffic.
Bedroom and bathroom were of a very high standard,with good quality toiletries,towels and even bath robes.
Food was lovely,if a little pricey.
Duty manager very friendly and helpful but seemed to lack support and back up.
Therefore, it was satisfactory for Bed,Breakfast and evening meal…..however:

Confusion on checking in, (couldn’t stretch to calling it a “welcome”), didn’t seem to recognise our name and confused us with “Anderson/Robertson” and thought there were 4 people in our party.
We were shown to Room 1 and discovered,later that we should have been in a different room.
We were given no information,no information in room,and we felt as if we were an inconvenience!
Concerned that there was no Fire Notice and instructions in the event of an emergency.

The bar seems to have been relocated to the cellar,but is unfinished,no stair carpet, concrete floor with old,stained furniture and a dirty rug in the middle of the floor.

Disappointing range of beers and no lager available.

There were some random rooms on the ground floor, that appeared to be in a time warp and we had no idea if they were for our use or waiting for refurbishment and upgrades.

Restaurant lacked atmosphere and although on the menu,there was no chicken or sea bass.Surprised that there were no mushrooms for breakfast on our second day, but not informed.

Our room door was not flush with the frame,which made locking it with the keypad,slightly tricky and time consuming.

Room was serviced but no milk supplied on our second day, fortunately there was a selection of fruit teas.

We were disappointed as we had expected a slightly more luxurious stay for our final days in Scotland.
Parts were lovely, but the overall effect was “unfinished “
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 1 , first room at the top of the stairs. Disturbed by slamming of front door and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 29 May 2022
Thank you for your comments. The hotel is still a work in progress and will not be completely finished for some time to come. Your comments will be taken on board and dealt with. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vixxe1999 wrote a review Jul 2022
Scotland, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the cottages next to hotel which are great. In the cottage there are menus which advise you can order take away food. We went in on Friday evening and were told it was too busy to take away food (there was barely anyone there). After a bit of to’ing and fro’ing they decided they could do a takeaway but it had to be a burger…. What the difference is between a burger and fish and chips (what we would have liked), I’m not sure.

Saturday morning we went for breakfast and were made to feel like we were too late (watch checking, had to ask the chef - it was 9.45am). We did get breakfast but were given the wrong drink, toast and no offer of anything to go with breakfast.

Saturday evening we went for dinner. We both ordered the same main course and were given something that wasn’t even on the menu. Totally bizarre given the waitress wrote down our order in front of us!!

Sunday evening I went over to ask if we could get a take away. When I went in, both the waitress and chef were sitting chatting in the kitchen and there wasn’t a soul in the restaurant. I was told they couldn’t do a takeaway as they were ‘stock taking’. Never heard of a restaurant that stock takes while service is on.

Quite frustrating that there are menus in the cottages but it is near impossible to get food. Even more frustrating that this is the only option for 7 miles, and still you can’t get anything. It’s as if they just don’t want to entertain customers, which I find really surprising given the location of the hotel. Additionally, the food is priced quite high and isn’t justifiable given the service and quality.

Very poor on all aspects and definitely need to think about customer service and whether they want to make money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take food with you to avoid having to use the hotel (or trying to).
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Good evening Firstly, thank you for your comments and our sincerest apologies that it didn't live up to your expectations, however, I will address this point for point: It clearly states that a reservation is recommended as there are limited timed times and limited numbers we can take. Your partner came in and asked for a three course take away. If this had been pre-ordered, there would not have been an issue. He was initially turned away, but I went and spoke to him and offered a meal. He asked for burgers. Twice I asked whether that was was he wanted. Not once was fish and chips mentioned. I also explained to him that bookings were essential. In current times it isn't easy to cater for unannounced people and as we are quite remote, stock can easily become an issue. With regards to breakfast, I was sitting opposite you and Kerstin offered you everything there was and if there was an issue, certainly no mention was made of it. I will speak to her about making you feel unwelcome. You both ordered the Chicken Linguine for dinner on Saturday evening, which is on the menu, but if this was incorrect, it should have been returned when Kerstin checked on you. You had made a reservation for breakfast on Sunday morning, but never showed up, and Sunday evening it was necessary to take stock, however, a booking was not made. I am really sorry that you had such an experience at the Ardeonaig as that is definitely not what we strive to achieve and this will all be discussed with staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We heard that one of our favourite restaurants had reopened so we wanted to give it a try. The setting hasn't changed - it is still as beautiful as it always has been - and the red phone box is still there as well.

The changes are subtle. There's more outdoor seating, it's all been freshened up inside and the staff are all wearing uniforms (and smiles).

The changes to the menu have been pretty dramatic. There were 2 menus - a bar menu and restaurant one. We went for the restaurant menu. A great choice of dishes and the meals were better than it had ever tasted before.

We are already organising a return with friends.

My only worry is that this place will get so popular that it will be hard to get a table.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You need to try the sticky toffee pudding!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2021
Thank you johnrM6534PG for your amazing review. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola H wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is an absolute gem. The deluxe room has everything you could want- excellent toiletries, comfy dressing gowns, crisp clean bed linen and a lovely comfy bed. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make every guest feel special. The food was delicious - compliments to the chef - and the best chilli garlic prawns and the best cheese board my husband and I have had. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for the fantastic review, it's much appreciated! Delighted you enjoyed staying in one of our Deluxe rooms, they are indeed nice rooms. Your compliments have been passed on to the chef regarding your enjoyment of the garlic prawns and cheese board in particular. We hope to see you again at some point.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris D wrote a review Jul 2021
Scotland, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is obviously benefiting from a new owner and a refresh.

The area location is fabulous, and the hotel is situated in a very picturesque spot.

Our room was decorated to a high standard and very clean.

Evening meal was taken on the balcony and when we asked to move inside this was facilitated with no hesitation.

Staff were helpful. Garry and Steven are worthy of mention for their affable approach and attention to patrons. Alan the owner was also clearly passionate about his business..

Breakfast was ideal, with the full Scottish taken.

A nice nights escape.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Many thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted you enjoyed stay with us and that you found our team helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JKB59 wrote a review Jun 2021
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and and I were staying locally and enjoyed a lovely meal from the bar menu: steak and fish pie. Both well cooked, presented and delicious. Service was professional and welcoming.

Based on that experience we returned a few days later with family members. Starters were excellent, including a generous pork belly and refined salmon tartare. One fish pie main mirrored my earlier experience. The rest of us chose the Sunday roast special, which was overcooked and tasted more like pork rather than topside of beef (which is what was offered). Not really enjoyable, and my wife left so much that the waiter did not charge for her meal. A nice gesture, greatly appreciated, but we would all have preferred a tasty, well cooked meal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Good morning JKB59, Thank you for your comments. We're sorry the Sunday roast was not to your liking, however we are delighted that you enjoyed all other aspects of your meal as well as the bar menu a few days earlier. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
593DouglasK wrote a review Sept 2021
Perth, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As it was a special occasion, we booked lunch at Ardeonaig based on past experiences there. A massive disappointment. Starter of Cullen skink unedible due to excess salt - sent back. Main meals were quite small for price and the fish pie my wife had was more potatoes than anything else, looked like smash and had not even been browned on top. A very poor effort. My Thai curry was OK but portions small for price. Had intended to have dessert but after 2 poor courses we decided to cut our losses & left. I did inform our server in the restaurant of our disappointment but he did not seem particularly bothered.
Conclusion for us was that this was certainly not worth the effort of getting there and we shall not be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ardeonaig Hotel, General Manager at Ardeonaig Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch the other day. As was explained to you, chef does not season the Cullen Skink at all - the only salt you taste is the natural saltiness of the smoked haddock itself. Chef's Cullen Skink is a firm favourite on our menu and is indeed one of the most popular dishes, quite often selling out. As with all dishes, the fish pie is also prepared freshly in our kitchen and contains plentiful salmon, cod, prawn tails & haddock and is topped nicely with homemade mashed potato. We do not, and never will, use Smash. Again, we thank you for your comments and wish you well in your quest to find somewhere more suited to you. Kindest regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Ronald_Douglas
Glasgow45 contributions14 helpful votes
They have changed the number on one website but corrected on another. Try another website.
Answer from RhubarbsCustard
Aldbrough St John, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
The owner is just maximising profit and running it into the ground. The restaurant was the best bit when we were there- we won't be returning
Answer from Joan B
Aberdeen, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
These are the prices indicated on the website: Cottage & Shieling Suites - £250 per room per night (inclusive of full Scottish breakfast). Loch View - £150 per room per night (inclusive of full Scottish breakfast) Standard Rooms - £120 per room per night (inclusive of full Scottish breakfast). Hope it helps!
Linda S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Aberdeen, United Kingdom39 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fresh milk provided for the room on request, much better than little UHT pods. Lovely toiletries in a spacious bathroom. "
Read full review
Paula wrote a tip Apr 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom108 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definately book restaurant before you arrive well worth the visit "
Read full review
Julieanne L wrote a tip Feb 2024
Gateside, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book dinner early if you can, as its so remote."
Read full review
rredrose126 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Leicestershire, United Kingdom89 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road may be a bit narrow tracked but lots of passing spots. We one saw a couple cars going up. Gorgeous surroundings! "
Read full review
ttg3272 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tranquil location "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ardeonaig area.
PRICE RANGE
£99 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStirlingshireLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National ParkLoch TayArdeonaig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARDEONAIG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ardeonaig Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ardeonaig Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ben Lawers National Nature Reserve (4.0 miles), Tomnadashan Mine (1.9 miles), and The Drumochter Munros /mountains (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ardeonaig Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Ardeonaig Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ardeonaig Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ardeonaig Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar, Cruachan Farm Restaurant, and Dining at Ben Lawers Hotel.
Is Ardeonaig Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the centre of Ardeonaig.
Are there any historical sites close to Ardeonaig Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Taymouth Castle (9.8 miles) and Killin Railway Viaduct (6.2 miles).
Does Ardeonaig Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Ardeonaig Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire