We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vicarage Morwenstow

Morwenstow EX23 9SR England
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (2)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Location
Full view
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
32
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
32
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billiard room breakfast was excellent a real gem reading material homemade granola slice of heaven two night stay bush inn special place short walk walking the south west coast path stunning views hawker rev jill hostess history
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Had read great reviews for these tea rooms and we were not disappointed. The rooms of the Old Vicarage are very special. Very quaint and very comfortable. The tea and service was perfect. Hope to return one day.

Thank john h
Response from Jill W, Owner at The Old Vicarage MorwenstowResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,I think you meant to review Rectory Tearooms,who do wonderful teas and lunches,we are The Old Vicarage at Morwenstow we are a B@B.Regards Jill

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We came across this place in 2017 but couldn't stay. We returned in 2018 specifically because of our first impressions. And we were not wrong. This is a great bed and breakfast, in an amazing house, and a fabulous location. The hostess, Jill, was very...More

Thank Exile2011
Response from Jill W, Owner at The Old Vicarage MorwenstowResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review,I wish you could comeback tomorrow as well ,we really enjoyed having you as our guests.Warm regards Jill

Reviewed 19 September 2018

We stayed here while walking the South West Coast Path. It's an extraordinary property, like walking into a nineteenth-century time capsule, though with modern amenities (but no wi-fi connection). The breakfast was excellent, and a historic pub was only a short walk away for dinner.

Thank Vacationer579617
Response from Jill W, Owner at The Old Vicarage MorwenstowResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you so much for you lovely review,but we do have wi fi,but it only works in the billard room.Jill

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Our second visit . Fascinating bit of history re The famous Rev Hawker. Its a grade 2 listed star building (with quaint plumbing) . Lovely rooms and very comfortable. Breakfast was by any standards exceptional . We will be back.

Thank Merlin1946
Response from Jill W, Owner at The Old Vicarage MorwenstowResponded 2 October 2018

So very pleased you enjoyed your stay,Jill

Reviewed 16 August 2018

Delightful sandwiches, delightful setting, delightful staff, lovely local beer, amazing scones (secret recipe!) and child friendly too. I even got a bit extra clotted cream! We really enjoyed the cheerful and welcoming staff's attitude. I did think my crayfish sandwich was a bit pricey -...More

1  Thank Ladoozla
Response from Jill W, Owner at The Old Vicarage MorwenstowResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Ladoozla,I think you have not done the wrong review ,we are the Old Vicarage and not Rectory Tearooms we do B&B only, not lunches.We are Hawkers Vicarage and I think you ate at Rectory Tearooms.It's always good food there.Regards Jill Wellby

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Vicarage Morwenstow staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"One room has view of garden and en suite bathroom, the other rooom breathtaking seaviews, shower/..."
siket
4 Aug 2015
Read review
"Ask for the en-suite"
GrandpaTom
4 Sep 2014
Read review
"Book well in advance and ask for a room with an ensuite. All rooms are extremely quiet."
David356_12
3 Sep 2013
Read review
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMorwenstow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing